Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
Sterne
1,438 Bewertungen
420 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ
2. Dez. 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA
4. März 2018

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 415 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Wu Z

6. Aug. 2019

This is my first course on Coursera and it's really rewarding! I've been programming for several years, but this course still gives me quite a lot surprises. I think this course is suitable for programmer at all levels.

von Frank G

2. Apr. 2017

Fantastic course. Prof Grossman is an excellent teacher and he has done a great job assembling the subject matter. The course will help you become a more thoughtful programmer, no matter where you are in your career.

von Paramjot S

14. Okt. 2020

The best course I have taken online, in fact not just online, I have not come across many such great teachers in real life as well. Dan brings forth the fundamentals of languages in a very clear and concise way!

von Matt K

21. März 2019

Very approachable with minimal CS background but incredibly insightful with a prior CS education. Sheds light on many forgotten yet important topics and gives any programmer a new lens to view their code though.

von Jayadev

11. Mai 2018

pedagoically great course!

Dan really gets to the point right away and it's nice to take his classes.

Still i dont see much use of the course except to do challanging programming assigments...

Thank you Professor!

von Joshua G

25. Feb. 2018

This was a great course. I feel like I can better understand the F# and Elm languages now as a result of studying SML. The sections on recursion and pattern matching were particularly interesting and rewarding.

von Iris H

28. Sep. 2019

Excellent course. Very interesting and well-presented material with a lot of thought put into building up the conceptual framework for functional programming and language concepts. I look forward to Part B!

von Matias A

18. Nov. 2019

Eye opening! You will learn a lot about the theoretical aspects of programming languages, good programming style, and especially how to write simple and elegant code to solve seemingly complex problems.

von Yuchong P

9. Okt. 2016

This course focuses mainly on Standard ML, which provides a great perspective for a PL learner. Something I find most interesting is a comparison between Standard ML and other languages like Java and C.

von Zhixia L

28. Sep. 2019

Perfect course. The professor is very enthusiastic and welcoming. The material is well-organized. The homework is just at that point, not too easy, not too difficult, but still remaining challenging.

von Denis K

23. März 2018

A very good introduction to functional programming. I especially liked how precisely (although not formally) lexical scoping, semantic, evaluation rules, types checking algorithm of SML were defined.

von Sergey Z

3. Apr. 2017

Great course!

One of the few courses I actually finished on Coursera.

Though I think it could be made longer to have less lectures/homework, but that's probably a general issue with Coursera for me.

von Ruben P

26. Nov. 2020

Amazing topics and teaching for start programming with a solid base since the beggining. It is not an easy course, so one have to do a hard work, and that is one the best things of this couse.

von Aayush S

29. Dez. 2019

Instructor's strive for perfection really shows. The quality of content is top-notch; both for the video explanations and the pdfs. Definitely going to check out the other two parts as well.

von Herb M

17. Nov. 2016

Much much better than I ever expected even though I had already seen how good the instructor's other video lessons are -- definitely worth the time to take the course and do the home work.

von syoya

17. Mai 2020

A basic introduction to programming languages especially ML family. It's quite helpful to understand the theory behind the language design but not practical from a short-term perspective.

von Konstantinos O

22. Jan. 2018

A great course, covering a wide range of topics in programming languages. Very well paces and Dan Grossman is an amazing teacher! Must watch for every programmer, beginner or experienced.

von Jan H

27. Dez. 2016

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

von Cheng H

22. Dez. 2018

Best ever classic courses! Never learnt so much from any programming courses! Expect to see materials can be published as book even textbook! Looking forward further courses from Dan!

von Jingning T

3. Juli 2018

Great content. Everything is free to access so really learnt a lot from the homework and the exam. Also the professor is really good at illustrating the concepts with simple examples.

von Sean E

12. März 2018

Exceptionally well thought-through content taught by a highly motivating teacher. Without doubt one of the best courses I have taken on Coursera so far. Demanding and very rewarding!

von Igor B

10. Okt. 2016

This is one of the best courses that I have ever taken before! I have got a good introduction in functional programming and understood a lot of new concepts of programming languages.

von Zhengtao X

10. Dez. 2018

This is a good course. It helps me to understand the same features about different programming languages, so I can get started quickly when I need to use a new programming language.

von Roberto U G

20. Juni 2017

Awesome course. A wonderful introduction to statically typed functional programming with a simple and concise language. After I took this course, Scala started to make more sense.

von Saiful A

3. Dez. 2017

Exceptionally brilliant course. The instructor, Dr. Dan Grossman became one of my favorite teachers of my life. The contents are solid, illuminating at the same time challenging.