Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
1,130 Bewertungen
317 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 313 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von blader

Mar 13, 2017

the course is fascinating

von Jingning T

Jul 04, 2018

Great content. Everything is free to access so really learnt a lot from the homework and the exam. Also the professor is really good at illustrating the concepts with simple examples.

von Ahmad N R

Jul 23, 2017

Even though I have been programming for a couple of years, this is the course that happens to be the most helpful for me when it comes to thinking about programming languages. The choice of ML as the primary language has helped me a lot at getting up to speed with Haskell. I look forward to taking Part B. Excellent content... and definitely recommended!

von Randy H

Oct 06, 2016

Excellent instruction. I feel my programming ninja powers have definitely increased. Can't wait to do parts B and C.

von Gao P

Jul 26, 2017

函数式编程语言非常好的入门课程,project难度适中,老师的讲解清晰。推荐先把课程Notes看一遍,尝试敲一遍Notes中的代码,然后看课程视频,会收获颇丰。

von walker

Sep 04, 2016

I learn many important programming language concepts here

von David S B

Aug 31, 2016

Great review of core concepts of computer science and also a handy approach of how to learn new programming languages. I recommend it to anyone which is starting to handle the multi-environment of programming languages of nowadays.

von Suvrat A

Aug 30, 2016

The best MOOC ever! :)

von 苏港

Jun 15, 2017

great course for learning fp.

von Frederick M

Jan 04, 2017

Great way to get an intro to functional programming and review recursion. Workload was very manageable while working full time -- and still challenging enough to learn a lot. Looking forward to building off what was taught by learning F# and contributing to some open source projects.

von S1nT4x

May 31, 2018

Having fun!

von Lyxn

Oct 05, 2017

make sense to me.

von ChristopherKing

Nov 10, 2017

This is absolutely a challenge course for those people who are not familiar with functional programming. Nice course material and teach.

von Serjey G I

Mar 23, 2017

Awesome course! The thing you need if you want to know the functional programming!

von Suchith J N

Sep 07, 2016

It is awesome. It really taught me to see things slightly differently, especially static vs dynamically typed programming languages. I also learned about theory behind them. It also helped me to clear some misconceptions. Implementing a mini programming language is the fun part. Go for it! I'm gonna study Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs for more stuffs like this.

von 肖守冬

May 07, 2017

great

von cys1994

Apr 08, 2018

Awesome introduction to functional programming. A wonderful supplement to my working language Scala. Would be helpful for everyone working with functional programming.

von Chinmay

Oct 12, 2016

Awesome course. Learned a lot on the way. Concepts were presented very well. Looking forward to part B and C.

von Nester P

May 06, 2017

Great course! HW

Great course! The HWs were more challenging than I expected but Dan's lectures are very clear and the concepts are explained very well.

von Saatchi B

Oct 07, 2016

Really great course! Professor Grossman's lectures are engaging and you can tell he's really excited about the material. I had no experience with functional programming or ML prior to this course, and it was very manageable after the first week and a half or so. The only downside was that I felt the discussion boards weren't really active, or mainly used by people who had a much stronger grasp of the material already. So i ended up struggling through certain parts-- but I can definitely say that helped me master the material! Thanks for a great session :)

von Muhammad S

Feb 22, 2018

Probably the best course I have ever taken about programming languages. I am hoping that wrapping my head around fundamental languages concepts will prove to be a long term investment in my career ahead. Thanks Dan and Coursera.

von Hrushikesh N

Nov 15, 2016

Perfectly good start for a person aspiring to be a programmer

von Vassilis K

Sep 16, 2017

With this course I realised that functional programming is not just a hype or a trend. I really became invested in this way of thinking. The course is great, Dan is a great instructor and even more important is that the mentors are doing an excellent job!

von cloudy9101

Oct 12, 2016

Very Good, the course is very useful.

von Stan Z

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent course. I wanted to learn ML for a long time. Planning to take Part B and C