Chevron Left
Zurück zu Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century von University of Virginia

4.6
566 Bewertungen
153 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics....

Top-Bewertungen

TA

Sep 27, 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

VA

May 03, 2019

This was an excellent introduction. I wish there could have been a greater opportunity for personal engagement with faculty, but I understand the platform makes it very difficult.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 152 Bewertungen für Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

von Racquel W

Jun 06, 2018

Very useful course to get a baseline knowledge of sustainable development and the key content areas in this field

von gaurav g

Sep 03, 2017

This course was more US centric. Expect more of content w.r.t challenges in other countries

von Ng M Q

Feb 12, 2017

This course has been enlightening and enriching for me in terms of how governance works in America. The issues raised can be applicable to many other countries in the world. However, this is not the course for you if you are looking for theoretical and analytical skills as this course is structured around sharings and exchanges with public figures about the current and future agenda of the US. (This is just my personal opinion and others may disagree me with me on certain aspects.)

von Penelope W

Jun 23, 2017

This was an excellent introduction to and discussion of public policy issues, and I enjoyed every class and guest lecturer. I came away with new insights and a broader understanding of policy issues and shifts. The class was recorded in 2014, and while it was fascinating to see how many of the speakers sensed the dramatic partisan polarization that has led to the election of the current administration, I did wish I had known that the lectures were recored 3 years ago. It would be great if remarks could be added to reflect on the current policy eruptions that have occurred since the class was recorded.

von Krishaan K

Dec 01, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed and benefitted from this course, however, I also feel there was too much of an emphasis on U.S Policy. It is understandable, but other than that, it was great!

von Vipul G

Mar 02, 2018

Could have been more exhaustive.

von Carter G

Aug 12, 2015

Great lectures. I wish there were more in-depth assignments and detailed handouts.

von Michael M

Sep 24, 2015

I thought it was a great course. It really prompted me to consider the different aspects of the political landscape and how it will look drastically different in the coming years as my generation enters into the field. I recommend this course as a good starting ground for those wanting to gain more perspective for those considering the public service route.

von Kyle H

Sep 01, 2018

Great course, but just like one of the key themes of the course shows, the rapid pace of change requires it be updated more often. Taking a course filmed in 2014 in 2018 is like a lifetime of difference.

von Seyed M H G

Oct 18, 2018

The course concentrate on american public policy. It could be wider regarding the topic "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century.

von Edvaldo E S J

Jun 14, 2019

It was very important to me having the opportunity to expand my visions about the needed changes of the Political Science area, in an international perspective. I think it would be also more incredible if we have talked in a less United States perspective and started to focus, furthermore, in some other different countries and realities. However, I'm really happy because I had the chance to listen and learn about some (new) issues of the 21st century!

von Amelia B

Sep 30, 2019

This course was a respectable introduction to basic public policy challenges facing democracies today, and the language and government structures stakeholders need to understand to tackle those challenges. However, as of 2019 much has changed in American and global politics that render some of these lessons either irrelevant or incomplete. So it is very much overdue for an update in the material.

von Remi P

Oct 03, 2019

Good recommendation for those interested in public policy and civil engagement.

von Ankur S

Mar 23, 2019

It's a good course but as the discussions are centered around the USA, it might not be that relevant to students from other countries.

von Alix B

Oct 19, 2016

There were some great lectures included in this course, but the emphasis on the content we were not receiving was a bit disheartening. I would have loved to view more of the controversial lectures that were referenced in the wrap-up.

von Sjoerd J K

Dec 21, 2015

Interesting lecture series. The lectures are largely America centered with courses on presidential war powers, the functioning of governors. In this lectures the main focus is rather politics than policy. Although very interesting, the lecture series does not really live up to its title.

von Donovon K

Jun 09, 2017

Interesting introduction to United States public policy. I wish though that it was more academically rigorous!

von Eena V

Sep 09, 2016

While U.S. politics is important for many other disciplines, this course didn't have that much depth in my opinion to really be applicable on demands of international student and point of view. Still, very interesting lectures and good talks.

von Sahana J

Aug 06, 2018

Very U.S centric. Would be good to have a global perspective

von Mustafa A

Sep 06, 2019

the subjects has a lot of good of terms and information, however, I am not form US and many things are not related to my country interest. thank you

von Roshan K

Oct 01, 2019

Its a great course but its validity in Indian context is questionable.

von Justin D

Sep 13, 2015

This class would do well to have supplemental or required readings and much more difficult quizzes. I think it would be possible to have one's wisdom teeth removed and complete this course on a binge-watching spree while on pain killers. That shouldn't be possible. Good lecturers, though.

von Nynke v D

Jan 31, 2016

Primarily focused on US politics and the US policy system. Discusses mostly the problems with the US system of governance and it therefore not really useful for international viewers.

von Heather A

Sep 15, 2015

This is the third Coursera course I have completed. I am nearing completion on two others. I had high expectations for this one but it was the only one I have been disappointed in. In comparison with other MOOCs I've participated in which have clearly been designed with online delivery and audience in mind, the format of this MOOC was not engaging. It's also baffling that they would spend nine weeks on public policy in the 21st century and only include one female speaker and not a single person of colour. The 21st century at the University of Virginia must look quite different from the 21st century where I am. There was also a lot institutional promoting of the University of Virginia / Batten School itself which I haven't experienced in other courses. While I did find some of the speakers and subject matter to be of interest, I had hoped for more from this MOOC.

von Sang Y D

Apr 02, 2016

This course is NOT free to submit test results.