Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
Sterne
1,641 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

2. Dez. 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

4. März 2018

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 479 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Ruchita S

4. März 2021

Amazing! The course really broadens your perspective towards programming language and

I would highly

recommend it.

von Maximilian P

24. Nov. 2020

Awesome! Finally wrapped my head around some concepts that I had been trying to understand prior to this course.

von Maria L V

19. März 2018

Great course, learned a lot. Dynamic videos and writen support. First experience with coursera very positive :)

von kojo

8. Jan. 2022

Very good teacher, super useful concepts. you should definitely take this course as well as part B and part C

von Kachan O V

3. Mai 2020

Very good!Knowledge provided by this course is really useful and lecturer explains everything very accessibly!

von Jürgen B

13. Aug. 2019

Great course. Quite useful even for knowledgeable programmers to learn about functional programming concepts.

von Tan S X A

17. Okt. 2017

Dan Grossman is a lovely person, and a good lecturer. His materials are good, and the homework is challenging.

von Raquel K

17. Sep. 2019

Wonderful course! Really expanded the way I think about programming and I'm looking forward to parts B and C.

von Chinmay

12. Okt. 2016

Awesome course. Learned a lot on the way. Concepts were presented very well. Looking forward to part B and C.

von Andrea T

21. Okt. 2021

Very interesting insights into programming in general. Good course structure, well explained, easy to follow

von Luiz C

22. Juli 2018

A fantastic Course. Before this Course I thought I knew how to Code. Now I know I still have to learn a lot

von Yusong S

11. Feb. 2017

Learn many fundamental concepts about functional programming! Course material is challenging but rewarding.

von James L

13. Mai 2021

I'm so hilarious I thought this was going to be all review of things I already knew. Don't skip this one.

von John G

1. Feb. 2017

This is a really fun course. I'm glad that it was split into A-B-C because I just don't have time for B.

von Mustaqim M

26. Sep. 2020

Really tough and engaging but none the less very helpful in understanding the intricacies of programming

von Lei F

13. Dez. 2018

This is a wonderful lesson. Bring a lot of new concepts to me. Functional programming is a big surprise.

von Shen C

6. Apr. 2018

I should say thanks Dan's work on this MOOC. I have learned many knowledge about functional programming

von Deleted A

30. Okt. 2017

Very insightful and logical presentation of ideas that I now see everywhere when I learn new languages.

von Pritesh S

6. Aug. 2020

Arguably the best MOOC on Coursera. I wish professor Dan Grossman would upload more such MOOCs soon !!

von Caleb

25. Apr. 2020

Great intro to ideas behind programs and also a fun way to learn some functional programming concepts.

von Robert M

2. Sep. 2016

Excellent coverage of the topic. Must see if you want to grasp the functional programming paradigm.

von Akash B P

22. Sep. 2018

The professor's enthusiasm for programming languages rubbed off on me. Can't wait to start Part B

von Shaun G

3. Jan. 2022

Incredible course! Very well put together and organized. Vastly improved my programming skills.

von Rizwan Q

12. Juni 2020

i thoroughly enjoyed the course, the instructor was very good and made the whole experience fun