Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,408 Bewertungen
1,489 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

VP

Sep 14, 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

AJ

Sep 24, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 1,427 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von Jacobus H

May 06, 2020

Excellent course to start your journey on mastering functional programming. My review is, however, biased because I have been programming (with imperative languages) for many years. Irrespective of that I have learned new ways of reasoning and thinking that also aid my imperative programming skills.

von Maksym S

Aug 09, 2016

This class is a great introduction to functional programming combined with object oriented programming and the combination of both gives you quite a lot of power. This part is not always taught in functional programming classes. As a great side effect you will get you quite acquainted with Scala.

von Yuan M

May 29, 2017

The course assignment is just brilliant. It guided me and influenced me to follow TDD pattern. The feedback I got after submitting each assignment focused both on the workability as well as syntax, I picked up a lot of best practices to write scala codes in the process. Really a great course!

von Fernando T

Aug 16, 2020

Excelente curso. O curso faz um longo desenvolvimento dos aspectos da linguagem e passa a intuição da construção das operações.

Não simplesmente um curso de prática, é um curso de entendimento mais profundo em que em alguns casos você tem pensar com lápis e papel antes de programar a tarefa.

von Brad F

Jul 15, 2017

This course was very well structured and taught the core principles of functional programming very well. I was able to take away many concepts and use them in the real world. I would highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to push themselves to code in a purely functional manner.

von futtetennista

Feb 13, 2017

I greatly enjoyed this course. I was already familiar with some FP principles but it was interesting to see scala's take on them. The weekly assignments were challenging and a lot of fun. I think I learned a great deal from this course and I'm looking forward to the specialisation courses.

von Pirooz C

Oct 10, 2016

The course provides a nice overview and introduction to functional programming and Scala. The weight of the material covered in this course is well defined for general programmers who want to learn functional programming and Scala. It will be a bit difficult with no programming background.

von Massimiliano D

Oct 31, 2018

High quality course. It accomplished to describe the basics as well as the most advanced features of the Scala languages, and how these features neatly and naturally mix together to allow the developer to write functional and elegant solutions to complicated tasks.

I highly recommend it.

von Mohan S

Mar 31, 2020

I had been knowing about functional programming since my college days. However, I had to unlearn them all and get the real feel of it in Martin's point of view. It is an excellent course !!

It is a great opportunity to learn the concepts from the professor Martin ! Thanks a lot :-)

von Jose A J C

Jan 05, 2020

This course is really good. The instructor explains very well all the concepts. This course has helped me not only to learn Scala but also to think in a different way of creating programs with the functional paradigm. I find some exercises difficult but they are useful for learning.

von Antonel P

May 08, 2017

I really liked this course, the way Mr. Martin Odersky structured and presented it. Some of the assignments were a bit difficult but in the end I am happy with the acquired level of scala and functional programming. Surely I will continue with the rest of the courses in this series.

von Miklós H

Mar 27, 2018

It was a bit difficult to switch from mutable data structures to immutable ones, and altogether I'm quite concerned with the performance tradeoff (which seems to be significant), but I like the brilliantly designed language syntax (even if it is extremely difficult to get used to).

von Jose M P R

Nov 14, 2019

This course is excellent. Martin Odersky is not only an expert in the matter (dah!, I know; he created the language!) but he is an outstanding teacher (that I didn't know until I started the course). He explains things so well, thoroughly but with simplicity. Extremely good stuff!

von Manoj S

Sep 21, 2016

Very good and interesting course certainly provides a good level of foundation for functional programming. The exercises are challenging and it did take me longer then 3 hour to complete the course work. Further I had to revisit the videos and get the additional reading materials.

von Michael N

Sep 08, 2016

Great Instructor and challenging problems. The exercises help to reinforce the ideas presented in the lessons and the weekly assignments force you to use the skills. I will say that the programming assignments seemed a bit harder than they needed to be to help reinforce the ideas.

von Michał O

Sep 11, 2016

Really well prepared material. If you think about starting development in Scala, I suggest to take a look at this one. Just make sure you have some basic knowledge related to Computer Science. Without any background in Computer Science it might be hard to follow all the lectures.

von Sandip G

Mar 26, 2019

Course is very helpful to get understand the Scala in functional programming way. I have seen the videos twice as well as read a lot about functional programming paradigm. Concepts are explained in detailed. Exercises are very well designed, are conceptual and challenging.

von Andrés G

May 06, 2018

It is very well organised and it goes pretty deep on such things that worth to understand well (how the collections work under the hood, for instance) and it also mentions covariance, which, for me, is very important and is also really helpful how it works compared to java.

von Saurav R

May 31, 2017

Assignments helped me understand the course topics well.

The description of problems in assignments are good.

Providing complete logs of the submitted assignments is helpful. Also, test cases suite for each assignment played an important role in solving/understanding problems

von Krishna A

Jun 12, 2017

A great introduction to functional programming fundamentals. The exercises are just at the right level to emphasize the course material and aid in assimilating the content. This course focuses on FP, and not on Scala, though it uses Scala for teaching the concepts of FP.

von Isaac S

Feb 13, 2017

This course is a great introduction to functional programming for beginners since it provides entertaining exercises where you can experiment many different approaches to the same problem. The explanations are easy to follow since they are shown using intuitive examples.

von Fredrik M

Mar 18, 2018

The lectures are good and it is easy to follow along. We learn exactly what is in title of the course: functional programming principles. I won't say I got very good at Scala with this course, but I certainly got more mindful about what functional programming is about.

von Eric P

Feb 27, 2017

This is a great course. I was new to Scala but had previous programming experience with functional programming but I could learn a lot. The lectures are very interesting, the examples are great and the assignments' level of difficulty are at an appropriate level.

von MAGDELENAT P

Jun 23, 2016

Excellent! Would just like to get Martin's solutions (not for the solution but for the explanations that lead to the solution) cause even though I passed it I am not sure that all my decisions were that good :-). Anyway a must have if you're into FP and/or Scala!

von Erick H

May 27, 2017

I really loved this course. It was very challenging but every assignment was rewarding. Assignments were set up well and easy to submit (right from the command line). Learning how to code the functional way has really changed my perspective on coding in general.