Chevron Left
Zurück zu Learn to Program: Crafting Quality Code

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Learn to Program: Crafting Quality Code von University of Toronto

4.7
Sterne
578 Bewertungen
140 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Not all programs are created equal.  In this course, we'll focus on writing quality code that runs correctly and efficiently.  We'll design, code and validate our programs and learn how to compare programs that are addressing the same task....

Top-Bewertungen

NS

Jul 13, 2020

Solid course that dives deeper into the fundamentals of CS. Great instruction, attention to detail and the excercises are adequately challenging for beginners and lower-intermediate programmers.

DB

May 22, 2020

Great instructors, liked the way they reinforced concepts through quizzes during lecture. Also appreciated and enjoyed the content of the lectures as well as the project assignments.

Filtern nach:

126 - 139 von 139 Bewertungen für Learn to Program: Crafting Quality Code

von anu g

Aug 01, 2019

This last exercise was challenging and took a while for me because i didn't really have a good explanation of the specific variable names that i should use to coincide with the ratrace file. also, there is not active mentor to ask questions to!

von Adam S

Jun 15, 2020

The course was fine, but some of the problems where discussed to quickly, with to little examples and assignments, and I couldn't keep up. Especially the whole "class" part.

von Mohsen H

Jul 30, 2019

one of the instructors, (Paul) is frustratingly confusing and unorganized!! sigh ....

von Sergio I G E

Jun 25, 2019

Good course, but not everything was well explained, and the mentors didn't show up.

von Mikhail G

Feb 18, 2019

It is better to have more bite-sized assignments than the last one

von Aldana B R

Jun 27, 2019

The topics were good, but they were not well explained.

von Bohdan S

Nov 06, 2017

Incorrect tasks. Many problems.

von Olajuwon S

Apr 24, 2017

Thanks!

von Darien M

Dec 21, 2019

This course gets two stars because it is free and you have access to all assignments (and they are "graded"). I recommend taking this course only if you have some experience with Python and want to use it as a tune up for a more advanced course. In other words, skip the lectures/readings and just work on the quizzes and assignments. If you are new to programming I do not recommend this course. Take the Python for Everybody sequence then follow that up with the Python3 sequence (both from UMich).

If you happen to get stuck on something, use your old courses or other resources for help as the materials in this course are of low quality. There is a reason why hardly anyone is taking anymore. Additionally, not much help can be found in the discussion forums either. Some assignment instructions are unclear and the feedback from the auto grader is not helpful. There is also a peer graded assignment, which I am not a big fan of, although the assignment itself if okay.

There is actually some good content in this course, especially for learning doctest and unittest. As far as I can tell, no other intro courses touch on these subjects. The Week 5 project involves classes that interact, which is a nice way to cap things off. I'd rate this course higher if it was not specifically for beginners.

von James D B

Jul 13, 2020

My favorite part of this course was learning about Python's built-in modules doctest and unittest.

However, in general, this course is out of date, and had a bad "user experience":

-Instructions were not clear on auto-graded assignment, and I had to read through forum posts to understand intent

-Throughout the class, a bunch of multiple choice questions had rendering errors ("Missing closing brace") such that the questions could not be rendered, and I couldn't answer

-The course uses a deprecated version of Python

---https://intellij-support.jetbrains.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/360006202379-PyCharm-not-support-Python3-4-anymore

-Sometimes, in an effort to be useful for beginners, the course (in my opinion) incorrectly simplified things

-The course would ask multiple choice questions at times based on the made up scenarios, seemingly just to make sure you were paying attention

von José I V

Feb 29, 2020

Basic level

von Guy M

Sep 05, 2018

Rather poor value. On the one hand I learned what a few different sort algorithms were, on the other hand that topic seemed utterly out of place and irrelevant for the course. One week contained barely half an hour of lecture videos, which feels like a token gesture. The main thing I got out of the course, to its credit, was an introduction to doctest and unittest, but that feels like very poor value. I'm sure a good online tutorial would do more and save you £36.

von Alexis M

Mar 17, 2017

I've started the course and i have found "learn to program" part, but where is "quality code"?