Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
1,131 Bewertungen
318 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

Mar 05, 2018

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 313 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Evgeny N

May 27, 2018

Very good course.

von Deleted A

Aug 24, 2016

Great course on writing concise functions.

von Noah P

Sep 14, 2016

Excellent class, teacher, and material. Fun learning ML, thanks

von Jiayi L

Oct 08, 2016

Great Course. Unlike other MOOC courses, it provides sufficent practices which helps me to understand the content a lot. Looking forward to take part B

von Dennis E H

Sep 05, 2017

The lectures in this course are extraordinary, especially the ones that explain motivations and how the material was chosen.

von Johnathan F

Jan 14, 2018

Courses I've taken on programming languages often focus on one language. You learn the different concepts for that one language but don't understand why the language chose those concepts and what the alternatives are. By covering three languages, this course integrates the concepts and their alternatives to give you a solid understanding of how languages work.

von Brian W

Nov 30, 2016

Best course available on Coursera!

von Stanislav K

Mar 24, 2017

An excellent course! Make sure you really have enough time to take this course. There are a lot of videos, but they worth watching. I'd recommend this course to everyone involved in programming.

von Michel A S

May 17, 2018

I've worked in industry for several years, and took this course as a refresher. I've not used ML languages much before so some of the concepts are genuinely new, but overall this course really exceeds my expectation - it's a really good (re-)grounding in programming language concepts.

von Yu Z

Jul 29, 2017

This course is fantastic. Taking this course is a very rewarding experience. A great investment for sure! Thank Dan and his team!

von Yusong S

Feb 12, 2017

Learn many fundamental concepts about functional programming! Course material is challenging but rewarding.

von Anderson R

Oct 02, 2016

Awesome!

von Dante F

Jan 07, 2017

A litle fast but with a lot of many important concepts inside. Thanks Prof. Grossman

von Oscar

Aug 24, 2016

A fantastic course with a great instructor.

von Manish K

Feb 10, 2017

This course has been more rewarding than any other I've taken. The topics - recursion, functional programming, pattern-matching, currying, abstract types, the list goes on and on - are extremely valuable. In addition, Professor Grossman is a precise and thorough instructor and it's clear that he is passionate about the material. I can't recommend this course highly enough!

von Vinay K G J

Jul 24, 2017

Very clearly explains the functional programming basics.

von Jeff T

Feb 22, 2018

Course materials and videos very good. A wonderful experience for this old coder! Thank you!

von Grzegorz C

Jun 21, 2017

Brilliant course, thank you Dan Grossman et al!

von Pavel I

Sep 03, 2016

Excellent instructor and course material. One of the best Coursera classes.

von David C

Oct 26, 2016

I really learned a lot from the course, and the teacher is awesome

von Jeffrey T

Feb 16, 2017

One of the best course I have ever taken.

von John G

Feb 01, 2017

This is a really fun course. I'm glad that it was split into A-B-C because I just don't have time for B.

von Claude J B

Feb 22, 2018

One of the best, and most challenging, courses on Coursera

von Youlian S

Nov 13, 2016

I can't say enough good things about this sequence of courses. I've been a professional software developer for 5 years, and was looking to shore up some of the electives that I didn't get to take in college. I am very glad that I chose this course to flesh out my knowledge of programming languages. I learned a lot of design patterns and principles that I can now apply to my day-to-day coding, and my ability to quickly learn and parse foreign programming languages has shot through the roof.

Thanks, Dan and your team, for all of your hard work in putting this course together!

von Tejas P B

Sep 10, 2017

Exceptional experience, learnt a lot! Will recommend whole heartedly to others. I am onto part B now! Excited to see how racket contrasts with ML.