Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
1,095 Bewertungen
309 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 304 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Pavel I

Sep 03, 2016

Excellent instructor and course material. One of the best Coursera classes.

von John G

Feb 01, 2017

This is a really fun course. I'm glad that it was split into A-B-C because I just don't have time for B.

von Claude J B

Feb 22, 2018

One of the best, and most challenging, courses on Coursera

von David C

Oct 26, 2016

I really learned a lot from the course, and the teacher is awesome

von Youlian S

Nov 13, 2016

I can't say enough good things about this sequence of courses. I've been a professional software developer for 5 years, and was looking to shore up some of the electives that I didn't get to take in college. I am very glad that I chose this course to flesh out my knowledge of programming languages. I learned a lot of design patterns and principles that I can now apply to my day-to-day coding, and my ability to quickly learn and parse foreign programming languages has shot through the roof.

Thanks, Dan and your team, for all of your hard work in putting this course together!

von Tao X

Dec 28, 2017

Epic course ever

von Oladapo F

May 14, 2017

Great course for whoever is interested in understanding more about how programming languages works (statically typed in part A of the course)

von Yijie Q

Aug 06, 2017

This course (and its subsequent parts) has long been on my MOOC bucket list. However, I have dropped out of previous sessions quite a few times when things got hectic with work and general life chaos.

I had excused myself with (false) statements such as "this course is too theoretical to be immediately useful" and "what's the point of spending time scratching the surface of a not-so-popular language". Looking back, I couldn't believe how wrong i was at the time, and couldn't be more glad that I finally started to pull through this series.

Sure this series is more theoretical and has little of the "cool" projects, but even this first course of the series has already shed new lights on my perspectives on programming languages, familiar or new. I used to see programming languages each in a class of their own (or only with similarities on the syntax-level), but this course has so far taught me, that there are governing principles true to all programming languages, and general rules that apply to types/families of languages.

Granted that I was writing ML the whole time for this course, but throughout the assignments and lectures, I couldn't help (though really not supposed to) but kept on seeing connections to languages that I'm familiar with (Options -> Java Optional, Signature -> header files, map/filter/reduce across the board). It was quite some exciting moments of (re)discovery, finding out about ideas that translate from one language to another.

I highly recommend this course to anyone who aspire to become better programmers. Thank you very much Dan, for sharing this course and your passion for programming languages with people around the world! I can't wait to find out what part B and C have to offer!

von Zhong X 钟

Oct 08, 2016

Very rewarding, worth taking. It enhanced my understanding of what is programming. I learned some principles of coding.

von Frank G

Apr 02, 2017

Fantastic course. Prof Grossman is an excellent teacher and he has done a great job assembling the subject matter. The course will help you become a more thoughtful programmer, no matter where you are in your career.

von sai

Oct 15, 2016

Great course. You can learn the most import concepts about the functional programming language

von Orlando S

Feb 13, 2017

Good course to improve software development undestanding functional programming languages

von Saptarshi C

Jan 07, 2017

Has been fantastic so far - hoping to purchase and complete it

von Robert M

Sep 02, 2016

Excellent coverage of the topic. Must see if you want to grasp the functional programming paradigm.

von Rongpeng L

Sep 05, 2017

Step stone for a better programmer.

von Roberto U G

Jun 20, 2017

Awesome course. A wonderful introduction to statically typed functional programming with a simple and concise language. After I took this course, Scala started to make more sense.

von Sixiang C

Aug 30, 2017

This is good first course in Funtional programming.

The materials and exercises are excellent.

von Hushan J

Jun 23, 2017

really helpful for understanding PL fundamentals.

von Ángel A C R

Jun 23, 2018

Irecommendeveryonetotakethiscourse.

von Vassilis K

Sep 16, 2017

With this course I realised that functional programming is not just a hype or a trend. I really became invested in this way of thinking. The course is great, Dan is a great instructor and even more important is that the mentors are doing an excellent job!

von Li D

Aug 25, 2016

This is the first time I'm exposed to functional programming and it is amazing.

von Krystian S

Sep 07, 2016

One of the best courses in which I've participated. Additionaly along with Tim Roughgarden my favourite professor as far as my familiarity with coursera and other mooc sites is concerned. Love to see his passion to the subject and become "infected" with it :)

von dongpeng

Sep 04, 2016

very nice, I learned a lot, THANK YOU!

von ivan v

Oct 20, 2017

Extremely good, extremely useful.

von danijel k

Nov 10, 2017

The best teacher I've had chance to listen to. I've completed his corse on programming languages several years ago but always like to return and listen again. It's two things like good movie one can always return to and learn something new, or learn how to be a good teacher, and as Dan says: painting that fence. :)