Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,357 Bewertungen
1,476 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

RS

Oct 09, 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

AJ

Sep 24, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 1,414 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von Ścisław D

Nov 10, 2017

this course was fantastic, i couldn't stop watching and doing excercises until i reached this page. will surely join its continuation (hahaha he said "continuation"!). already recommended it to my colleagues. hugs and kisses, d.

von Paul K

May 14, 2017

This was a great introductory course. Coming from a Java background it really helps you get your head around functional programming and thinking more about what you want to achieve and not how you do it using control structures.

von Anders T

Jun 29, 2016

A thorough introduction to the functional programming parts of Scala, with new topics introduced in a sensible order, justifications and explanations provided where expected, and assignments at an appropriate challenge level.

von Kunal M

Nov 04, 2018

Awesome course from the creator of the language !

Its not just a starting point for Scala & functional programming but also to OOPS design.

Must DO course for developers !!

Thanks a lot for providing such a valuable knowledge !!

von Juan L

Oct 29, 2017

I recommend this course for everyone who wants to learn functional programming. The course is well taught and doesn't matter if you're a new to programming or an experienced developer, you will learn a lot of things for sure.

von fxrcode

Oct 24, 2017

Always follow the inventor of the language to get the juice out of book or lecture. Great course. Take time to pick up functional programming. Must DO assignments to fully understand. Use your pen to write down the induction.

von Adrian

Apr 15, 2020

Amazing, changed my mindset and improved my programming skills with another approach totally different. The lectures are clear and easy to follow. I'd miss a better test suite with each exercise, but despite that is amazing.

von Suresh T

Jan 27, 2018

The course gave an excellent exposure to the really core aspects of functional programming. The assignments were very interesting and challenging. The pace and clarity of delivery was very conducive to learning this subject.

von Taras S

Aug 13, 2016

A lot of new information (Pattern Matching, Variance, Call-by-value & Call-by-name strategies) that was presented in structural and stimulating way. Also challenging and exciting assignments that always keep you in a loop.

von Andrew G

Jun 23, 2016

A great insight into both functional programming as well as Scala by the man himself. Don't be fooled though and don't take this course lightly as you have to put serious effort in it -- but you'll be rewarded accordingly.

von Marco A S

Nov 15, 2017

Excellent introduction to Functional programming. If you're new to this paradigm, Scala is the perfect language to start, because combines OOP and Functional programming, making the learning process scalable and friendly.

von Sangdeok P

Mar 01, 2020

I got a basic understanding of Scala and the intention of the founder, and I also got application example through not easy assignment. I am not a expert even I closed this course, but I am better than before

defenately

.

von Francisco M L Z

Aug 23, 2019

Great course, but I think it's a bit difficult to put your attention on functional programming itself when there are so many math examples and not trivial algorythms. Anyway, I enjoyed it and looking forward the next one

von Konstantin

Aug 29, 2016

The course is worth learning. It is interesting and challenging. Even though I needed more time than one session to complete the course because of some of the assignments, I don't think that they should be made easier.

von Eran B

Jul 22, 2016

I really enjoyed the course, even though some of the concepts were quite familiar as a CS graduate student. Prof Martin Ordesky goes to fine details, which make the Scala big picture much clearer.

Definitely recommended.

von Cristian G L

Aug 10, 2020

This is an amazing course given by one of Scala's authors. So many new concepts for those coming from Object oriented programming. It is a new world where some applications can be coded in a few lines of pure functions.

von Pravin

Mar 23, 2019

It is "the best course" to start understanding functional programming and get ur feet wet with scala.I really loved the way in which concepts have been explained , it has really helped in writing code in functional way.

von Ibrahim M

Jun 06, 2020

Great Start in functional programming. It tackles a lot of the main concepts of functional programming. The way I was taught Scala in this course showed me how to leverage both FP and OOP to solve problems efficiently.

von Sergey G

Apr 08, 2020

Really great course. Martin explains the material with passion and in detail. Learning functional programming was a lot of fun, because it enforces you to adjust your approach based on experienced with other languages.

von Fred N

Sep 02, 2017

Excellent course. I always wanted to know more about functional programming and this was an awesome introduction. All of the examples are very well chosen. I found the assignments to be challenging but I enjoyed it.

von Paul B

Mar 04, 2017

An amazingly deep dive for an intro course: covers generics, pattern matching, immutable data structures in lectures. Week 3 had some issues with the grader robot and exponential run times if you wrote some bad code.

von Bogdan F

May 24, 2020

Прошел курс со 2 попытки. Если вы пришли сюда за знаниям скалы - вы их особо не получите.

Курс больше о ФП. Задачки для домашней работы довольно сложные явно требуют 5-6 часов работы для людей у которых нет опыта в ФП

von Ashok

Jun 17, 2018

Wonderful course.. Gave me good insight in to functional programming paradigm.. Assignments are well created to apply the right thought process. I will recommend this course for any newbie to functional programming.

von Yihan S

Jun 04, 2017

It's more focus on the functional programming rather Scala programming language itself, but nevertheless it's fascinate to switch the mindset from one to another and think about the a totally different perspectives.

von Matthias R

Dec 21, 2016

very clear, informative, thought through course in functional programming. This course gives additionally to the programming of Scala a background and up-to-date view on functional programming topics and objectives