Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,408 Bewertungen
1,489 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

VP

Sep 14, 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

AJ

Sep 24, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 1,427 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von Levi K

Jul 13, 2016

The course is very good and labs are sometimes difficult but useful. However some material was not covered, and it is always like that, but still it can include iterators and some other chapters

von Ricardo A M R

Apr 12, 2020

Amazin course. Many mathematics concepts have to be in mind to be easy to understand. I think the week 5 would be really useful to solve section 4. I enjoyed the couse and the challenges in it.

von RajeshPednekar

Apr 21, 2017

Great course on Functional programming with Scala! The course and concepts may be a bit challenging depending on the prior programming experience but good course to understand the core concepts

von Michael M

Jul 21, 2020

What an amazing course. The intensity required for the contents and exercises increases every week. I must say, I am more comfortable using and talking about Scala than I was a few weeks back.

von Didrik F

Sep 27, 2018

Excellent place to start learning Scala, presuming you have some familiarity with programming. The material is probably a bit too challenging for people who have never worked with code before.

von Guanghua S

Feb 27, 2018

Great course on introducing functional programming. I am new to FP, but I feel I can think in a "functional" after about half of the course. It is a very instructive introduction course on FP.

von Jeff R

Jul 03, 2017

Very good course with some challenging exercises. It served more as a refresher and practice tool for me as I was already deep into Scala before taking this. Nevertheless, very happy I did it.

von nobody

Jan 09, 2017

A really great introduction to Scala, grounded in a solid and time-tested functional curriculum. As someone with a fair amount of experience, this helped me come up to speed in Scala quickly.

von Russell W

Apr 13, 2019

Amazing. Very useful how it started off throwing you into the deep end with recursion, to help jar your mind, opening it to functional.... for those of us who coded imperative for many years

von Laurent S

Nov 19, 2016

Great work, great pedagogy. I really enjoyed learning Scala principles. The proposed exercices are really challenging, and very well constructed. Thanks a lot for this MOOC. Thank you Martin.

von Agraj M

Oct 20, 2016

The best part is the assignments, which make you think in a more pragmatic and functional manner, something that is not really straightforward for people coming from an object-oriented world.

von Emre T

Aug 10, 2016

Pace of progression of concepts was just right. You may need to spend more time with the course than what is suggested. I found myself spending more than 3hrs on the assignments consistently.

von Somnath B

Jul 26, 2016

A very detailed and thorough explanation accompanied with a very apt set of assignments - and the plus point is that it all comes from the creator of SCALA himself. What can one ask for more?

von Stephen E R

Jul 13, 2016

Excellent course! I would have liked to see a brief discussion/digression of anonymous classes and their usage. I also found the recommended reading to build nicely on the concepts presented.

von Darshit S

Jul 04, 2016

This is a great course for learning Functional Programming language. All the course content including Assignments are up to the mark. I thank the tutors for providing such great information.

von Randeep W

Aug 08, 2018

Imaginative and challenging course. You may feel your brain melt (or even break) as you try to adapt it to the functional programming mindset, but ultimately you will be the smarter for it.

von Kazunari T

Jan 27, 2017

It's awesome lecture!

I already use Scala but the lectures are useful for further comprehension of the language.

Although I needed to relearn high school's math like Mathematical induction.

von Raphael N B

Sep 02, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, the assignments are challenging and well designed. The course content is really relevant for those who want to learn the principles of functional programming.

von Basil M

Aug 06, 2016

Fantastic teaching and some very challenging exercises! It gives you a really great tool kit and some very useful source to refer to. Very good fun and a big thank you to the team at EPFL.

von Zhehui Z

Mar 19, 2020

A very informative and in-depth introduction to FP and Scala. The Scala part is okay if you already know some other programming languages, but the FP part is delightful and not that easy.

von Patrik M

Dec 23, 2018

Must have introduction to Scala. Odersky is great lecturer and I enjoyed the course greatly, but some lectures were hard to follow and the first and the last assignment were quite hard...

von Aleksander S

Jun 17, 2017

Very good, inspiring introduction to Scala. I recommend to everyone interested functional programming or Scala. I would say it was a bit hard, but eventually when I made it, I was happy!

von Тюриков С В

Mar 22, 2020

I have been developing applications on a scala more that year and have taken a course to structure and evaluate my knowledges. Highly recommend for beginners and experienced developers.

von OLEKSIY B

Aug 30, 2019

My mind has been made recursive; I hope - tail-recursive :)

Essential knowledge and amazing experience with assignments! Huffman Coding is COOL! ;)

The must-have course for FP developers.

von Justin T

Jul 29, 2016

Top notch teaching from the designer of Scala. Highly recommend this to any programmer new to functional languages as you would gain a new perspective for tackling programming problems.