Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part C

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part C von University of Washington

4.9
Sterne
341 Bewertungen
75 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

[As described below, this is Part C of a 3-part course. Participants should complete Parts A and B first -- Part C "dives right in" and refers often to material from Part A and Part B.] This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module of Part A. Part B assumes successful completion of Part A. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Jan 08, 2019

Great course, nicely rounded off the discussions from previous parts. Really puts OOP style programming in context and nicely contrasts it from the functional programming concepts. Highly recommended!

JH

Dec 27, 2016

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 74 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part C

von Shaohao Z

Jan 19, 2017

It really took quite a lot effort to accomplish the course and I'm sure that I am having a much clearer mind towards different programming language, which is impossible without this course.

So thank you for bringing us this wonderful course, Dan!

von Abhik K

Oct 18, 2016

Perhaps the best course i have completed on Coursera. I aboslutely love Dan Grossman's teaching approach. I can only applaud the care and effort that has gone into designing this. I would eagerly join any course that Dan teaches in future

von Xiang-Yu G

Jul 27, 2017

Clear and refreshing. Especially the part comparing OOP with FP. They way to compare subtyping and generics is also novel. I have been writing OOP and FP programs for years but haven't look at them from such a point of view.

von Rongge Y

Jan 27, 2018

Very passionate instructor and very rich and well-organized content. Great to learn and reflect on some novel concepts like double dispatch and sub typing; it's really enlightening. Great course experience. Thank you Dan!

von Zijiao Y

May 25, 2017

I would say I got the exact the same reason as Dan for choosing computer science to be a huge part of my life: The true Awe-inspiring thing! And this is literally the best course I have ever take for the past 20 years

von Shreyas S

Jan 08, 2019

Great course, nicely rounded off the discussions from previous parts. Really puts OOP style programming in context and nicely contrasts it from the functional programming concepts. Highly recommended!

von Jan H

Dec 27, 2016

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

von Peter D

Jan 22, 2020

Best MOOC taken so far! Learnt a lot about programming languages and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more and understand deeper about programming language in general.

von Nelson V

Sep 14, 2017

One of the best courses of my career. This was truly programming languages. You'll look at your programs, in any language you use, in a whole different way! Highly recommended!

von Ahmed E

Jul 14, 2020

It was an incredible journey, have learnt from it a lot of things, Prof. Dan was spectacular, his way of delivering difficult concepts in an easy way is very very good.

von Guo F

Dec 02, 2019

Last Part of the course. A fantastic learning experience. Thank you Dan and other folks participating in the creation of this course, for the great work!

von Sorin J

Aug 21, 2020

Outstanding! Even if this part of the course is primarily focused on Ruby and OOP, there is a lot in it to learn even for experienced programmers.

von Sonia R A

Sep 07, 2020

It is a very challenging but rewarding course. Dan is a great teacher, he engages you in learning and makes it much more fun. I enjoyed a lot.

von Wei J

Jan 19, 2017

Really helpful for understanding a lot of programming concept. Very wonderful experience. Thanks to Dan and Coursera!

von Luiz C

Dec 17, 2018

in my top 3 course on Coursera Platform. A must for anyone interested in Programming, beginner to experienced

von Yifeng M

Jul 18, 2017

The course series covered a broad range of knowledge. And the material are presented with great details.

von Luis G

Jan 20, 2020

Extremely recommended course. Really appreciate all the effort put into it by all people involved.

von Matias A

Feb 01, 2020

Wonderful course, perfectly taught, well put together, Professor Dan Grossman is awesome.

von Jing Y

Jan 13, 2018

Interesting course, covers many interesting topics. Homework is a must-do but not hard.

von Brunno d S L

Oct 22, 2016

This course is awesome, I think all developer should take a look at this!

von Anran

Jul 08, 2020

A very inspiring course! Thank you Dan for the wonderful adventure!

von Wentao Y

Jul 31, 2017

Very good and helpful!

No wasting time, efficient for busy learners.

von anton k

Mar 11, 2018

Very challenging and rewarding course. Dan is a perfect teacher!

von nvp

Jan 26, 2017

Interesting class and well taught. Part B was particularly fun.

von Zhang C

Jul 26, 2020

OOP and functional programming compare and contrast, amazing!