Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Science in Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Science in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
stars
13,655 Bewertungen
3,094 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

AU

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

SI

Mar 16, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filtern nach:

2651 - 2675 von 3,023 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Science in Python

von Brent A

Feb 13, 2017

In my humble opinion, the Python ramp-up in week 1 is not sufficient to effectively complete weeks 2-4. This course necessitates a bit more practice in Python. The lectures are cut-and-dry, and I recommend frequently referencing them when completing the assignments. I spent about 1.5x the listed time-to-complete on most assignments. On the flip side, I gained a lot of knowledge by putting forth full effort.

von Ryan S

Mar 01, 2017

Honestly, it was a good crash course into data science in python. My 3/5 star rating comes from the fact that I think their could be more content / examples shown in the videos. The videos were a good start into the assignments, but I had to spend hours reading on the internet to really understand enough to complete the course.

I liked what I saw in the videos, just wish there was a little more substance.

von adam

Feb 17, 2017

Course lectures were good, tho at times a little too rapid. The python text appears and disappears too fast to digest, I did a lot of pausing.

The early exercises were good, but later ones were finicky. I would prefer more intermediate steps to confirm we're on the right track. In particular the last (huge) exercise was frustrating, just being told I've got it wrong with no feedback on why.

von wanqing s

Apr 05, 2018

The course material is shallow and there's a huge jump between the lectures and the assignment. I'm able to finish the course only because I learned python and pandas before. The assignment questions are sometimes too vague, and grading system doesn't show why the answer is wrong. It would thus be very helpful to have a option for showing the correct answers after one finished the course.

von Shubham K

Sep 08, 2019

This course requires a lot of self learning from students, it would have been great if there were more video lectures. I found this one a little bit difficult for me because it required a lot work by my side. The course is okay i will say. It gives a general idea of what this field is all about. I really loved the articles this course provided , they were interesting and informative.

von Gavin C

Feb 11, 2018

A decent introduction to data analysis using python, particularly introducing the pandas framework. The material can be a bit uneven and disjointed, and the assignments sometimes leave you guessing what is actually required, but overall this was a useful intro to the topic areas. If you're prepared to supplement the course material with your own research you'll get a lot out of it.

von Mary A H

Mar 22, 2019

The assignment difficulty is much, much greater than the rather basic instruction provided in the lectures. This results in a lot of google searches to figure things out. I feel I could have received an equivalent level of education on my own, by reading books and doing free exercises online. I don't feel there was sufficient value added by the course over independent study.

von Bianca Z

May 25, 2017

The course per se deserves 5 stars, however the "grader" (=the program which checks you programming) is a pain in the a**. I once submitted a float but it wanted a float 64 ... well yea ...

The Tips in the discussion forum are great - however they could be highlighted better (e.g. extra post).

I especially loved the discussion prompts. I thought them very important.

von Manuel

Oct 03, 2018

Although material and assignments provide a good way to learn Python, the estimated time is understated especially for beginners. The challenge is not only what the assignment is asking but dealing with the autograder and making sure responses are syntactically exact. It's easy to spend hours on one question so make sure to make good use of the discussion board.

von Vivek S

Mar 21, 2018

Lectures should be more in depth especially when going over the concepts in python. They should show at least couple of ways to solve problem under discussion to help drive home the discussion point. Assignment questions were not constructed properly and were very confusion at times. Having a correct answer (not the solution) would help in debugging the issue.

von Vishal D

Mar 12, 2018

Really good problem sets and discussion forums. Unlike some other courses, this one doesn't provide much in the way of useful videos. Essentially, you get problem sets and have to search pandas documentation or StackOverflow for help, or look in the discussion forums. Still very useful in learning pandas, but the "classroom" part is not worthwhile.

von Bryant C

Jan 14, 2018

It was a good introduction to Python for those who are familiar with programming basics, however, the assignments were quite ambiguous at times and did not involve much material from the actual course lectures. Nevertheless, the discussion board helped along with the TA providing helpful hints, guidelines and test code for solving the problems.

von Iustin D

Feb 24, 2019

The course content was OK. It's jut a pity that the assignments section was so frustrating to use. I needed around 10 attempts for each submission just to realize that I forgot a print() or that the file names were not exactly as in the requirements... In total, I spent half of the time allocated to assignments just to hunt for stupid errors.

von Randal P

Feb 26, 2017

The course was helpful in presenting typical problems in data science, but the lectures showed you examples in one area of pandas and the assignments asked questions in different areas of pandas. I found the assignments frustrating and spent much of my time trying to understand what they were asking rather than actually solving the problems.

von David A d W

Sep 14, 2019

The content of the course is reasonable. However, the time needed to read documentation and forums is not factored into the estimated hours needed to complete the course. Lastly, having to sign up for the whole series just to take one course is money making racket. And then you have to cancel the other courses which is very inconvenient.

von Keith M

Jan 12, 2020

Great and detailed course, but very confusing and possibly inconsistent 'beginning of recession' question in assignment 4. After much research online and note of teaching staff definition of the quarter to look for, I still got it wrong according to the autograder. But strangely got everything else right that depended on this answer?!?

von Miguel F A

Nov 22, 2016

The course is interesting, but the grading system needs to improve substantially. The grader bugs considerably, and the questions are often not well defined, which requires a lot of unnecessary trial and error to understand what exactly the question was about. Finally, complete the assignments took way long that what it is suggested.

von Jose P O P

Dec 02, 2017

It is an interesting course that shows you part of the extent of the things that you can do with the Pandas library within python. However don't expect to be able to code everything by scratch, instead expect to be able to google the answers for your coding questions and be able to adapt those to your particular coding objectives.

von Mark L

Mar 22, 2017

Good and necessary introduction to Python. But especially Assignement 3 regarding cleaning the data should be improved. It´s good to know how to clean the data but it´s confusing when Q1 is apparently correct but actually it´s not. Mabye it would be better that Q2 - Q13 based on a new dataframe which is correctly by all means.

von Alexandre G

Sep 23, 2019

The lectures do not contain enough material to prepare you for the programming assignments. Programming assignments are challenging but the problems are not clearly stated, most of your work will consist in finding answers in Stackoverflow instead of looking for the answers in lectures or programming assignment instructions.

von 象道

Oct 27, 2019

the instructor guides students to pandas, not bad. the assignments are not difficult, but are poorly designed---it's hard to get the goals of functions, and one may not get them done without searching internet. just don't know what a function is supposed to return, and there's no enough explanation on the assignments.

von Aakanksha D

Jun 16, 2017

The Assignments are very good. But the video lectures are terrible. they offer no or very little Explanation what so ever of the notebook being displayed on the screen. The TA just reads the notebook instead of diving into what the functions are doing. The subtitles overlap with what people are writing in the journal.

von Tyler N

Jan 31, 2017

This course was over all okay. My primary complaints are that I felt that the class moved too quickly and relied too heavily on students to teach themselves through the Pandas documentation. The Pandas documentation is really only so-so and it would have been nice to have more guidance through the course materials.

von Pablo B

Oct 07, 2019

Though I very much appreciate Dr. Brooks' traits when video lecturing: relaxed, informative, and often lucid-- I worry that students with little to no computer science background will struggle greatly with assignments. That is to say, there is a disparage between the videos and the expectations of the assignments.

von Ali R K

Nov 17, 2016

Contents are great and very relative. Exam is fair and reasonable. However students have to deal with an autograder for the scores and the autograder is not up to par for this course. The amount of time that you spend on learning during the course is only a fraction of time you spend to get through the autograder.