Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,190 Bewertungen
1,438 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

RS

Oct 09, 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

VP

Sep 14, 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 1,375 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von Russell W

Apr 13, 2019

Amazing. Very useful how it started off throwing you into the deep end with recursion, to help jar your mind, opening it to functional.... for those of us who coded imperative for many years

von Laurent S

Nov 19, 2016

Great work, great pedagogy. I really enjoyed learning Scala principles. The proposed exercices are really challenging, and very well constructed. Thanks a lot for this MOOC. Thank you Martin.

von Agraj M

Oct 20, 2016

The best part is the assignments, which make you think in a more pragmatic and functional manner, something that is not really straightforward for people coming from an object-oriented world.

von Emre T

Aug 10, 2016

Pace of progression of concepts was just right. You may need to spend more time with the course than what is suggested. I found myself spending more than 3hrs on the assignments consistently.

von Somnath B

Jul 26, 2016

A very detailed and thorough explanation accompanied with a very apt set of assignments - and the plus point is that it all comes from the creator of SCALA himself. What can one ask for more?

von Stephen E R

Jul 13, 2016

Excellent course! I would have liked to see a brief discussion/digression of anonymous classes and their usage. I also found the recommended reading to build nicely on the concepts presented.

von Darshit S

Jul 04, 2016

This is a great course for learning Functional Programming language. All the course content including Assignments are up to the mark. I thank the tutors for providing such great information.

von Randeep W

Aug 08, 2018

Imaginative and challenging course. You may feel your brain melt (or even break) as you try to adapt it to the functional programming mindset, but ultimately you will be the smarter for it.

von Kazunari T

Jan 27, 2017

It's awesome lecture!

I already use Scala but the lectures are useful for further comprehension of the language.

Although I needed to relearn high school's math like Mathematical induction.

von Raphael N B

Sep 02, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, the assignments are challenging and well designed. The course content is really relevant for those who want to learn the principles of functional programming.

von Basil M

Aug 06, 2016

Fantastic teaching and some very challenging exercises! It gives you a really great tool kit and some very useful source to refer to. Very good fun and a big thank you to the team at EPFL.

von Zhehui Z

Mar 19, 2020

A very informative and in-depth introduction to FP and Scala. The Scala part is okay if you already know some other programming languages, but the FP part is delightful and not that easy.

von Patrik M

Dec 23, 2018

Must have introduction to Scala. Odersky is great lecturer and I enjoyed the course greatly, but some lectures were hard to follow and the first and the last assignment were quite hard...

von Aleksander S

Jun 17, 2017

Very good, inspiring introduction to Scala. I recommend to everyone interested functional programming or Scala. I would say it was a bit hard, but eventually when I made it, I was happy!

von Тюриков С В

Mar 22, 2020

I have been developing applications on a scala more that year and have taken a course to structure and evaluate my knowledges. Highly recommend for beginners and experienced developers.

von OLEKSIY B

Aug 30, 2019

My mind has been made recursive; I hope - tail-recursive :)

Essential knowledge and amazing experience with assignments! Huffman Coding is COOL! ;)

The must-have course for FP developers.

von Justin T

Jul 29, 2016

Top notch teaching from the designer of Scala. Highly recommend this to any programmer new to functional languages as you would gain a new perspective for tackling programming problems.

von Juan A

Oct 24, 2016

I'd very much recommend this course to anyone interested on programming, as it teaches you, week by week, to think about your approach to a problem in a different and enlightening way.

von Sunit C

Jun 04, 2017

A Great Course... I had already worked in Scala for 6+ months when I took this course, and it really helped me clear my fundamentals in many things. Martin Odersky is a great teacher.

von William W

Dec 07, 2017

The elegancy of functional programming has been fully demostrated in this fabulous course. It used to be pages of Java code but now it's merely lines. It's not easy, but it deserves,

von Irina G

Jun 03, 2017

Great course, good introduction to functional programming. The concepts are introduced gradually, and that makes them easier to understand. Fun exercises! Thank you for the course!

von Mohamad

Oct 30, 2016

This course was really helpful to understand the paradigms of functional programming. The exercises were not all easy to solve and this helps a lot in applying the course concepts.

von Etienne G

Oct 20, 2016

A clear and interesting course. Assignments are well designed and very engaging, allowing to focus on the answer rather than loosing time on understanding what exactly is expected.

von Jude O

Jan 09, 2019

Absolutely amazing course, I've never enjoyed learning a new programming language as much as through this course. The programming assignments are challenging and interesting too.

von Swagata P

Aug 03, 2017

Simply unbelievable. I completed twitter scala school before so could skip the language parts. But the rest was truly amazing. Want to revisit the contents again as much as I can.