Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,193 Bewertungen
1,438 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

AJ

Sep 24, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

RS

Oct 09, 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 1,376 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von Niko G

Aug 20, 2016

It was a pleasure attending Scala lectures. Recently I have started implementing spark jobs at my workplace so the knowledge gained in this course has been very valuable and applied right away to solve real-world problems. Big thanks to Mr. Odersky.

von Saurabh P G

Feb 28, 2017

I would like to thank Prof. Martin Odersky and his support staff for putting up such a great course. All the sessions through out the course are very well planned and to the point. It is really great course for beginners to Scala world. High Five!

von Tang

Jan 06, 2019

suggests for those who have at least one or two years of programming experience, some homework are much harder than your typical coding interviews. But it's really rewarding, because it's hard, and when you finally get it right, it's all worth it.

von Juan C V A

Mar 12, 2017

I really enjoy this course, Martin was very precise on how explain and teach each topic. Topics were easy to follow and understand. Practices and assignments help me to handle and understand functional programming. I like to recommend this course.

von Allison L

Sep 12, 2018

Super accessible; a good primer for those who aren't super comfortable with functional programming. I think that it is well-organized and helped me refresh on several things (I previously took an introductory OCaml class and needed the practice).

von Jonathan P

Jun 26, 2017

Great course and the challenging exercises are ones you will find in University level programming courses. When I learned C++ I was presented similar data structures and algorithms that Professor Odersky used in his tutorial videos and exercises.

von Jean-Francois T

Jun 14, 2016

Though learning deeply a language is always a challenge, this lecture focuses on constructs that makes Scala functions and exhibits good exercises to use recursions and functions.

This is, I think a good start to become a good scala developer

von Prastitis A

Jun 29, 2017

Not only the language that Martin Odersky created is amazing! He is amazing too! This course gives you a good intuition on how the language is, it teaches well the functional programming principles and the lectures are very student friendly

von zili m

Aug 02, 2017

This course offers a carefully designed material and lectures to understand important basic elements in scala. It is a very good way for any newcomer of CS to learn it as an introduction course of algorithm, programming and data structure.

von Pablo M

Sep 13, 2018

I have lot of experience on object oriented programming and software architecture in general. It was really hard initially to think the solutions in a different way, but it was worth it the effort and investment of time. Thank you Martin!

von Andrey K

Jan 13, 2017

Befor this course I've finished "Programming in Scala" (3 ed.) so there were no groundbreaking ideas for me. And still it was useful to check my knowledges by taking assignments. I'd recommend this course for anyone who is learning Scala

von Erick F

Apr 19, 2018

Great introduction to functional programming in general, you might need to be familiar with some basic concepts of functional programming, but I never felt lost in it. The difficulty is just right and the pacing is perfect. Recommended.

von mario c

Apr 15, 2017

I really appreciated this course and found it very helpful in understanding functional programming. It's well structured and it will bring you to deal with problems of increasing complexity. Thanks so much to Prof. Odersky and Coursera.

von Dominik M

Oct 23, 2016

Very brief and still concise presentation of both functional programming and Scala syntax and features. For my first course of functional programming, I think it gave me basic knowledge and skills to use functional programming features.

von Du L

May 08, 2018

The assignments are really challenging. Sometimes if can't complete the assignment, it can be a bit frustrating but if you can complete the assignment, it's tremendously rewarding! The week3 assignment can be improved for more clarity.

von Tuan N

Jan 05, 2020

Very interesting course. The assignments might be hard and if you're coming from imperative programming. I love week 2 assignment the most because the way of implementation a set without store any elements but functions is so elegant.

von Liviu C

Jan 14, 2018

This is one of the best online courses I have ever taken.

The course material is presented clearly and thoroughly.

The course assignments are challenging and interesting. They reinforce the presented material well.

Overall, great course.

von Damon S

Jul 28, 2017

Excellent course. The material covers a range of functional programming topics and provides a good introduction to the scala programming language. I highly recommend the course for anyone interested in functional programming or scala.

von Vadim U

Sep 28, 2019

The best introduction to functional programming and Scala by its creator! At first I wandered why so much attention was given to lists and implementing some operations on them but later it became clear and paid for itself! Thank you!

von CLAUDIO A

Feb 17, 2019

Course is excellent , I Which is no surprise given the fact that Martin Odersky is one of the original developers of the Scala language. The assignments are really good, specially Huffman coding and Anagram combinatorial search !

von Liming W

Sep 20, 2017

This course is super helpful to my understanding of functional programming as well as Scala language. It taught me to construct the solution in a recursive way and build up the answers in a natural inductive way. Very good course!

von Marcelo f

Oct 08, 2017

The explanations are all very clear. Mr Odersky does a great job at teaching Scala. Changing to the functional paradigm is already affecting my Python and Javascript coding skills. I feel confident that my code quality improved.

von Ścisław D

Nov 10, 2017

this course was fantastic, i couldn't stop watching and doing excercises until i reached this page. will surely join its continuation (hahaha he said "continuation"!). already recommended it to my colleagues. hugs and kisses, d.

von Paul K

May 14, 2017

This was a great introductory course. Coming from a Java background it really helps you get your head around functional programming and thinking more about what you want to achieve and not how you do it using control structures.

von Anders T

Jun 29, 2016

A thorough introduction to the functional programming parts of Scala, with new topics introduced in a sensible order, justifications and explanations provided where expected, and assignments at an appropriate challenge level.