Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
1,097 Bewertungen
310 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

Mar 05, 2018

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 306 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Jesse T

Nov 26, 2017

Covers essential functional idioms, and explores ways of computation different than the usual imperative, object-oriented patterns.

von zhemuwoa

Apr 09, 2018

Amazing

von AL444L

Aug 31, 2017

I love this course and Dr.Dan is so nice

von Ashish S

Jul 21, 2017

Really great...

von Eisenhower R G

Nov 29, 2017

my instructor is a great person and is a excelent teacher

von dynasty919

Feb 21, 2018

i can't believe i have learnt so much about PL. prof. Dan knows exactly what kind of concept a beginner should grasp most.

von Chenjun S

Jun 21, 2018

Dan is a great teacher!

von Shen C

Apr 07, 2018

I should say thanks Dan's work on this MOOC. I have learned many knowledge about functional programming

von Fry

Jul 10, 2017

very nice

von Rybakova M

Dec 12, 2017

Amazing course! It opened my eyes for what all this things in code are really mean.

von Alan D

Mar 08, 2018

will be a good second programming class.

von Philip H

May 23, 2018

a great experience! i was surprised how engaging the course was!

never having heard about the language used or intended to learn it, it is true what dan had said from the beginning: it does lend itself beautifully to learn fundamental concepts of programming and it certainly gave me a deeper understanding of programming languages in general.

i can highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to become more agile, literate and confident programming in whatever language you are using.

von Gergö L

Jun 26, 2017

Clear explanations, a good, fresh, functional view on programming for somebody with a heavy C background like me :) The homework also have a good level of challenge, and help solidify the concepts learned about in the videos.

von Stanislav K

Mar 24, 2017

An excellent course! Make sure you really have enough time to take this course. There are a lot of videos, but they worth watching. I'd recommend this course to everyone involved in programming.

von Michel A S

May 17, 2018

I've worked in industry for several years, and took this course as a refresher. I've not used ML languages much before so some of the concepts are genuinely new, but overall this course really exceeds my expectation - it's a really good (re-)grounding in programming language concepts.

von Sunil B

Jan 10, 2018

A good introduction to functional programming concepts. Lecture video and reading materials are clear and concise. Programming challenges are fair and helps internalise the concepts. The teaching & support staff are very helpful. Wish this team would offer a followup course on 'how to design programming languages'.

von Yu Z

Jul 29, 2017

This course is fantastic. Taking this course is a very rewarding experience. A great investment for sure! Thank Dan and his team!

von Yusong S

Feb 12, 2017

Learn many fundamental concepts about functional programming! Course material is challenging but rewarding.

von Anderson R

Oct 02, 2016

Awesome!

von Zijiao Y

Mar 31, 2017

Best starting class for study any programming language ever

von Gustavo D M

Feb 12, 2017

Great course, I really liked the ideas presented here and think the PL election is certainly the best to learn the material. I already see the application of the material in my daily work (Scala) so it's proven very useful.

I would recommend this course to any programmer, whether is novice or expert, and particularly to those wanting to learn (or start to learn) functional programming.

von Jeff T

Feb 22, 2018

Course materials and videos very good. A wonderful experience for this old coder! Thank you!

von Grzegorz C

Jun 21, 2017

Brilliant course, thank you Dan Grossman et al!

von Vinay K G J

Jul 24, 2017

Very clearly explains the functional programming basics.

von Jeffrey T

Feb 16, 2017

One of the best course I have ever taken.