Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,457 Bewertungen
1,504 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

AJ

Sep 24, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

RS

Oct 09, 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

Filtern nach:

1276 - 1300 von 1,442 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von Ankur D

Feb 22, 2018

I would suggest before explaining if there is a basic overview of the pure mathematical concepts and then relating those with the functional programming would enhance the quality of the course. Overall it is very good.

von Bai S

Aug 08, 2016

The content is great! But the rearrangement of lectures is not synced with intros at the beginning of some videos. I know it takes a lot of time and effort to make or alter a video. After all it doesn't affect much.

von Vatsal S

Dec 14, 2016

A fantastic introduction to Scala Programming from the creator of Scala. The assignments are well designed and really test your grasp of the concepts. A good learning experience from an astounding professor.

von Thiemo M

Oct 12, 2017

Excellent introduction into functional programming and Scala. It is pretty tough at first if you have no functional programming or Java background. But at the end of the course things started to make sense

von Maciej M

May 12, 2020

I like the difficulty level of the course, however I feel like some of the assignments contain material that is much harder than what was covered in the lectures and require much more time than suggested.

von Adam M

Aug 05, 2020

Excellent content and instruction. could be improved by providing practice exercises with solutions. Also peer participation is too low to be useful, and there is no instructor feedback in the forum.

von Robert K

Jun 12, 2018

I really liked the course. Prof. Martin Odersky has a real talent of discussing some entangled problems at hand. I liked the programming assignments. I look forward to the rest of the specialization.

von Juan S G

Aug 10, 2018

The sound of several videos is very bad. But Martin Odersky explain very well the concepts, maybe one section less mathematical could be better. The good that i remmeber now , how made square roots

von Donald L

Aug 14, 2017

Great introduction to the principles of functional programming! Easy to follow lectures. Assignments challenging at times! Important: It feels like the assignment for week 4 should be after week 5.

von Roger L

Aug 09, 2017

Kick-started me in Scala. I found the examples too Academic. Would have been much more interesting if the examples & exercises had been "real-world" & "tangible". Found the delivery rather dry.

von Denys N

Mar 15, 2020

I would prefer to have more practical tests that would challenge my skills in every area of studied subject, not generalized one for chapter (and even that generalized - not for every chapter)

von Leandro

Aug 25, 2020

very good introduction to Scala. Maybe I would have liked to see a bit what are the pros and cons (strictly speaking of the technical) with other popular languages such as java and python

von Kevin C

Jul 06, 2017

Good course but some exercises are not the best (especially week 4). Smaller exercises that directly test course material and having more frequent, spaced practice would have been better.

von Brad H

Oct 01, 2017

A very good introduction into FP, but there is much still to learn and explore. Same for Scala. The exercises were challenging but doable. Looking forward to doing more with Scala.

von Alessandro F

Nov 11, 2019

If the speaker was a bit more fluent in English, the course would be perfect. The transcritions should be reviewed too, but that's too much to ask for a course so complete!

von Patrick A C

Feb 12, 2018

The course was good generally, but the lectures didn't always cover material needed for homeworks. In particular, there wasn't enough lecture material about efficiency.

von Daniel F G O

Jul 08, 2019

It's a nice introductory course to functional programming. More than Scala is a functional programming course. It allows students to learn how to use immutable objects

von Mohamed A D

May 06, 2018

This course was a good introduction to functional programming. However, I am not giving all the stars because I think some of the assignments are slightly a bit hard.

von Jussi J

Nov 29, 2016

A good introduction by the creator of Scala himself. However I feel that this course is a condensed version of a longer course, so that is why I give 4/5 and not 5/5.

von Juan A A

Jan 02, 2018

The contents are great. Some assignments have the problem that all tests pass in the local machine that they don't work on the Coursera sever when they are submitted

von kieran s

Nov 14, 2017

Great course, but some exercises are very challenging for any beginners who wouldn't be motivated to push through. Still better than almost anything else out there!

von Nahum P

May 20, 2017

Gives you insight into different thinking in recursive way.

The major problem, that it doesn't allow people not used to recursive thinking to get into problems fast.

von Juha K

Nov 08, 2016

Great introduction to functional programming, and you'll get to learn the basics of Scala at the same time. Some of the assignments have a bit cryptic descriptions.

von Luye H

Sep 28, 2020

well around intro to scala and FP principle. nice to learn from the original author of scala with good breath and depth. However the assignment is quite difficult.

von felipe b h

Sep 03, 2019

Very good all in all. Seting up environment is a little bit difficult ans it makes beginning rather cumbersome, but then the clases and the material are excellent