Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
1,097 Bewertungen
310 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

Mar 05, 2018

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 305 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Juspreet S

Oct 10, 2016

Amazing course!

von Nathaniel D

Feb 10, 2017

just awesome. maximizes discovery of concepts. each video is an aha moment. highly recommend to anyone who'd like a deeper understanding of programming. if it does not come through that i'm raving about this course, i am raving.

von SYED R A

Jun 02, 2017

Great course to learn programming concepts.

von liruidong

Mar 17, 2018

great

von Jonathan C

Aug 22, 2017

While the trend has been to spread out course content into specializations, these courses, the Programming Languages series, actually contain enough content to merit being a course. And while the lectures start out a bit repetitive, Dan Grossman justifies it by revisiting themes in the later weeks. It's a very thorough introduction to functional programming and language design.

von Yixin G

Jul 27, 2017

Very Good. I am very excited to learn the next two parts.

von Merlinhool

Sep 02, 2016

Excellent course! A great start to Programming Language Theory!

von Hector L

Aug 13, 2017

a good start for learning functional programming

von Jon B

Oct 10, 2016

Fantastic course providing not only a great introduction to Functional Programming fundamentals, but also leading on to how languages relate to one another. Highly recommended.

von Liao T

Jun 26, 2018

Great content for programming language, but too many videos seem to be overwhelming.

von Wang Y

Jul 13, 2017

I think it's the most useful and interesting course here.

von 林桢

Feb 08, 2018

very good!

von Michal Z

Jun 10, 2017

Outstanding course. Actually, it's valuable even for experienced programmers. The ideas presented in course could be used in other - mainstream languages.

von Dennis E H

Sep 05, 2017

The lectures in this course are extraordinary, especially the ones that explain motivations and how the material was chosen.

von Johnathan F

Jan 14, 2018

Courses I've taken on programming languages often focus on one language. You learn the different concepts for that one language but don't understand why the language chose those concepts and what the alternatives are. By covering three languages, this course integrates the concepts and their alternatives to give you a solid understanding of how languages work.

von Syed G F

Sep 18, 2016

like the approach and style of teaching by Dan Grossman. Awesome !

von Jiayi L

Oct 08, 2016

Great Course. Unlike other MOOC courses, it provides sufficent practices which helps me to understand the content a lot. Looking forward to take part B

von Avdyushenko A

Aug 22, 2017

One of the best course I have ever seen.

von Philip S S

Jan 03, 2017

This course is strongly recommended for those who wants to learn functional programming and programming languages in general.

von Igor B

Oct 10, 2016

This is one of the best courses that I have ever taken before! I have got a good introduction in functional programming and understood a lot of new concepts of programming languages.

von Brian W

Nov 30, 2016

Best course available on Coursera!

von 冯申翔

Jun 04, 2017

值得学习的j课程,获益匪浅

von Stan Z

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent course. I wanted to learn ML for a long time. Planning to take Part B and C

von Cheng Z

May 06, 2017

The course is very well designed, suitable for both beginners and experienced programmers. Knowing basic (core) concepts of PLs is definitely a great asset for any programmer. Based on such knowledge, we may be able to understand many other PLs, such as Python, in a more in-depth way.

von Michael W

Jul 03, 2018

Thank you so much Professor Grossman! This course made me believe in the value of MOOCs. Even though I'm a Computer Science student at a University already, the rigor in this course surprised me, and comparing it with the course webpage on UWashington's offering (also by Professor Grossman) makes me think this MOOC was not watered down from the CS major, real-life version, as promised. Huge points go to Professor Grossman again for putting this course together, and all the course contributors as well. I would gladly take any other UWashington CS major courses in MOOC form on Coursera that are of a similar depth and challenge (or greater).