Chevron Left
Zurück zu Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century von University of Virginia

4.6
563 Bewertungen
153 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics....

Top-Bewertungen

TA

Sep 27, 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

VA

May 03, 2019

This was an excellent introduction. I wish there could have been a greater opportunity for personal engagement with faculty, but I understand the platform makes it very difficult.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 151 Bewertungen für Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

von vibhor n

Mar 01, 2017

Interesting course. Would have been more helpful if had actually taught how to break a problem in parts and then create a policy.

von Vivek A

May 03, 2019

This was an excellent introduction. I wish there could have been a greater opportunity for personal engagement with faculty, but I understand the platform makes it very difficult.

von Amita J

Nov 26, 2016

I loved the focus of this course, its future orientation and the way debates around an issue were discussed in-depth and very well in limited time. Loved It! Highly Recommend it!

von Zandro G R

Mar 26, 2019

This is the first course I have completed on Coursera. Its very engaging approach to distance education, made more accessible with its course design and approach, and the self-paced modules all contributed to my success throughout the coursework. Professor Warburg and his distinguished resource persons imparted wisdom and insights that will guide me in my further venture into public policy learning and practice.

von Namroz B

Jan 14, 2017

The course provides you with an excellent platform to learn & understand the public policy challenges. You will be able to listen the opinion of experts from political and social sphere to discuss public policy issues & challenges; how decisions are reached and consensus is developed. If you are interested in understanding the diverse set of public policy areas including, inter-alia, US Affordable Care Act, US China relationship, the role of media and government, data privacy in the information age etc. You must, therefore, allow yourself to review this course. You will also allow yourself to understand the unique perspective that Professor Gerry Warburg brings in when he engages the experts in involved yet pragmatic deliberations with regard to various issues.

von Tendai C

Nov 17, 2015

The course was refreshing in the way it made use of various public personalities to deliver lectures based on their personal and professional experiences. I highly recommend it.

von Shivangi M

Sep 15, 2015

It is very US oriented, Which is not necessarily a negative aspect, but please mention that in the course structure more clearly. Although Professor Warburg is very inspiring, the optimistic attitude towards policy leaders is what I think is needed for the younger generation who get sidelined by politics and not policy. It was quite rewarding. Thankyou.

von Kasturi R G

Apr 29, 2019

It was a great course and I enjoyed the first brush of class room session on Public Policy domain. Clearly the highlight of this course was the diverse port folio of imminent speakers who brought their knowledge, wisdom and expertise to the interactive table. I'm a middle aged professional in India, who is recently involved in professional advocacy through Private and Govt. Sectors. The content and topics covered in the course are very appropriate and encompasses geographical diversities, albeit needs to be upgraded to the current challenges as the world has progressed considerably in last 5 years quite drastically. I wish to thank the Frank Batten University and Professor Gerry Warburg for the relevant and smartly designed course.

von L'aurelei D

Sep 06, 2015

This course was interesting and informative. Would have been better if the online portions of the MOOC reflected a wide range of speakers.

von Camila A

Jan 04, 2019

This course posed some very interesting questions about the challenges ahead of us. The variety of experienced guest speakers made it very enriching, and, despite it being very U.S.-oriented, I believe powerful lessons can be learned for those of us in other countries.

von Muhammad Z I M

Jan 23, 2019

That was tremendous course i meet ever!

von Sunkung D

Feb 22, 2019

i like the approach by professor

von rachelelel

Mar 30, 2019

This is an excellent course for beginners to step into public policy and develop the knowledge on some current issues and future missions.

von Apoorva A K

Feb 09, 2019

Best Public Policy course I have come across!! Wonderful teaching and discussions. Very informative and educative. even the quiz seemed to be challenging. definitely must take for everyone wanting to pursue a career/education in public sphere anywhere around the world

von Duncan E O O

Feb 01, 2019

What a great kick off! So far so good

von Martin K M

Apr 08, 2019

The zeal to learn not only to question the assumptions of policy analysts, but also to recognize how different kinds of analysis are used in support of political arguments. The pop up questions encouraged critical and creative thinking on many issues facing the world. Much this is tailored to mostly USA with a bias of China and India, i have found that the course has put me into good stead to question one or two things back home in Uganda.

von Nandan K T

Apr 10, 2019

Wonderful design of a course. I appreciate it.

von Izuchukwu M O

Mar 13, 2019

Super amazing learnings that can be related to a wide spectrum of settings, including mine. Thanks a lot the UV for making this happen!

von Manuel O A

Nov 04, 2015

This was a wonderful course, it debates the future of the world in different aspects: social, political, economics, war, health and other big challenges the humanity will have to deal with.

von George H

Sep 07, 2016

Excellent course, which provides an in-depth analysis of various crucial topics of public policy challenges.

von Guilherme F M

Oct 21, 2015

Great course!

von José d J D L C G

Oct 29, 2015

Excelllent teacher and course. Congratulations!!

von Azis I

Aug 31, 2016

Great and interesting course!

von Atique M

Sep 18, 2017

Excellent Course

von Daniel O Y L

Feb 16, 2016

I am watching the introduction and i'm impressed at the effort the professor and his TAs put in for this MOOC course