Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,408 Bewertungen
1,489 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

VP

Sep 14, 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

AJ

Sep 24, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 1,426 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von Kristofor K D

Feb 19, 2017

Great course with a very in depth look at functional programming principles and specific Scala implementation details. It may have been a little maths heavy in the examples and assignments but the videos were interesting and concise and the instructions clear.

von Peppe G

Mar 25, 2018

Excellent course. Challenging and engaging. The course is a mix of programming, logic and maths. Professor Odersky is engaging while delivering very rigorous lectures. The programming assignments were challenging but very enjoyable.

Highly recommended.

von Dave C

Mar 11, 2017

There are other courses to help you learn Scala (LinkedIn is a great resource) as an enterprise language. I felt the real benefit here was on the focus on learning to approach problems with a functional programming mindset with scala just being a tool.

von Max S

Feb 03, 2020

While pretty specific to Scala it stays general enough to give valuable insights into functional programming in general. Additionally lots of specifics and reasoning about Scala and functional programming in particular is given that I found very good.

von Martin K

Feb 17, 2018

Very nice course to grasp the fundamental parts of functional programming. Also a very good introductory course for Scala that focuses on understanding the internal implementation of Scala's components such as Lists, etc. I definitely recommend it !

von Seshakumar

Jun 08, 2020

This was an eye opener to the world of functional thinking. This course teaches Scala not just as a programming language but as a gateway to functional paradigm. Thinking of usual declarative algorithms in a functional sense was challenging and fun.

von Niko G

Aug 20, 2016

It was a pleasure attending Scala lectures. Recently I have started implementing spark jobs at my workplace so the knowledge gained in this course has been very valuable and applied right away to solve real-world problems. Big thanks to Mr. Odersky.

von Saurabh G

Feb 28, 2017

I would like to thank Prof. Martin Odersky and his support staff for putting up such a great course. All the sessions through out the course are very well planned and to the point. It is really great course for beginners to Scala world. High Five!

von Tang

Jan 06, 2019

suggests for those who have at least one or two years of programming experience, some homework are much harder than your typical coding interviews. But it's really rewarding, because it's hard, and when you finally get it right, it's all worth it.

von Juan C V A

Mar 12, 2017

I really enjoy this course, Martin was very precise on how explain and teach each topic. Topics were easy to follow and understand. Practices and assignments help me to handle and understand functional programming. I like to recommend this course.

von Allison L

Sep 12, 2018

Super accessible; a good primer for those who aren't super comfortable with functional programming. I think that it is well-organized and helped me refresh on several things (I previously took an introductory OCaml class and needed the practice).

von Jonathan P

Jun 26, 2017

Great course and the challenging exercises are ones you will find in University level programming courses. When I learned C++ I was presented similar data structures and algorithms that Professor Odersky used in his tutorial videos and exercises.

von Jean-Francois T

Jun 14, 2016

Though learning deeply a language is always a challenge, this lecture focuses on constructs that makes Scala functions and exhibits good exercises to use recursions and functions.

This is, I think a good start to become a good scala developer

von Prastitis A

Jun 29, 2017

Not only the language that Martin Odersky created is amazing! He is amazing too! This course gives you a good intuition on how the language is, it teaches well the functional programming principles and the lectures are very student friendly

von zili m

Aug 02, 2017

This course offers a carefully designed material and lectures to understand important basic elements in scala. It is a very good way for any newcomer of CS to learn it as an introduction course of algorithm, programming and data structure.

von Pablo M

Sep 13, 2018

I have lot of experience on object oriented programming and software architecture in general. It was really hard initially to think the solutions in a different way, but it was worth it the effort and investment of time. Thank you Martin!

von Andrey K

Jan 13, 2017

Befor this course I've finished "Programming in Scala" (3 ed.) so there were no groundbreaking ideas for me. And still it was useful to check my knowledges by taking assignments. I'd recommend this course for anyone who is learning Scala

von Erick F

Apr 19, 2018

Great introduction to functional programming in general, you might need to be familiar with some basic concepts of functional programming, but I never felt lost in it. The difficulty is just right and the pacing is perfect. Recommended.

von mario c

Apr 15, 2017

I really appreciated this course and found it very helpful in understanding functional programming. It's well structured and it will bring you to deal with problems of increasing complexity. Thanks so much to Prof. Odersky and Coursera.

von Dominik M

Oct 23, 2016

Very brief and still concise presentation of both functional programming and Scala syntax and features. For my first course of functional programming, I think it gave me basic knowledge and skills to use functional programming features.

von Du L

May 08, 2018

The assignments are really challenging. Sometimes if can't complete the assignment, it can be a bit frustrating but if you can complete the assignment, it's tremendously rewarding! The week3 assignment can be improved for more clarity.

von Tuan N

Jan 05, 2020

Very interesting course. The assignments might be hard and if you're coming from imperative programming. I love week 2 assignment the most because the way of implementation a set without store any elements but functions is so elegant.

von Liviu C

Jan 14, 2018

This is one of the best online courses I have ever taken.

The course material is presented clearly and thoroughly.

The course assignments are challenging and interesting. They reinforce the presented material well.

Overall, great course.

von Damon S

Jul 28, 2017

Excellent course. The material covers a range of functional programming topics and provides a good introduction to the scala programming language. I highly recommend the course for anyone interested in functional programming or scala.

von Vadim U

Sep 28, 2019

The best introduction to functional programming and Scala by its creator! At first I wandered why so much attention was given to lists and implementing some operations on them but later it became clear and paid for itself! Thank you!