Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
1,096 Bewertungen
309 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 305 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Luiz C

Jul 22, 2018

A fantastic Course. Before this Course I thought I knew how to Code. Now I know I still have to learn a lot

von Ziyang G

Aug 27, 2018

It was super fun and helpful to get to know the basic ideas of functional programming.

von Kurt

Oct 14, 2018

very nice course, content explained clearly

von Tso C F

Aug 20, 2018

learn real programming

von Junlin G

Sep 17, 2018

Love it

von Jin X

Sep 20, 2018

Dan is great

von Akash B P

Sep 23, 2018

The professor's enthusiasm for programming languages rubbed off on me. Can't wait to start Part B

von vishnu r

Sep 23, 2018

the class was simply superb

von Erik D

Oct 04, 2018

A great course which shows functional concepts in depth.

von Jing C

Nov 03, 2018

I think it is very good as a start up for programming. full of useful thoughts and ideas, and instructor is explaining everything in a clear way. very recommended.

von Dali Z

Aug 16, 2018

amazing course and excellent lecture! Very impressive about explanation on SML.

von Gleb L

Jul 25, 2018

All three parts are amazing. Dan is a great computer scientists and a teacher. He have very clear way of explaining ideas. Material covered in courses is highly relevant. Concepts covered in functional parts can be seen in many "fresh" languages (Scala, Swift, Nim). Deeper grasp of OOP and its relation to functional programming helps understand core differences and similarities.

I cant recommend this three part course enough for anyone who don't just want to know one programming language, but to be a better computer engineer.

von Olegs K

Nov 05, 2018

Very valuable and naturally interesting

von jzy

Nov 04, 2018

Well-designed!

von Nacho C I

Apr 16, 2019

Was a beutiful course with fun exercises

von l1nxy

Apr 21, 2019

it's very great course

von Q L

Apr 20, 2019

amazing course, I love it

von shaahin k

Apr 12, 2019

the idea of start by sml is briliant and very helpful about the base of programming languages

von Gopal J

Apr 06, 2019

it`s a very good course.

von Mike

Mar 26, 2019

Good

von Tega E

Mar 28, 2019

I really enjoyed taking this course. It was quite taxing but I loved the way Dan Grossman presented the concepts in a very intuitive and didactic manner.

von Oskar M G A

May 19, 2019

Great course, if you want to learn the foundations of functional programming in a purely functional language this is the course for you!

von Oluwatimilehin

Jun 04, 2019

It's a really great course. The first week can be a bit tough to get through especially if you're from a programming background but I implore you to wait it out. You'll learn a lot about functional programming and learn how to apply those concepts to make you a better programmer.

von Vivekanand G N

Jun 10, 2019

This is a fantastic and ground breaking course. A must in every programmer's toolbox

von T N

Jun 21, 2019

one of the best MOOCs you can ever attend.