Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Program Design in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Program Design in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
Sterne
3,036 Bewertungen
520 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger Scala applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Finally, you will learn how to leverage the ability of the compiler to infer values from types. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity with using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

Top-Bewertungen

RP
14. Sep. 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES
17. März 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 503 Bewertungen für Functional Program Design in Scala

von shimin

24. Juli 2017

nice course

von liruidong

4. Juni 2017

good course

von Alex

19. Apr. 2017

Thank you !

von JoolsFenner

16. Juli 2016

Outstanding

von Masud H

6. Jan. 2020

Very good.

von Max B

1. Dez. 2019

Cool stuff

von Qi G

14. Okt. 2017

Very good~

von Bjornn B O F F

27. Juni 2017

Top course

von jose c a

18. Mai 2017

Perfect!!!

von IURII B

27. Juli 2017

Thank you

von Andy R

5. Feb. 2017

very good

von Ming Y

19. Okt. 2016

还没上呢,先给好评

von Light0617

29. Apr. 2019

great!!!

von Ruben A D

20. Jan. 2018

Awesome!

von Yurii K

13. Dez. 2017

Awesome!

von Ronald C M

21. Okt. 2017

The best

von Almaz

11. Juli 2017

AWESOME

von Alex G

4. Juli 2016

Amazing

von 林鼎棋

2. Juli 2017

Great!

von Alexander R

8. Juli 2018

fire!

von Taewoo K

23. März 2020

Good

von Sebas O C

22. Juli 2019

nice

von Hyung-tak J

25. Juli 2016

good

von Marius K

25. Feb. 2018

This course is OK as a successor of "Functional Programming Principles in Scala". You definitely learn a lot of new functional concept, the material is presented well and the homework is engaging (though it is debatable if it couldn't be more closely related to the course content).

Participants should know, though, that this is a condensed version of a previous Coursera course by the same authors, "Principles of Reactive Programming", which is no longer available. Compared to the earlier course, the present course is less coherent – it consists more or less of a subset of the earlier course’s lectures (videos). As a consequence, the instructors sometimes refer to earlier or later lectures that are not actually there (or at least not in the expected order). (I recommend participants to look up the missing lectures on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLMhMDErmC1TdBMxd3KnRfYiBV2ELvLyxN)

Lastly, I do not think the title "Functional Program Design" is appropriate. I would call it "Elements of Reactive Programming in Scala" or something similar.

von Kota M

24. Jan. 2018

This was my first experience with Functional Programming and also Scala. I found many parts of the course challenging, but also so much fun to me.

During the course, the teacher talks about the Scala development techniques, but also fundamental implementation of Scala language. I think the course will be more informative if the two kinds are clearly separated, since people would have different motivations towards the course. Many people may not need to understand what is going on behind the abstract functionality for their practice, but knowing them will push them up to higher levels.

I myself wanted to focus on getting used to coding with Scala, even if I am not 100% sure how the things are going on behind scene. Fundamental topics will be of my interest once I become a intermediate developer of the language.