Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Science in Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Science in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
12,840 Bewertungen
2,959 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

AU

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

SI

Mar 16, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filtern nach:

2826 - 2850 von 2,890 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Science in Python

von Richard H

Jul 29, 2019

Truly horrible delivery of the material - even worse than Coursera's old Intro to Machine Learning course from Univ of Washington. This course will discourage nearly anyone from pursuing Data Science.

And it's not even an intro to data science. It's a course on Pandas for dataset manipulation. (In fairness, cleaning up ingest data is like 95% of the work in data science, but the course doesn't even tease the student with some exciting machine learning examples of where this is all headed.)

It's not delivered like you'd expect an intro course. It does an awful job of progressing the student through the Pandas toolset, building concepts incrementally. The whole topic of object types, methods, returned objects, and chaining gets barely a mention, but it's essential to the assignments. Examples are rapid-fire and sparse - very few techniques needed in the assignments can be found in the examples. The Week 2 quiz tests on techniques not introduced until Week 3, and the Week 3 and 4 assignments cite "individual study" which is academic-speak for "We didn't teach you about this - go Google it".

Then, there are errata that the student needs to pick out of the discussion forums to pass the assignments because some key questions are vague. The errata are 1-2 years old and they can't be bothered to correct errors.

The auto-grader could be the highlight of the course, but it provides limited feedback on wrong answers and no guidance toward the right answer; just "wrong". You're not allowed to post code or discuss answers in the forum - you have to go to StackOverflow to do that. (It'd be awesome if several of the exercises provided the student with the answer and challenged them to match it, but instead it's very sink-or-swim.)

Even when your answer is right, the auto-grader throws errors and warnings for, say, returning a numpy.float64 (which you should) when the grader is expecting a Python float type. Or it's expecting a float64 for a counter value (!!) when you provide an int64 (which is correct). These behaviors should have been fixed long ago.

It claimed to be a 15-hour course; I did it intensively and invested more than 30 hours before pulling the plug on the final project. That was claimed to be a 4-hour project, but experience with the rest of the course says it'd be more like another 12 hours - and that's for a guy who's not new to coding.

Bottom-line: I paid for educational material and I don't feel like this course delivers. What it does deliver is Pandas exercises and an "OK" auto-grader; truthfully, most of what I learned was via Google searches while trying to do the assignments - effective, but very slow and very frustrating. The real disappointment is seeing that the issues I encountered have been well-known for 2 years in the discussion forums; the course could be a lot better by now if they cared to nurture it.

Finally, a frustrating aside that's on Coursera, not the instructors... Coursera's online Jupyter notebook platform is really unstable and constantly drops connections even when you're actively editing and executing cells. (Including from 2 Fortune 100 companies - it's not the connection.) Once dropped, the notebook can't be re-connected, and has to be re-launched from the syllabus at the risk of losing your most recent edits. (But beware, if you run Jupyter offline for stability, this course also has defective input filenames that will cause grading to fail - read the discussion forums first.)

von Curtis J G

Aug 03, 2019

The videos were fast, but informative. The exercises were nothing like the videos, I had to accomplish several hours of self taught learning. If the certification did not look good on a resume or linkedin profile, I could've accomplished the same outcome with just hours of reading stack overflow, watching youtube videos, and skyping with other students in my masters cohort. Would like to see the exercises in the same realm of difficulty as the tutorials.

von HIMANSHU V

Aug 07, 2019

Not a good course even if someone has done prerequisite courses. Nothing is explained well in lecture videos but expectations are very high in assignment questions. Even if there were no lecture videos, that wouldn't have made any difference.

von Alexis E

Aug 14, 2019

A serious lack of guidance within this course. in order to be successful in the assignments, it is absolutely necessary to look by oneself from outside resources.

Better directly get a position in data analytics and learn once in the job, than actually use this course...

von Camilo E A P

Aug 28, 2019

Jupyter notebook for assignments do not work properly.

von Sibo C

Sep 01, 2019

Overall: I felt this course was useful but pretty time-consuming. The course had relatively limited taught material and relied a lot on searching & self-studying. If you have a fair amount of time it is a good choice.

Pros: You learn through doing assignments which are well supported by mentors/community. Also, you get used to studying through googling problems and learning from websites such as Stackoverflow.

Cons: Whilst this learning method definitely had its merits, it could be quite time-consuming for someone seeking to gain introductory-level skills quickly. You could find yourself in situations where you spend hours searching for something quite elementary and could easily have been taught to you, which could be frustrating. I personally think this course could be improved by adding a bit more small quizzes for beginners to play around with the basics, before requiring them to self-learn through searches.

von Bernard

Sep 07, 2019

Content wise is ok. An easy introduction. The bugs made it annoying. Especially Week 2 final exercise https://nzh13lxjj0.execute-api.us-east-1.amazonaws.com/prod/index/2/

von Sebastian

Sep 09, 2019

Topics covered are interesting as next steps when you have some basic programming skills in Python. However, the introduction and explanation of new concepts feel very rushed; a one minute video on map(), then lambda with a quick exercise without further explanation, followed by list comprehension at the same pace. I often found myself stopping the videos and googling for further explanation to understand what is really going on. If instructors feel that such concepts should be familiar to someone participating in the course, then I'd recommend not covering them at all, rather than rapidly rushing through.

von Josselin G

Sep 13, 2019

The professors are very clear and the speed if good enough so that if you have a computer science degree you won't get too bored.

But, ohhhh my good the grading is terribly frustrating. If you've left uni and spend more than a couple of months in the corporate world you will find it terribly frustrating. You had to fiddle around for hours around data format and some other potential issues.

For interesting python problem with a nice layout and helpfull solutions, discovery go to checkio.org.

von Madeleine S E

Sep 24, 2019

The topic explanations and videos are very simple compared to the level of difficulty of the assignments. Also, assignments are ambiguous, it takes a lot of time and forum visits to completely understand what is being asked.

von Samuel B

Oct 22, 2019

The material is fine. However, the reason I rate it so low is that there are no practice problem that it walks you through. It gives you assignments and expects you to go and solve. I know how to search for random questions with Stack Overflow already. I was looking for a detailed course on how to do it; not just talk about it.

von Przemek P

Oct 22, 2019

Assignements are awfuly messy written. You spend way more time on trying to figure out what the author of question had in mind than on working on your Python coding skills. The instructions are unclear and You have to dig trough the forum to understand what You have to do. What's more, even teachers that help on the forum agree, that instructions are unclear.

It's even more frustrating if You realize, that if someone from University of Michigan spent a few hours on making the instructions clearer, then thousands of students woudn't waste millions of hours inefficiently.

von Anil P

Nov 07, 2019

I really strugled with the course; especially assignment.

There is a lot of talking and little time is spend on how the code is working. I feel anyone who is already a programmer in another language might be finding it easy follow the chapters.

I was very difficult to complete the assignments - Most of the time it felt totally outside of what has been discussed till then. (Out of syllabus)

von Muru Z

Nov 01, 2019

Pretty bad experience, this course let me feel like listening a people read a book. Professor just simply go through the material with relatively high speed, the connection between each part is unorganized, the graduate student even goes through the material with higher speed. Assignment sometimes confusing and autograder add even more barriers on my path. Assistance answer question quickly in discussion form which I'm appreciating, however, can't compensate for the disappointed quality of the course.

von Carl M

Nov 14, 2019

Poorly worded questions (that are mentioned throughout the discussion board), older version of pandas and the course resources don't help you with course. Get ready to 'learn' by looking in StackOverflow or reading the volumes upon volumes of python/pandas documentation. In other words, expect to spend 15 hours a week per week (obviously it will vary)

von Ravi T

Mar 31, 2019

The instuctor is too slow and the way of teaching could be made more interactive and interesting , like CS50 of Harvard

von Satyajit G

Feb 14, 2017

Assignment 3 was absolutely ridiculous in the sense that the implementation of pandas functions depended on data cleaning in the first step for which there was no help . No response from peers or moderators on my queries. Had high hopes when I joined the course. I feel cheated now. Because of some issues with the data cleaning step, all my following answers were incorrect and I couldn't pass the course in time.

von Jason G

Aug 30, 2017

I really wanted to like this class and was looking forward to learning data science in Python but this isn't the way to do it. The instructor glosses over material without explaining it and the assignments require a large amount of research and outside learning to complete. If I have to learn how to do the assignments from Google and Stack Overflow, why am paying for this course? I've taken other classes on Coursera and am pretty good with Python and self-learning but this is pretty terrible. Overall I expected better out of University of Michigan.

von A Z

Dec 28, 2017

It's a shame the course offers no feedback if you don't pay.

von Daniel J

Dec 16, 2016

unclear and poorly thought out

von Pavel

Jan 27, 2017

Looks like it's prealpha version of what it might be.

von Brian V S

Nov 19, 2016

Very knowledgeable professors, but very little explanation or actual 'teaching'. Graded assignments require a lot of self-education.

von heszar

Nov 25, 2016

starting to like this

von Brandon P

Jun 15, 2017

The course provided minimal instruction and relied on self teaching. The easiest solutions to the assignments weren't covered during the weeks lectures, and had to be found through self teaching.

This would be a great free course. Paying for it was a waste of money as I could have learned everything I did from my own teaching.

von Gen L

Dec 16, 2017

Grader is buggy, really annoying...