Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,468 Bewertungen
1,506 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

AJ

Sep 24, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

RS

Oct 09, 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 1,443 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von malhar j

Apr 28, 2019

Fantastic course for beginners to Functional programming. Slightly on the harder side if one is to understand all the details but still doable. Martin has done a fabulous job with the explanation. Very good and concise presentation (I'm quite surprised!) and decent assignments.

I would strongly recommend this course (although Im still not a fan of FP)

von Dmytro S

Feb 10, 2019

I think this is very good course: it does introduce into a lot of details and aspects of programming in scala and the same time it give some task, that are very unique but can be applied to real life project. Explaining source code of "List" construct is also very valuable and shows the power of the language. I am very glad that I took this course.

von Sharif D

Oct 28, 2018

Excellent course for learning to write Scala code that strictly follows the functional programming paradigm and only uses immutable objects and data structures.

If you just want to learn Scala quickly and don't care about functional programming, or need performance more than immutability, then this course might not be the best choice for you.

von James R H

Feb 11, 2017

Very interesting introduction to functional programming and Scala. The assignments are a bit tough/abstract at first with the home-made data structures, but things get more grounded by the end. Odersky's lectures vary between nuts-and-bolts and headier stuff, but they're all delivered in a clear, organized, and subtly enthusiastic fashion.

von Doug C

Jul 30, 2020

Wonderful course. It is a really challenging university level course if you don't cheat and try the homeworks yourself. I would say most programming assignments take 3hr minimum and some can take a few days if you are not awesome at functional principles (assuming you are not if you are taking this course). Loved it, highly recommend.

von Tien N

Jan 06, 2020

This is a very good course with good materials, clear explanation and challenging exercises. This course best fits learners who are already experienced with an imperative programming language (like Java/C++) and have good knowledges in basic/intermediate algorithm concepts (such as back tracking, combinations, complexity analysis, etc).

von Johannes S

Mar 18, 2017

Nice introduction to functional programming and learning how to think about problems in a different way. Learnings are not tied to just Scala - I also think I did not learn that much of the Scala syntax during the course. I enjoyed the exercises and the course material was good which encourages me to continue on to the next course.

von Anurag S

Jul 12, 2016

I had a decent understanding of Scala going into this course but after solving the programming problems and watching the lectures, I think I've improved my understanding of the core principles behind the language and functional paradigm. I'm looking forward to taking my skills to the next level with the next course in this series.

von Razvan V

Jul 26, 2017

The course, except minor things that can be solved in the forums or online, is very well done. It feels like a real university course, you will succeed only if you put your mind at work. Not only the language principles are explained but the reasons behind are sometimes given. What do you expect from the creator of Scala itself?

von Aditya L

Jul 26, 2017

An amazing course. It brought out the elegance of functional programming beautifully (=> step by step at reasonable pace).

And the assignments were extremely well designed that suited the purpose.

I feel more problems on recursion should be made available (not necessarily for assignment) but for brushing up recursive algorithm.

von Philipp W

Jun 02, 2019

Even though i took a version of this course back in 2013 outside the (later introduced) Scala specialization the course material did not loose its relevance and i very much enjoyed solving the assignments with an evolved functional mindset. Another big plus: Martin Odersky's lecturing style is very clean and comprehensive :)

von Johan R

Aug 28, 2017

Learned concepts of programming that I never knew of before. Really gives you insight into how elegant solutions are supposed to be created.

Would recommend to anyone wanting to expand their perspective on programming as a whole, if they haven't already explored functional and object-oriented programming working hand in hand.

von Fabrice C

Apr 15, 2017

Concise and clear - the concepts were well presented and the assignments really helped drive the point home without being too big in scope (no assignment took me more than 4-5 hours total but I still learned a lot doing them). I feel like this was a solid time investment and look forward to the other courses in the series!

von Vlad N

Feb 11, 2017

Course is very intense. Good knowledge of Scala/Java indeed needed for solving the assignments. But the topics were cool: functional programming combined with oop principles and a hybrid of those turned to pattern matching. Every class can be compressed, every object is a function. Absolutely top drawer of programming!

von Martin O

Nov 27, 2016

This course provides an excellent introduction to Functional Programming and is expressed elegantly via the Scala programming language. The concepts introduced will make you a better programmer in other languages. For example, JavaScript provides many of the same constructs which allow for a functional programming style.

von Glendon K

May 09, 2018

Well taught in nice increments. After going through Functional Programming in Scala twice with some difficulty I tried this and it's clarified a few basic things that are taken for granted in there. Scala isn't the easiest language to read (and I've used some pretty cryptic DSLs) but this makes it easy. Amazing course.

von Vikram B

Sep 28, 2020

Wow!

The course is really challenging and force you to think in a functional way. It's hard for people who come from imperative programming background, but the effort is worth it. Thanks for the wonderful assignments, I couldn't get it right for the first few times but having gone through the lectures again helped me.

von Matthew V

Sep 28, 2020

This course did a great job of pragmatically demonstrating principles in functional programming. The assignments demonstrated the ways Scala is intelligently designed with these concepts in mind, and the lectures were aptly suited. I particularly liked how well the course incrementally introduced the syntax of Scala.

von Marco M

Nov 28, 2016

I really like this course, a bit hard as I'm working and I have a child, hence I reduced my self doing it late in the evening and my math skills where a bit rusty. But surely interesting and opening the mind on functional programming and its different approach. after many years or pure Java a fresh breath. Thanks

von Arvind B

Jul 09, 2017

Enjoyed taking the courses and solving the assignments. The last one was a bit tough but other than that it was a good intro to scala. Might be challenging to people who've never read any other book on Scala. (I already had read martin's programming in Scala book) and this felt like good supplementary material.

von Korbinian K

Oct 14, 2016

Very well organized course! The material is systematically explained in Lecture videos and the exercises efficiently support the learning. The exercise checking with sbt works perfect and gives useful debugging hints. I recommend to set up Eclipse with Scala plugin since this IDE also gets used during Lecture.

von Sinisa C

Oct 21, 2020

Great course! From the creator of Scala. That is privilege not always possible. The difference with videos from trainers who learn Scala just to record their course is incomparable. I will definitely continue the specialization path after some time of reviewing and practising the knowledge gained in this one

von Peter N

Dec 12, 2016

Good brain trainer. A bit overloaded by math-theory examples, but obviously it's what could be expected for general introduction to any programming learning. This course well introduces basics for Functional Programming and will be good not only for Scala developers. Thank you to Martin and other creators.

von Marc K

Dec 11, 2016

Really good course! Well explained, focused on the important concepts and the lessons well chained together. Now, the assignments can take much longer than expected. There is a bit of a gap between the theory of each lesson and the amount of thought that one has to put to pass their respective assignments.

von ROUINEB H

May 20, 2018

I really loved this course, I mean everything, nevertheless, sometimes I felt frustrated the way FP is different than Imperative programming, being used to it, at first it was some how hard, specially with immutable context, but at end, once you grasp the idea, everything falls in place as it should be.