Chevron Left
Zurück zu Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century von University of Virginia

4.6
stars
598 Bewertungen
161 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics....

Top-Bewertungen

TA

Sep 27, 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

VA

May 03, 2019

This was an excellent introduction. I wish there could have been a greater opportunity for personal engagement with faculty, but I understand the platform makes it very difficult.

Filtern nach:

151 - 159 von 159 Bewertungen für Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

von Donovon K

Jun 09, 2017

Interesting introduction to United States public policy. I wish though that it was more academically rigorous!

von Roshan K

Oct 01, 2019

Its a great course but its validity in Indian context is questionable.

von Sahana J

Aug 06, 2018

Very U.S centric. Would be good to have a global perspective

von Heather A

Sep 15, 2015

This is the third Coursera course I have completed. I am nearing completion on two others. I had high expectations for this one but it was the only one I have been disappointed in. In comparison with other MOOCs I've participated in which have clearly been designed with online delivery and audience in mind, the format of this MOOC was not engaging. It's also baffling that they would spend nine weeks on public policy in the 21st century and only include one female speaker and not a single person of colour. The 21st century at the University of Virginia must look quite different from the 21st century where I am. There was also a lot institutional promoting of the University of Virginia / Batten School itself which I haven't experienced in other courses. While I did find some of the speakers and subject matter to be of interest, I had hoped for more from this MOOC.

von Justin D

Sep 13, 2015

This class would do well to have supplemental or required readings and much more difficult quizzes. I think it would be possible to have one's wisdom teeth removed and complete this course on a binge-watching spree while on pain killers. That shouldn't be possible. Good lecturers, though.

von Nynke v D

Jan 31, 2016

Primarily focused on US politics and the US policy system. Discusses mostly the problems with the US system of governance and it therefore not really useful for international viewers.

von Sang Y D

Apr 02, 2016

This course is NOT free to submit test results.

von Tooba K

Sep 09, 2015

Did not like the course, complicated concepts and poor representation. ( i still really really appreciate the efforts of those who put it together with their hard work)

von Michael T

Nov 10, 2015

Very American perspective.