Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
1,097 Bewertungen
310 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

Mar 05, 2018

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 306 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Jose G

Jun 01, 2017

So far I am struggling with first lesson, it is formidable.

von 顾津洋(Jim o W o a

Jun 29, 2018

非常有趣的课程,非常好的介绍了函数士编程,虽然语言不常用,但是其函数式编程思想内核,对编程能力提高大有裨益。It is a much interesting course. It give us a good, full and profound introduction to functional programming. Althought you might think that ML , the language used in the part A, is not as popular as java, python, and so on, but the core of part A- a thinking way of functional programming- absolutely benefits you a lot, and improve your coding ability.

von Raghu R

Apr 06, 2018

Great course... helps with building fundamentals of FP

von Dingze W

Jul 03, 2018

fantastic course

von Alan D

Mar 08, 2018

will be a good second programming class.

von Philip H

May 23, 2018

a great experience! i was surprised how engaging the course was!

never having heard about the language used or intended to learn it, it is true what dan had said from the beginning: it does lend itself beautifully to learn fundamental concepts of programming and it certainly gave me a deeper understanding of programming languages in general.

i can highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to become more agile, literate and confident programming in whatever language you are using.

von Eisenhower R G

Nov 29, 2017

my instructor is a great person and is a excelent teacher

von dynasty919

Feb 21, 2018

i can't believe i have learnt so much about PL. prof. Dan knows exactly what kind of concept a beginner should grasp most.

von saif

Dec 04, 2017

Exceptionally brilliant course. The instructor, Dr. Dan Grossman became one of my favorite teachers of my life. The contents are solid, illuminating at the same time challenging.

von Denis K

Mar 24, 2018

A very good introduction to functional programming. I especially liked how precisely (although not formally) lexical scoping, semantic, evaluation rules, types checking algorithm of SML were defined.

von Zijiao Y

Mar 31, 2017

Best starting class for study any programming language ever

von Nikolas V

Feb 11, 2017

This is an essential lesson to start learning programming language concepts. Dan Grossman has created a great learning path. All the videos are of high quality explaining in detail concepts that each developer should be aware of. The material given was nicely organized with a lot of examples. I cannot recommend this course more highly!

PS: The course uses SML, a functional language. If it's your first time working with that paradigm do not hesitate. SML is quite simple and it will open a new world for you!

von Juspreet S

Oct 10, 2016

Amazing course!

von SYED R A

Jun 02, 2017

Great course to learn programming concepts.

von liruidong

Mar 17, 2018

great

von Merlinhool

Sep 02, 2016

Excellent course! A great start to Programming Language Theory!

von 郑

Jan 10, 2018

very good course!

von Sean

Jan 04, 2017

Instant favourite programming course. Great instructor and material, fun assignments, mind-bendy recursion, cool concepts you didn't know you wanted to know about. Learned a lot.

von 张家培

Mar 07, 2017

有趣的课程,可以对函数式编程产生初步的认识,值的一学

von Sean E

Mar 12, 2018

Exceptionally well thought-through content taught by a highly motivating teacher. Without doubt one of the best courses I have taken on Coursera so far. Demanding and very rewarding!

von Tan S X A

Oct 17, 2017

Dan Grossman is a lovely person, and a good lecturer. His materials are good, and the homework is challenging.

von XiangFeng M

Dec 12, 2017

Learn a lot!

von Yihuan H

Jun 04, 2018

Overall an outstanding and organized course. Good for the those who want to know the fundamental knowledge of programming languages not related to a specific one.

von Troy

Jun 14, 2017

great course!

von Jiongyan Z

Jan 29, 2017

A good course for functional programming