Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,172 Bewertungen
1,434 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

AJ

Sep 24, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

VP

Sep 14, 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 1,374 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von Mark B

Aug 01, 2016

I thought this was an excellent course. I found it challenging and had to re-read lecture notes and work through examples in order to be able to complete the assignments, but I felt that I learned a lot about both Scala and functional programming. My only criticism is that the setup section is unclear. I ended up using Eclipse and did not use IntellJ at all, yet the setup is unclear on this. Also there is a point when using Eclipse and importing a project where you have to type $ sbt Eclipse and if you get this wrong then you are stuck! So if you get stuck - go to the Discussion pages.

von Kedar M

Oct 28, 2017

Martin is a great teacher. There are several positives of this course. Apart from learning the basics of the Scala syntax and semantics from its creator, you learn the functional constructs and functional thinking in a very constructive environment. Martin paces the lectures well and does not dumb down the material. Rather than learning Scala from other sources, one's pursuit should begin with this course and then of course one can do more programming exercises to reinforce. The assignments in this course are very well thought out (although I'd have preferred less of a structure).

von y.vityuk

Mar 19, 2017

Very detailed and deep theoretically diving in basics of functional programming. Very pleased to have ability to listen to material which is well structured, though many thing still not clear(from NodeJs developer perspective).

PS: Anagram tasks(Week 6 assignment) does have some variations regarding output results and required running testing with tracing outputs to get required algorithm output. Possibly it would be nice to write down that anagram should match as long words as it can(in order to omit variations with partial matches, which can be considered as a sentence)

von Rishi K

Aug 08, 2016

Functional Programming Principles in Scala is one of the best courses for those who want to start with Scala and learn about it's functional aspects and where to apply them. It introduces the language of Scala and is a great course for those who want to explore into the functional programming aspect of Computer Science. The concepts are explained lucidly and the assignments are relatively difficult and help the individuals to apply the learnt concepts in an incremental manner. I was really excited on taking this course, and it has lived up to all my expectations from it.

von Daniel K

Aug 21, 2016

Very interesting and quite challenging at times. It's not a beginner course, you need a solid understanding of recursion (which is all over the place), knowledge of some basic data structures might help too (e.g. binary trees), knowning some Java would help too for obvious reasons (data types, generics etc.).

Some of the concepts are really mind-bending, mostly because a lot of us are not used to this type of programming.

I highly recommend the course and also the companion book (by prof. Odersky) for deeper look into the Scala guts.

von Syed W R J

Aug 13, 2017

This course takes you through not only concepts particular to scala, but staying true to its title, through general principles of functional programming.

The course is also sprinkled with useful and interesting information and presents ideas (BNF, algorithms for LCF, square root, queens problem etc) that generally expand your understanding and knowledge. The problem sets are challenging. They make you actively apply your mind and provide a sound learning opportunity.

Very well structured and presented course. Highly recommended.

von Robert F

Feb 01, 2018

The course is challenging. There are tricks that I needed to figure out to get past the assignments. But, the tricks forced me to think about functional programming. I started by trying to use accumulators whenever possible, since it feels like looping. The last assignment was a mind bender for me, but once the aha moment hit with respect for for comprehensions, it was only a few lines of code to knock off the solution. I have an idea for a different, perhaps more efficient solution. So maybe, I am not quite done yet :-)

von raphael a s a

Jul 12, 2016

I think this course can lead any programmer into a larger and beautiful way for functional programming paradigm. I think this course was quite difficult for me due to lack of experience with FP. Also, I have no professional experience with FP and besides my Java 8 certification, it does not fulfill all the requirements for doing this course in a smoother way. I think it should be done in 7 weeks (not 6) because of the time required to watch all videos and get some time to absorb it all and do some practice.

von Rachapong C

May 04, 2020

As other reviews have pointed out, this course is insanely difficult. It's very challenging, which makes completion all the more satisfying. Finally completed it after 3 weeks! What kept me going though the course was the promise of the capstone project, which is about using parallel computing to plot global temperature data. Imagine what you would be able to do with the power of parallel computing that is only made possible by the (as others have pointed out) mind-bending functional programming!

von Vishnu P

Apr 27, 2018

This course is really awesome. I tried many tutorials, documents videos etc. But in the end I was not happy. I felt an incompleteness. But this course was really great. It helped me to understand the functional programming and how to use it.To move from a OOP paradigm to Functional it was really difficult for me initially. But by this course now I am able to do it and think about a solution in functional programming way. So I am really thankful to the team who made this course. Thanks a lot.

von Matthew S L

Jan 16, 2017

Fantastic course! Functional programming really warps your brain in the beginning, and that's a great thing for any software engineer. Martin Odersky is a fine teacher who has prepared very concise and expressive lectures and examples... Proof of this is seen in how few questions people seem to ask on the Discussion Forums. I'm strongly considering enrolling in the rest of the "Functional Programming in Scala Specialization" because of how awesome this course was. Highly recommended 10/10!

von Gabriel S

Apr 25, 2017

I would not recommend this course for a beginning programmer, as the concepts Oderski covers are fairly complex and the homework is not simple. However, if you are wanting to learn more about functional programming, love to understand the guts of how programming languages work and process data, and want to diver deeper into recursion, then I would definitely recommend this course. I found it very informative and helpful. I will probably take the course again. And Scala is awesome.

von David D

Feb 09, 2018

This is a great course to learn both Scala and functional programming. I have a few recommendations:

Have a student review the setup instructions twice a year to keep up with changing bugs and software. Add more time to cover some of the details, for instance, how to cast a Nil when using fold. Plan on this taking more that 4-6 hours a week. This is especially true if you are not familiar with functional programming, the JVM environment or mapping/folding functions.

von Jaime R S

Apr 19, 2020

I loved this course. It reintroduced me to the core concepts behind functional programming, which i first learned in university, with a great mix of lectures and fun exercises. FP is a good tool to learn to think abstractly about problem solving. The teaching is really high quality, like you'd typically only find in a top world university. Would recommend to anyone curious about beautiful computer science concepts and wanting to make better use of their free time.

von Renee B

Jul 31, 2016

For someone without experience in Java, but with other programming experience (C/Python), I found this course to be interesting and challenging. There's a lot of recursion in the assignments, which made my head spin. .. but I thought the course coverage was quite good. I supplemented with the instructor's book.

the main recommendation I'd have is more information about using the IDEs. A lot of my frustrations ended up being about particulars of those.

von Luiz C F R

Mar 25, 2020

Amazing course. New concepts are built on previously presented content, making everything easier to understand. Besides teaching the programming language, the instructor also presents some of the language inner workings in optional lessons, allowing one to go as deep as they want. Assignments are well designed, but challenging, specially for newcomers to the functional paradigm, however they show how FP can be used in practice, making them rewarding.

von Mike D

Jun 27, 2016

The course is logical and thorough, flawlessly delivered (well, except maybe the audio quality at times), and challenging just enough to make a seasoned imperative programmer scream in frustration, but not quit. 😀 The only thing standing between this course and perfection are the pop quiz bugs. But even they contribute to the message of the course in a way: if Coursera's platform were written in Scala, there probably would be fewer of them. 🕷

von Tim B

Oct 16, 2016

Very good course! I noticed some of the instructions are out of date (e.g. there are examples of where to go on the website, but the website format has changed). I wish I understood more of what sbt and the IDE were doing behind the scenes. It seems like there is a lot of structure built into making the assignments function properly and I would like to better understand how to make my own project with similar level of complexity / capabilities.

von Krzysztof P

Jan 17, 2017

Great introduction to different way of thinking through examples in quite powerful language (for programmers who used to imperative way of thinking) . This course is useful not only for people who program is Scala, but also for Java (8+) developers to get familiar with streams, lambdas, higher-order functions, and maybe some concepts, as I observed, not-so-often used by many programmers: like variance in parametric polymorphism with generics.

von Robert J F

Jun 02, 2017

I love learning about Scala and the rudiments of functional programming from the author of the Scala language. It's been a real pleasure to approach learning this from the ground up, and to get all kinds of little tips and subtleties along the way. Martin Odersky does an excellent job of building piece by piece and with many language-agnostic theories, and presenting classic challenges which have haunted coders for generations. Thank you!

von 解偲玮

Aug 07, 2016

This course is a little bit difficult to get started with if you do not have any code experience. However, it is a really great course because the content is sufficient but not too much and the course is clear enough. The last two assignments are tough for me and they took me a long time to figure out, also I read a number of materials about Scala functions on Internet. This is the first course that I finished and I really like this course.

von Roman A

Oct 29, 2019

Easily one of the best courses I've ever encountered. It is difficult for someone who is not familiar with FP but in a good way. You learn a great deal as you work on exercises, which are, by the way, very thoroughly prepared.

I must say, however, that setting up a different IDE than the suggested Eclipse was a pain and course does not cover the environment or its troubleshooting. Discussion forums thrive with such discussions, though.

von Hessam S M

Aug 25, 2017

Excellent course taught by the creator of Scala. This is by far the best way to dive into the world of functional programming and along the way learn a cool JVM based programming language. The main focus of this course and as a whole specialization is learning to think functional not learning Scala so I'd recommend reading Programming in Scala by Martin Odersky as the companion book to learn more about Scala language itself.

von Alex L

Apr 14, 2019

A great start. Challenging while informative. The last assignment in the last week really made me think about my approach from a functional programming perspective rather than a procedural approach. It also really made me focus on how to ensure that the types of responses going into a list are of the most compatible narrowest type needed for the task i'm performing. I'm excited to sink my teeth into the next class.