Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
1,130 Bewertungen
317 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 313 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Romuald G

Oct 15, 2016

I've completed more than 30 MOOCs. This is the one I'm most proud of!

von Ervin L

Jan 30, 2017

Fantastic course from Prof. Grossman. Would recommend to anyone interested in Computer Science.

von Eduardo C R

Nov 07, 2016

Genius. Marvelous. Astounding. I have no more words.

von Feiyu L

Apr 15, 2018

such a clear introduction to Functional Programing. My fear of 'academic functional style' is totally gone, and really like recursion now.

von Andrew W

Jul 12, 2017

Excellent course.

von 李财发

Sep 24, 2016

更好的了解程序语言

von Michal Z

Jun 10, 2017

Outstanding course. Actually, it's valuable even for experienced programmers. The ideas presented in course could be used in other - mainstream languages.

von Syed G F

Sep 18, 2016

like the approach and style of teaching by Dan Grossman. Awesome !

von Avdyushenko A

Aug 22, 2017

One of the best course I have ever seen.

von Philip S S

Jan 03, 2017

This course is strongly recommended for those who wants to learn functional programming and programming languages in general.

von Igor B

Oct 10, 2016

This is one of the best courses that I have ever taken before! I have got a good introduction in functional programming and understood a lot of new concepts of programming languages.

von Gergö L

Jun 26, 2017

Clear explanations, a good, fresh, functional view on programming for somebody with a heavy C background like me :) The homework also have a good level of challenge, and help solidify the concepts learned about in the videos.

von Sunil B

Jan 10, 2018

A good introduction to functional programming concepts. Lecture video and reading materials are clear and concise. Programming challenges are fair and helps internalise the concepts. The teaching & support staff are very helpful. Wish this team would offer a followup course on 'how to design programming languages'.

von Ahmad N R

Jul 23, 2017

Even though I have been programming for a couple of years, this is the course that happens to be the most helpful for me when it comes to thinking about programming languages. The choice of ML as the primary language has helped me a lot at getting up to speed with Haskell. I look forward to taking Part B. Excellent content... and definitely recommended!

von Randy H

Oct 06, 2016

Excellent instruction. I feel my programming ninja powers have definitely increased. Can't wait to do parts B and C.

von Gao P

Jul 26, 2017

函数式编程语言非常好的入门课程,project难度适中,老师的讲解清晰。推荐先把课程Notes看一遍,尝试敲一遍Notes中的代码,然后看课程视频,会收获颇丰。

von walker

Sep 04, 2016

I learn many important programming language concepts here

von Du L

May 12, 2018

Definitely one of the best programming courses. Challenging yet beginner friendly. Dan explains every concept with passion and care. I really appreciate Dan putting this course online. This course makes the world a better place!

von Aaron

Oct 30, 2017

Wonderful course. Highly recommend for anyone who hasn't made any study of programming languages before, whether you are a student or professional.

von Yu Z

Sep 07, 2017

Excellent!

von Guangqing Z

Feb 11, 2017

You learn the core of programming languages

von Alexei B

Feb 26, 2018

excellent, i couldn`t take it few years ago - due to my bad english, today i really enjoy it.

Many things that seemed difficult for me are not.

von 刘炎

May 03, 2017

very good!

von Guy H

Aug 12, 2017

Great course.

von Devendra

Jul 30, 2017

The instructor is uber cool!