Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
987 Bewertungen
230 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Apr 21, 2019

I love the focus of this first course in the specialization is about problem solving and developing a mindset for programming. The course is well thought out and concepts are clearly explained!

AM

Apr 08, 2019

Really great course. Took this as a refresher. I feel that the content of this course was significantly higher quality than the programming tuition I received in first semester of university.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 245 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

von Matthew L

Jun 26, 2019

The description says this course is for beginners to programming, but you are expected to know more than the instructors to pass some of the quizzes, and there is no help for your incorrect answers. Do not pay for this course unless you know you can pass the quizzes, especially the quizzes for week 3. They are extremely difficult and not designed for learning.

von Mariam S

Apr 09, 2019

I would like to know more general things like how programming works, how frameworks, libraries work and so on.

von Aliki D

Jun 30, 2019

Simple stuff made complicated and no logic in a lot of questions.

Requiring to guess the logic (guess the algorithm) with which the results are created help neither to learn programming nor to be better at it. In a work environment, the client never requests from the developer to guess the logic with which the numbers are created.

As a beginner, I had a very hard time to understand the material and to deliver results. A lot of personal research in online material and videos was required in order to understand the Beginner material provided by this course.

I wouldn't recommend it for true beginners.

von Arthur M

Apr 08, 2019

Really great course. Took this as a refresher. I feel that the content of this course was significantly higher quality than the programming tuition I received in first semester of university.

von Yi-Shiun, C

Jan 23, 2019

the design of assignment is not as clear or as good as what in Udacity.

von Omar M B

Nov 03, 2018

So many readings. I need more videos

von Douglas N

May 07, 2018

This class is not for beginners. You need some concept of programming before starting this. Otherwise you will be seriously swamped by the jumps that are taken from week 1 to week 4. For some reason the course does not provide explanations for the quiz/practice quiz questions. This was puzzling since obviously they knew the right answers. It left a huge gap for learning and made further lectures more difficult since past issues were not completely explained. I have a background in computer science and am fluent in VBA. There are complexities that a day one programmer will struggle to overcome.

von Luie J

May 03, 2018

It's like reading a book. There is a lot of written material, and in the videos the instructors just repeat the the things we just read. I didn't feel that the videos contributed much to the learning process. I guess that I expected something else.

von Val G

Apr 21, 2018

The quizzes for this course are grossly unfair. They take on the character of math tests. I've hit the wall and I'm dropping out after week one. At this point Im guessing answers and I am intelligent and trying hard. I assume the quizzes are intended to filter people out. Well, congrtulations, you filtered me out.

von Roman S

Apr 05, 2018

Bad structure. Can't recommend. Price is to high for this poor quality of content.

von Felisa S

Jan 17, 2018

Very difficult! Definitely not for beginners.

von Esther M A

Jun 27, 2019

Great way to get the fundamentals of programming when you don't have formal training in a BA or similar, but are working in Data Science or related fields. The explanations are clear and deep enough to give you an idea of where you need to go in your own time.

von fengkeyleaf

Jun 27, 2019

Great Courses! I've learned a more general way to write an algorithm, rather than starting coding right away! This is very helpful in the future study~

von Harith U

Jun 25, 2019

The course was extremely easy to follow (It helped that I had some programming background, using loops and conditional statements, but the course taught me a lot of new stuff). I learnt how variables are stored in memory for different datatypes, how to use struct and typedef, etc. I would recommend this course for anyone looking to start learning the fundamentals of programming.

von Michiel V

Jun 23, 2019

For beginner programmers, this course is certainly advisable. However, the price (50+ euro per week(!)) is disproportionate to the amount of video time the teachers make available. If I wanted to READ about C, I would buy a book on C. The strength of coursera are the tips and tricks and the connection between listening and reading. Compare this course for example with the (cheaper) machine learning course of Andrew Ng which would be worth this price, but this course definetely not ... Hope the follow-up courses will be better.

von Seth

Apr 21, 2019

I love the focus of this first course in the specialization is about problem solving and developing a mindset for programming. The course is well thought out and concepts are clearly explained!

von Jimmy K A

Nov 11, 2018

Really Excellent course. Fully understandable and very useful.

von Sebastian H L

Jun 03, 2018

They tried to force me to pay for the course to hand in my exam, but i just wanted to learn for free. this was not made clear to me that i would not be able to learn with feedback without having to pay.

von Tim K

May 11, 2018

Course requires you to upgrade to the paid version before you can complete week 1.

von Ravi K

Jul 21, 2019

If you are new to C programming and know nothing about it then its amazing course to get started with C programming. It completely felt like being spoon-fed for the material taught in this course.

von

Jul 18, 2019

loved...…..it

von Sagar B

Jul 18, 2019

Good Course

Need some more videos of illustration

von sri l k

Jul 16, 2019

first two week are at a acertain point to our knowledge

von Rohit D

Jul 13, 2019

Great for total beginners.

Would totally recommend to college students who just started their programming classes in C.

Not for professionals eager to brush up their skills.Since it's too basic.

von Paridhi G

Jul 11, 2019

highly recommended! no presumptions! everything from the very scratch! amazing