Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Program Design in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Program Design in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
Sterne
2,978 Bewertungen
510 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

Top-Bewertungen

RP
14. Sep. 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES
17. März 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

Filtern nach:

451 - 475 von 493 Bewertungen für Functional Program Design in Scala

von Lukasz S

25. Nov. 2016

Videos from previuos version of the course Reactive programming in Scala makes this course worse prepared. I had impression that it was made rushed from shredded pieces. Assignements are easier than previous

von Juan S P R

5. Nov. 2017

The lab for the third week was unrelated to the material, and the fourth week is a bunch of videos from the previous course of reactive programming in Scala. Nothing like the first course of Scala

von Viktor K

4. März 2017

Too much of the content is already contained in the courses "Functional Programming Principles in Scala" and "Principles of Reactive Programming". Would be nice to have some new assignments.

von Carlos M d C T

30. Juli 2017

The quality of the explanations is inferior to the first course.

But I feel I could pass the Assignments without mastery of the topics.

However, would take this course again.

von Evgenii S

8. Aug. 2017

Course is not well formed.

I received full grade for second assignment doing nothing.

It will be great if you attach lectures from Reactive Programming at least as optional

von Viton V

23. Okt. 2016

On the positive side: The content was very interesting.

On the negative side: The course was not particularly well structured. The last week was quite difficult to follow.

von Ivan K

8. Apr. 2018

Last (4th week) is awfully designed, includes a lot of "scratch the surface" material, very bad explanations of futures and background. With authors redesigned 4th week.

von Pavel O

21. Jan. 2020

Some stuff was weird, like the quickcheck task, too much weird syntax, hard to understand what's going on, especially because there was no explanation for binomial heap

von Oleg O

23. Juni 2017

Weird mix of disorganized materials. Manner of teaching of Erik Meijer is really annoying. Course "Functional Programming Principles in Scala" was much better

von Pascal S

27. Nov. 2016

Learned quite a bit, but course was not as good as the first course of the specialization.

Especially the presentations in week 4 are rather messy.

von David P

5. Jan. 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the lectures by M. Odersky! Unfortunately the lectures on Futures seemed a bit disconnected from the rest of the material...

von Santiago S L

12. Okt. 2018

Course is fine from an "standard" industry standpoint. However, I would have loved more monads and harder concepts related to category theory.

von Fernando G

13. Juli 2016

Interesting, but a little bit too easy and shallow.

The material was reused from other courses without making it all fit together well.

von Nathan L

13. Okt. 2016

Was quite good but getting less and less useful, too abstract, lacking detail. Examples too academic, needs to be more practical.

von Alfonso M F

19. Dez. 2016

Week 3 assigment had little relationship with the material presented in the course. Week 4 needs quite a lot of polish...

von Yuan L

16. Feb. 2017

The last week has materials that nothing related to assignment, and it jumps a bit fast where i have no clue at all

von Nicolás C

1. Juni 2016

Most of the content was included in Functional Programming in Scala and Reactive Programming Principles in Scala.

von Bidhya N S

2. Apr. 2019

The course is not structured well. Also concepts like monads and functors are not covered in detailed way.

von David S

20. Dez. 2016

Meh. Very basic intro; not the more advanced class I anticipated, based on the first in the sequence.

von Damien F

3. Dez. 2016

The videos were a bit confusing and gave me the impression that it was a patchwork from old lectures.

von Peter H

30. Dez. 2018

Course material seems to be combined from two old courses, and some materials are not well prepared.

von Roger L

9. Aug. 2017

The examples & exercises were too academic. Just glad to complete it. Found it extremely dull.

von Mayeul M

5. Sep. 2016

Not as useful as the first course. The part on the futures is not really understandable.

von yassine a

3. Nov. 2017

not bad , but very short and not huge plus value compared to first course

von Gabriele A

1. Okt. 2019

Good course but not much coherence between lessons and exercises.