Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
1,132 Bewertungen
318 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 313 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Suvrat A

Aug 30, 2016

The best MOOC ever! :)

von 苏港

Jun 15, 2017

great course for learning fp.

von Tian

Jun 18, 2017

great lecture for learning program

von Herb M

Nov 17, 2016

Much much better than I ever expected even though I had already seen how good the instructor's other video lessons are -- definitely worth the time to take the course and do the home work.

von Arjun V

Jan 03, 2017

Fantastic instructor and a great course!

von replper

Jan 27, 2017

A Great Course. Learned a lot from this course!

von 2329408386@qq.com

Jul 14, 2017

I like the teaching style very much

von Aleksey K

Jul 22, 2017

I like this course! it`s realy excelent thing!

von Бунта А В

Aug 23, 2017

Excellent course. Best of all I've studied here. An interesting presentation of the material, well-planned homework. Also got a great motivation :) And, I hope I became a better programmer than I was :)

I will be glad to continue my studies in Part B

von peanuts6

Jan 20, 2018

useful for me

von 黄文宇

Mar 16, 2017

great course

von Patricia E R R

May 08, 2017

I like this course

von Calvin N

Aug 31, 2017

The course has changed the way I approach and learn new programming languages. I am going to take part B and C too!

von meteor_liu

Oct 14, 2017

fantastic course!

von 徐承恩

Dec 23, 2017

G

r

e

a

t!

von Deleted A

Oct 30, 2017

Very insightful and logical presentation of ideas that I now see everywhere when I learn new languages.

von Jon B

Oct 10, 2016

Fantastic course providing not only a great introduction to Functional Programming fundamentals, but also leading on to how languages relate to one another. Highly recommended.

von Wang Y

Jul 13, 2017

I think it's the most useful and interesting course here.

von 林桢

Feb 08, 2018

very good!

von Shen C

Apr 07, 2018

I should say thanks Dan's work on this MOOC. I have learned many knowledge about functional programming

von Rybakova M

Dec 12, 2017

Amazing course! It opened my eyes for what all this things in code are really mean.

von joan g

Oct 07, 2016

excellent!

von Shiyang L

Nov 13, 2016

This course is literally amazing! I haven't finished so far, but I can't wait to give it a 5-star review. The course is well organized and it really opens my mind to think of programming language in a different way. Thanks Prof. Dan!

von GONG L

Feb 11, 2017

It is an exhilarating experience to learn Programming Languages A. Although this course seems a little vapid and unexceptional at first, it becomes more and more fascinating from Week 2 to Week 4. It is true that the assignment is challenging. On the other hand, it is quite absorbing, and my understanding of programming reached a new level after finishing each homework.

von likai

Feb 19, 2017

It is so much fun . And I learn a lot from it.