Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Program Design in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Program Design in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
2,741 Bewertungen
465 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

Top-Bewertungen

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 449 Bewertungen für Functional Program Design in Scala

von Abhinav P

Dec 15, 2017

I was optimistic about this course based on the previous course, because that course was consistent, self-contained, and systematic. On the other hand, this course was clearly put together by throwing together, rather haphazardly, bits and pieces of other courses, some of which no longer even exist. This is outrageous; a course like this would never be taught at a prestigious institution like EPFL, and it is highly deceptive to give us a course, put together in a arbitrary, incoherent, Frankensteinish fashion, right after a course that was quite systematic and coherent.

Week one and two were not bad, hence why I gave two stars instead of one. But week three involves a programming project that has literally nothing to do with the lectures at all. To be sure, I didn't mind learning about Scala Check, but I had to do it pretty much entirely on my own; it was mentioned for about five seconds in the lecture videos. If I wanted to just read documentation without any actual teaching, why would I sign up for a course like this?

And week 4! Coursera/whoever put this course together isn't even trying anymore. The videos are clearly from multiple different courses, and Odersky himself makes references entire weeks worth of content that simply doesn't exist anymore. This is a damn mess. In its current state, the course is simply not worth publishing.

For what its worth, the removed lecture videos can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLMhMDErmC1TdBMxd3KnRfYiBV2ELvLyxN

But these videos do not contain the removed exercises/programming projects, unfortunately.

von Gabriel G C

Jan 09, 2019

It seems that this course was partially updated, but it was not done in a seamlessly way. I think this course deserve a full remake, if possible with the same instructor all the time.

von Shaul E

Mar 01, 2018

The course starts well and has really good exercises, HOWEVER at weeks 3-4 the lectures lose their logical order, it feels like a collection of random lectures from other course syllabus that have been "reused" here.

Week 3 exercise has very little to do with the lectures, and week 4 lectures are even worse, martin says he'll talk about 1 thing that is later not in the course, then we switch to someone else that talks about "things we've seen before" - which we haven't!

Don't get me wrong, you can still learn a lot from this and understand most of it, but it just feels very unprofessional, glad I've only audited this course and didn't pay for it, if that was the case I would feel very disappointed

von GRINE B

Jan 30, 2019

Very advanced courses scala thank you

von Rumeshkrishnan M

Dec 31, 2018

I am very happy part of learning this course.

von Yi S

Jan 07, 2019

a bit of hard, the concepts are abstract

von Ignacio G S

Mar 10, 2019

Excellent course from the best professionals in the world. The Futures content should be tested as well.

von Subodh C

Mar 25, 2019

The structure of course could be refined to be more coherent.

von 李帅鹏

Apr 02, 2019

I want learn more about Scala. I find Someting interesting. Thank you, Mr Odersky.

von Малышев И И

Feb 06, 2019

It is really good course about Scala functional programming.

von John S

Feb 20, 2019

Very enjoyable course!

von Yacine G

Dec 28, 2018

A very intricate and well designed course. I especially liked the assignments and programming labs!!!

von manuel B L

Jul 14, 2018

Excelente curso, Se aprende mucho y se pone mucho en practica

von Andrew W

Oct 01, 2016

Another great course. It was a little more disjointed than the first course of the specialisation, the exercises did not allow you to really get to grips with the full range of material discussed in the course but that was largely because the scope of coverage was so large. Maybe the deep dive will come in the later course...

von Roman E

Jul 24, 2016

Nice course, but I would like to learn more examples of FRP usage in real projects.

von Kamel E B

Aug 01, 2017

Super cours

von Noe P

Dec 21, 2016

Very well explained and the exercises are very cool.

von John C

Sep 30, 2016

Mindbending.

von Rodolfo E Q

May 21, 2017

Simply excellent, Scala does not cease to amaze me, thx

von 本达 续

Jun 16, 2017

Future monads was very interesting. Category theory rocks.

von oWen H

Mar 28, 2017

Great course! Thanks for making available to me (us).

von Avinash

Oct 01, 2016

Exceptionally great teaching by Professor Martin Odersky, I am right now wondering why his scala.react way of Signals approach is not adopted by any of the major UI platforms ... it makes lot of sense to me having worked in UI layer for a long time and understanding the mess that event driven architecture brings

von Michael W

Oct 18, 2017

This course was a more or less succsessful excerpt of the course "Reactive Programming in Scala" wich can still be found on youtube and in the net. The course only covers about 3 of the 7 weeks of the original course. But it seems to me that this first part of the reactive course was better than the other parts, that were tougt by other instructors. But, still a great course that tought me a lot.

von jose c a

May 18, 2017

Perfect!!!

von Leo C

Jan 10, 2018

Differently challenging from first course. This course challenges from learning to utilize tools than from a paradigm shift.