Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,193 Bewertungen
1,438 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

AJ

Sep 24, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

RS

Oct 09, 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 1,378 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von James R H

Feb 11, 2017

Very interesting introduction to functional programming and Scala. The assignments are a bit tough/abstract at first with the home-made data structures, but things get more grounded by the end. Odersky's lectures vary between nuts-and-bolts and headier stuff, but they're all delivered in a clear, organized, and subtly enthusiastic fashion.

von Tien N

Jan 06, 2020

This is a very good course with good materials, clear explanation and challenging exercises. This course best fits learners who are already experienced with an imperative programming language (like Java/C++) and have good knowledges in basic/intermediate algorithm concepts (such as back tracking, combinations, complexity analysis, etc).

von Johannes S

Mar 18, 2017

Nice introduction to functional programming and learning how to think about problems in a different way. Learnings are not tied to just Scala - I also think I did not learn that much of the Scala syntax during the course. I enjoyed the exercises and the course material was good which encourages me to continue on to the next course.

von Anurag S

Jul 12, 2016

I had a decent understanding of Scala going into this course but after solving the programming problems and watching the lectures, I think I've improved my understanding of the core principles behind the language and functional paradigm. I'm looking forward to taking my skills to the next level with the next course in this series.

von Razvan V

Jul 26, 2017

The course, except minor things that can be solved in the forums or online, is very well done. It feels like a real university course, you will succeed only if you put your mind at work. Not only the language principles are explained but the reasons behind are sometimes given. What do you expect from the creator of Scala itself?

von Aditya L

Jul 26, 2017

An amazing course. It brought out the elegance of functional programming beautifully (=> step by step at reasonable pace).

And the assignments were extremely well designed that suited the purpose.

I feel more problems on recursion should be made available (not necessarily for assignment) but for brushing up recursive algorithm.

von Philipp W

Jun 02, 2019

Even though i took a version of this course back in 2013 outside the (later introduced) Scala specialization the course material did not loose its relevance and i very much enjoyed solving the assignments with an evolved functional mindset. Another big plus: Martin Odersky's lecturing style is very clean and comprehensive :)

von Johan R

Aug 28, 2017

Learned concepts of programming that I never knew of before. Really gives you insight into how elegant solutions are supposed to be created.

Would recommend to anyone wanting to expand their perspective on programming as a whole, if they haven't already explored functional and object-oriented programming working hand in hand.

von Fabrice C

Apr 15, 2017

Concise and clear - the concepts were well presented and the assignments really helped drive the point home without being too big in scope (no assignment took me more than 4-5 hours total but I still learned a lot doing them). I feel like this was a solid time investment and look forward to the other courses in the series!

von Vlad N

Feb 11, 2017

Course is very intense. Good knowledge of Scala/Java indeed needed for solving the assignments. But the topics were cool: functional programming combined with oop principles and a hybrid of those turned to pattern matching. Every class can be compressed, every object is a function. Absolutely top drawer of programming!

von Martin O

Nov 27, 2016

This course provides an excellent introduction to Functional Programming and is expressed elegantly via the Scala programming language. The concepts introduced will make you a better programmer in other languages. For example, JavaScript provides many of the same constructs which allow for a functional programming style.

von Glendon K

May 09, 2018

Well taught in nice increments. After going through Functional Programming in Scala twice with some difficulty I tried this and it's clarified a few basic things that are taken for granted in there. Scala isn't the easiest language to read (and I've used some pretty cryptic DSLs) but this makes it easy. Amazing course.

von Marco M

Nov 28, 2016

I really like this course, a bit hard as I'm working and I have a child, hence I reduced my self doing it late in the evening and my math skills where a bit rusty. But surely interesting and opening the mind on functional programming and its different approach. after many years or pure Java a fresh breath. Thanks

von Arvind B

Jul 09, 2017

Enjoyed taking the courses and solving the assignments. The last one was a bit tough but other than that it was a good intro to scala. Might be challenging to people who've never read any other book on Scala. (I already had read martin's programming in Scala book) and this felt like good supplementary material.

von Korbinian K

Oct 14, 2016

Very well organized course! The material is systematically explained in Lecture videos and the exercises efficiently support the learning. The exercise checking with sbt works perfect and gives useful debugging hints. I recommend to set up Eclipse with Scala plugin since this IDE also gets used during Lecture.

von Peter N

Dec 12, 2016

Good brain trainer. A bit overloaded by math-theory examples, but obviously it's what could be expected for general introduction to any programming learning. This course well introduces basics for Functional Programming and will be good not only for Scala developers. Thank you to Martin and other creators.

von Marc K

Dec 11, 2016

Really good course! Well explained, focused on the important concepts and the lessons well chained together. Now, the assignments can take much longer than expected. There is a bit of a gap between the theory of each lesson and the amount of thought that one has to put to pass their respective assignments.

von ROUINEB H

May 20, 2018

I really loved this course, I mean everything, nevertheless, sometimes I felt frustrated the way FP is different than Imperative programming, being used to it, at first it was some how hard, specially with immutable context, but at end, once you grasp the idea, everything falls in place as it should be.

von Timothée P

Jan 21, 2018

A very interesting course. Both functional programming and Scala were new to me. I had a hard time for several programming assignments, as the functional way is difficult when we are used to the imperative way. But this difficulty makes it only more gratifying when everything works. Thank you very much.

von Jiaxing L

Nov 27, 2017

Wonderful course in Scala. The programming assignments are fun and challenging. The course is probably too hard if you haven't programmed in static typing language such as Java, and contains a lot of stuff that seems only useful when you are more experienced, but the overall quality is still excellent.

von William H

Jul 06, 2017

Martin Odersky is an educator of note. But like all Olympians who make their sport look so easy and effortless, this expertise cannot happen without lots of practice. The grading exercises are crafted to give you that practice. An excellent course. Well done to the team that put this together.

von Jacobus H

May 06, 2020

Excellent course to start your journey on mastering functional programming. My review is, however, biased because I have been programming (with imperative languages) for many years. Irrespective of that I have learned new ways of reasoning and thinking that also aid my imperative programming skills.

von Maksym S

Aug 09, 2016

This class is a great introduction to functional programming combined with object oriented programming and the combination of both gives you quite a lot of power. This part is not always taught in functional programming classes. As a great side effect you will get you quite acquainted with Scala.

von Yuan M

May 29, 2017

The course assignment is just brilliant. It guided me and influenced me to follow TDD pattern. The feedback I got after submitting each assignment focused both on the workability as well as syntax, I picked up a lot of best practices to write scala codes in the process. Really a great course!

von Brad F

Jul 15, 2017

This course was very well structured and taught the core principles of functional programming very well. I was able to take away many concepts and use them in the real world. I would highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to push themselves to code in a purely functional manner.