Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Science in Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Science in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
Sterne
22,445 Bewertungen
5,028 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

PK

May 10, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 4,957 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Science in Python

von Zhenwei Z

Feb 09, 2019

It's a great Course, covers a lot of stuff. It seems that the content allocation between lectures and homework is not well balanced. The lectures are quite short and fast, and the homework are heavy.

It would be great if the lectures can cover more details, especially the techniques that are used in homework. Also the if the homework can provide more instructions and descriptions and maybe some self-checking hints, it would be very helpful.

von Shabeeh B S

Apr 15, 2020

Being a newbie to data science field and introduction to new libraries and logic this lab was indeed the most difficult that I have attended . To be honest I took more than the time required to complete the lab since I had to attend other classes on numpy and pandas distribution to get an baseline and now I still haven't perfected but have basic understanding but I believe I can put effort and bring out the best ! Thanks a lot Professor !

von Eunjae J

Apr 23, 2017

Much harder than I thought. Very in-depth introductory learning of python.

Preferably better if you allow scripting in .py because notebook is rather heavy and hard to

debug while assignments..

Hope you cover a bit more in detail with language structure, as well as give hints for solving assignments, since many parts were pretty above course level.

I would say the assignments were hard even for an R practitioner learning python like myself.

von Mukesh K

Nov 05, 2019

This is an excellent for those who want to learn python pandas. The course content is really good. The assignments are really helpful and they truly covers what is taught in the lectures. Had fun going through the video lectures and solving assignment. Though, in the last assignment 4, if a little bit of data description was added, it would have been good. Thanks for making the course and helping providing the content through Coursera.

von SRIHARI

Feb 05, 2017

This is very helpful course, my skills horned after undergoing through this sessions. My expertise and style of using python for data analysis changed. Articles and group discussions about P-hacking made me to realize the pitfalls, I may enter once I get addicted to proving my hypothesis correct. I got an idea, what better I can understand; when data speaks.

I am waiting for next module of this course. Please start it as possible.

von Tahlil T

May 02, 2020

Loved almost every bit about the course: the material, the learning pace, the instructor. One thing I would request is to update the python libraries in the assignment. In doing the assignments I came up with solutions which works on current library version but not for their old version. Had to explore old apis to complete those assignment which was kind of stressful especially for setting up the older python libraries locally.

von Rounak P

Aug 13, 2018

This was a nice course even though I knew most of the stuff before hand lectures still had something new in store for me. However, I found the programming assignments challenging because even though the submission checked our solution if I got it wrong it was extremely difficult to pin down the mistake and the instructions itself couldn't through a light on my short-comings.

So I learned the hard way. It was a great experience.

von Walter O

Dec 05, 2016

Overall I thought the level of the course was good. The programming assignments were complex and long enough that you had a good opportunity to re-inforce topics covered in the course. I already had a good bit of pandas experience so the course was helpful to re-inforce things I was already familiar with but hadn't been forced to try out. I think if you don't already have pandas experience the assignments might be tough.

von Natanael W G M

Jun 03, 2020

This course helps me a lot in understanding the very basics of Python programming. Although I have been using the language quite a lot, sometimes I do not know that my codes are *far* from efficient, and I know now that it was due to my lack of basics (I hopped around online forums now and then, copying codes from here and there). From this course, I am now more confident in making my own code. Still lot to learn, though!

von Ivan R

Jan 19, 2018

Immersive and challenging introduction to python/scipy libraries in just one month.

The thing I like the most:

Assignments make you think twice, they are challenging enough to make you investigate further on your own about a probable solution

What I disagree:

Time marked for each activity in course (specially programming assignmenent resolution) is non realistic, actually takes much more than 1..5 hrs to solve the assignment

von GJ

Oct 25, 2018

Challenging course. Worth the time and effort I put in. Instructor and the material is excellent.

One suggested improvement could be the guidance for assignments could be tagged better. It takes a lot of searching before one can find the right material. Both Sophie Greene and Yusuf Ertas provide excellent support. But if the guidance or tips can be made easily disoverable, it would save a lot of time.

Highly recommend.

von Paloma M

Oct 24, 2017

Very nice introduction to the pandas library, with special focus on practical exercises. It might be a bit difficult if you have little experience with python, but it is not impossible. In my case, I needed more time than expected to finish my assigments because of my lack of experience with the language. Still, the forums are usually very active and the Teaching Staff is very helpful, so I'm glad I took this course.

von Alan J

Nov 18, 2016

Really awesome course. It is a kind of do it yourself course.The assignments are tough to crack. I think a little bit of programming experience is neccessary. The lectures themselves only give the basic knowledge. The assignments make you do research on the relevant topics. The autograder is pretty bad, it gives false negatives a lot of times, but that i believe is Coursera's drawback and they are working on it.

von Beatriz I

Jun 16, 2018

This is a really good course if you are a beginner and want to learn Python. Assignments are not easy, but not impossible, and that is the best way to learn. After passing the course now I feel I need to stop and go over everything again to be able to make my code Pandorable, because right now I know it is not, it works, and I understand it, but I know it can be better. Thanks to the team for this great course!

von Varun S T

Jul 07, 2020

A great course if you really want to build your knowledge and develop skills in respect to using pandas and numpy. The assignments are challenging to an extent and will make you dig deeper to find answers and ways to apply everything you learn during the week. A good example of a course where learning comes mostly from practicing what is taught rather than just watching videos and answering quiz questions.

von Georgi S

Jun 23, 2019

Nice introduction to pandas. Lectures are short and give just a quick overview of the different sections while the main learning comes from the assignments which require more individual effort and self-learning. Material requires some basic prior knowledge of Python and/or experience in another programming language. Would definitely recommend this course to people interested in data analytics with Python.

von Sean Z

Dec 30, 2016

Excellent course for data analysis in python, although the assignments are quite challenging and time consuming for beginners. During the course, I wish I could access to the correct codes after passing minimum score so that I could compare what I did with what common practices would be. We all code in different ways to achieve the same outcome, but it would be nice to know the most efficient ways/styles.

von Nick P

Jun 18, 2017

One of the best Python/intro to data science courses online. The assignments were sufficiently challenging and realistic, and I certainly learned new skills by completing them. I also appreciated the links to the articles and podcasts that gave me new perspective on my work. Also, a big thanks to Sophie and the other moderators on the discussion board, as the existing discussions were incredibly helpful.

von Soumyadeep P

Jun 16, 2020

I did not expect that this would be so fruitful in my career.I was just exploring this portion of technology.Now I am kind of emerged in it.Thanks to University Of Michigan and the respected professors for giving me this opportunity and Coursera for giving such a platform.Sometimes it becomes hard to access the resources and knowledge like this ,but coursera made it very easy now to get access of these.

von Tanmay T M

May 31, 2019

Everything is taught from scratch, which makes this course very accessible- still requires effort, however will leave you with real problems,confidence and understanding of subjects covered.

It was very helpful and easy to learn.The quiz and programming assignments are well designed and very useful. Thank Prof. Christopher Brooks and Coursera and the ones who share their problems and ideas in the forum.

von Peter B

Jun 23, 2017

Very informative course. It's a little fast paced but you can always go back and watch the videos again. It teaches the basics of pandas with a focus on how to prepare your data before starting working on it

You certainly need to do your own research (Google, StackOverflow, pandas documentation) to complete the assignments.

The mentors on the forums are the best! Without their help I would have been lost.

von Cameron F

May 02, 2017

I appreciate this specialization's patience to begin teaching data science with such a thorough introduction to handling data in python. The lectures are concise, with 80-90% of my time time spent on the assignments. The creators of the course have a clear understanding that most of a data scientist's job is spent cleaning data, and it's incredibly important to get the practice offered by this course.

von Hari G S

Jul 30, 2019

One of the most satisfying and challenging online courses I've ever taken. It's a densely-packed, fast-paced course and the assignments can be a bit challenging. For the assignments, we are provided datasets that are similar to the ones that we are likely to encounter in the real world. This course also teaches us to refer the official documentation and where to look for when we encounter problems.

von Tucker S

May 09, 2019

This course was excellent! It is hard to believe this is an introductory course given the difficulty, but this course touched on all of the skills I was looking to improve as an amateur programmer / data scientist. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has a base knowledge in python / pandas, and I very much look forward to the other courses in the specialization. Thanks Christopher and team!!

von Luis D H Q

Jun 19, 2020

This course is perfect for understanding the basics of Data Science in real world scenarios applying python libraries such as pandas and numpy. The course assignments are interesting, but require a lot of investigation and self-learning. The instructor´s explanations are clear, and there are a lot of complementary activities. Python background is needed. Looking forward for the plotting curse. :D