Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Science in Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Science in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
12,809 Bewertungen
2,952 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

SI

Mar 16, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

AU

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 2,884 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Science in Python

von Bakhtawar U R

Feb 09, 2019

No or least support.

Course Quality is great but problems with grader will left you with wasting your expensive time.

Assignments are good but intend to go wayyy more beyond the scope and to learn from online materials though other sites.

Grading system is not easy. You have the right answer but you'll need to waist hours to produce specific string for your grader to be satisfied.

This i not an elegant learning process at all.

von Qi X

Jan 31, 2019

autograding system is terrible

von Bugra S

Jan 02, 2018

assigments are not clear

von Yuanning Z

Dec 10, 2017

this course is horrible. The lecturer go through things so fast without emphasis, let alone highlighting the rationale behind of each things. Totally confused, worst class I have ever took in Coursera

von Tarek A

May 17, 2017

The examples are a bit too extreme head on, I have experience with python but the level at which this is provided is quite hard for anyone to jump in and it should not be advertised as such

von rodania

May 08, 2017

One of the worst course I ever take in coursera. The instructor just writes codes on front of us without explanation.

von Stephen B

Apr 11, 2017

Unorganized and not very useful. The main goal of the course is for you to use Stack Overflow.....SAVE YOURSELF $

von haozhen6

Aug 27, 2017

Vedio is useless, I only need to go through the code.

von kumar

Aug 13, 2017

This course is no good.

Unable to run the assignments at my comfort. Half the time there is some issue in submitting the code in jupyter and with hard pressed timelines at work this does not take me anywhere. As a data scientist with little programming background, it is difficult to enable our journey with this course.

Sorry to say. This is a big disappointment for me.

von Kedarnath R

Aug 09, 2017

1. Very difficult to follow and I had to redo this course multiple times to understand the concepts.

2. Feels like the tutor is just reading off a screen and not explaining a topic from his standpoint.

3. The assignments and course topics are disjointed at times.

4. Examples provided are rather complex and needs to be simplified.

von George N

Mar 17, 2017

Instructor gives minimal examples and says "go look on stack overflow". Then he proceeds to assign problems that don't really cover what the slides, lectures, or examples were on. If I all I was trying to do was just read some docs and look on stack overflow I wouldn't need to take this course now would I?

Poorly translated and cryptic instructions for assembling furniture are better than what you get here.

von Angelo C

Feb 16, 2019

Lecturer just regurgitates code out loud (completely worthless). You can't get answers back without paying for the course (fine but it would have been nice to mention that up front in the audit) so you get little feedback as you might want it.

Many of the questions/code is impossible using only the python described in the course. I wanted to take this as a python refresher and it was a complete waste of time. The subject matter is perfect! But execution is abysmal.

von Sourav S

Jun 26, 2018

Horrible. Explains nothingJohns Hopkins data science is FAR superior

von Joseph G

Mar 03, 2018

Not sure whether this course is trying to reach data science or Python, but it does a poor job at both.

The class is a light-speed tour through NumPy and Pandas, definitely not for the neophyte Python developer (which I am not). There's 30-40 mins of lecture each week that's basically lightly narrated typing into a Jupyter notebook with only the slightest bit of additional explanation about what the instructor is doing, although the material covered is substantial. There's lot of important details that are glossed over -- forcing the student to pause the lecture and do offline research to understand what just happened.

Similarly, the assignments address and cover beyond the material covered, but the instruction is scarcely sufficient to understand the concepts required to complete them, so lots of Stack Overview and other research is required. And the automated grader, as expected, is completely literal so for complex problems, not much help in validating whether you're on the right track. Assignments take many multiples of the estimated time.

And because even for paying students (such as myself), you never get access to an answer key even after the assignment is due, you have no idea how closely your solution conformed to best practices, even if you arrived at the right answer. For coding, this makes all of the difference, particularly with large datasets that could consume considerable computing resources if not done correctly. I'm told this is because of potential cheating by learners.

How would I change this course? Simple: 3x more lecture material to actually explain what's going on, or down-scope the class so that the existing lecture time becomes adequate for the material.

von Justin.Sun

Nov 02, 2018

Worst class ever! The instructor sucks!

von Brendan M

Jul 10, 2018

My opinion of this course has already been stated here: https://medium.com/@masseybr/university-of-michigan-introduction-to-data-science-in-python-course-review-50eb37f5ff0d

von Stanislav B

Jan 27, 2019

A good start. However, most of the material is left for self-learning

von Jonathan P

Jan 28, 2019

Great class to get the wheels churning in data science and python. Go Blue!

von Ivan S F

Jan 28, 2019

Great course. Clear, concise, to the point. It really makes you learn and apply the concepts very well.

von Lucas N

Jan 16, 2019

A few tricky homework assignments but I really enjoyed this course! I learned many new things.

von Temuulen

Jan 14, 2019

Good. Looking forward to learn more!

von Shubham D

Jan 18, 2019

It provided me just enough knowledge to start my journey in the field of Data Science.

von Suraj P

Jan 31, 2019

It was a awesome learning experience.

von Krishna S B

Jan 30, 2019

Awesome.

von Jim L

Jan 29, 2019

For the non-programmer, this will take quite a bit longer than you would expect. Very detailed though and the forums provide a lot of help, fortunately since enough people are taking this course to make community feedback useful. A few of the instructors are helpful in discussion forums as well, although sadly not all of them are equally helpful.