Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Science in Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Science in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
Sterne
22,540 Bewertungen
5,049 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

PK

May 10, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI

Mar 16, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filtern nach:

376 - 400 von 4,972 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Science in Python

von Jerry S

Mar 06, 2017

This course is very challenging but worthwhile. Having experiences in data analysis with python, I still feel the assignments are really hard to complete. BUT it is really worthwhile, and I improved my skills in python A LOT! The auto-graded system is AWESOME! I sincerely recommend this course and really appreciate the work of the teaching staff!

von Pawan P S

Apr 30, 2020

it was a exceptionally remarkable course for anyone who wishes to persue in the field of Data Science in Python Language. Got a headstart for myself also, and hope that it will lay the proper foundations for my career to become a sucessful one and will also grant me with knowlege in my field!

I WILL DEFINITELY COMPLETE THE WHOLE SPECIALIZATION!

von Timothy M

Mar 08, 2018

This was an outstanding course. It was a great introduction to pandas, and also some good exposure to data science. The homework via jupiter notebook was a great way to practice the new skills, and the auto grader is informative and helpful about submission mistakes. The forum is very well maintained by the staff. Thanks U-mich!

von Seattle

Jul 26, 2017

Very well constructed course. Admittedly, there is a pretty big gap between the content in the lecture and what is needed to finish the programming assignment. However, I think this is by design to help learners understand the content better and to seek solutions outside classroom. Highly recommended for anyone interested in data science.

von Ramya K

Jan 21, 2019

While this is not an easy course for beginners to python programming, I found it enormously helpful. You'll need to consult other resources to solve the assignments but that was the best part of the course. The assignments taught me much more than just the lectures. Dr. Brooks is a little too fast but you'll adapt tot he pace eventually.

von Tim W

Feb 06, 2017

Very rewarding course. As many others have mentioned, the learning curve in the assignments is steep and the time estimate of 4 hours/week is unrealistically short. It took me about three days of full-time work to finish the course. Great into to working with data structures in pandas, data cleaning and basic statistical tests in python.

von ANIRBAN P D

Feb 18, 2019

The explanation of the pandas library was a bit fast in my opinion, but apart from that, the instructor was clear in explaining the usage of the library and its application. A great course overall. I would suggest that a basic understanding of the pandas library would be useful before attempting this course although it is not necessary.

von Faizal A

Jan 25, 2018

I went into the course expecting the course would be a breeze. Boy! I was wrong. The course start easy on you in the beginning. Week 3 and i'm starting to feel the heat. Books and stackoverflow was my best friend going through this. Thanks for the great course. Teach me a lot of new tricks. Don't be fooled by the word "Introduction to".

von Juan R C C

Jun 21, 2017

It's a very interesting course. very recommended for who wants to acquire Data Science fundamentals using a powerful tool like Python. For who hasn't previous experience with Python it's required an additional time to review examples and docs in the python communities but all assignments are meaningful and the effort has a good payback.

von Ryan B

Feb 04, 2017

The duration of the course (4 weeks) was ideal. It was manageable as a part time course. The tests helped me a lot to practice and learn the concepts deeply. The forums were very helpful in clarifying the questions. The video quality was great.

Many thanks for this great course which is made available online for free for all the world.

von Jonathan B S

Jan 13, 2017

Great introduction to pandas and the basics of data cleaning and preparation. The video lectures are great and the optional readings are interesting. I had a blast working on the assignments and learned quite a bit. I would recommend this as a good starting point to anyone looking to learn how to use python for data analysis purposes!

von Frederik W

Jan 24, 2017

The course is well structured and clarity of teaching is impressive. The assignments have a good mix of easy and progressively tougher questions that build on the syllabus and challenge you to manipulate data in your own way. I can warmly recommend this course to anyone who wants to begin manipulating and analysing data using python.

von Donal O

Sep 30, 2020

Worthwhile course. Tougher than I expected and a good start for my Python learning. This course focuses on assignments which challenge your understanding with real world data.

Would definitely recommend to someone who is beginning their education in Python and Data Science, but has a general understanding of both before they begin.

von oubouzar

Dec 27, 2016

Thank you very much for this course. I really enjoyed the level of the course. In particular the fact that a decent amount of research was needed to work on the assignment.

A few issues with the programming assignment. Especially at the beginning. I am assuming this is because this is the first version that uses jupyter notebooks.

von Ardiansyah

Aug 16, 2020

The course is very useful and really brought me into the practical use of pandas. While following this course, I do my office work and research work using pandas, and it helped a lot. Knowing that I could use some pandas' feature (informed in the course) and extend the feature's knowledge by reading online forum is really excited

von Pierre C

Nov 26, 2016

I learned A LOT during this course. I was even able to apply some of this knowledge at work after week 2 (and I do not have a technical job - I do this on my own time).

It did feel a little complicated at some times. Some more detailed explanations in the assignments could help. We don't always know what the autograder expects...

von Michał S

Apr 10, 2020

I strongly recommend this course to people with zero knowledge of Data Science, but also to people with some experience that want to switch from R to Python or to freshen up their knowledge. Also I really liked the assessments, they were challenging enough to really learn something. I think they are the courses main strength.

von Lokshyn O

Nov 21, 2018

Great hands-on course on Python pandas. The assignments are from intermediate to hard and instructions are not rather clear, but everything could be solved using pandas documentation and discussions forum.

The biggest advantage of the course is that it makes one think, dig documentation and practice pandas real-world examples.

von Guanghua S

Jan 23, 2017

This is a very well organized course with a great introduction to data science. In a short time of 4 weeks, it covers Python basics, Padans library, and some very basic introduction to statistics in data science. The assignments are well desgined, and the mentors are very helpful in the forums. I highly recommend this course.

von WR

Oct 09, 2019

Excellent course with learns you the basics of python for data science. Prof. Brooks has a very clear way of explaining things. Some experience with programming in for example R or Matlab comes in handy, especially for the assignments, so I would opt for a more introductory course to Python if you don't have that experience.

von Sandra D

Jan 10, 2019

Many of the questions in the Assignments were written in a confusing manner thus requiring a LOT of time to figure out what the request was. However, the WHOLE course and the learning was absolutely outstanding. Thank you for putting this course together and the Forum information that helped to figure out the Assignments.

von Tanuj S

Sep 01, 2020

This is an excellent starting point for people broadly familiar with data analysis and programming but unfamiliar with pandas/python. The only minor complaint I would have is that sometimes the questions for assignments are a little vague. Overall, for me, this course was perfectly paced and the lectures are staggered well.

von Jose A P A

Jul 06, 2020

Excelente curso para reforzar los conocimientos en Python y poder analizar distintas bases de datos. He descubierto nuevos enfoques para el tratamiento de la data , y sobre todo, contar con distintas formas de escribir el código para ser más eficiente. El profesor que nos acompañó durante el curso es muy claro y didáctico.

von Elif A

Apr 07, 2020

This course is an overwiew of the data science tools in Python 3, very good place to start for beginners. I did not have any prior python lang experience before i started this course, but now i feel much comfortable importing, manipulating data and draw conclusions about it. Thanks for making it happen TA's and Mr. Brooks!

von Bruno Y

Feb 05, 2019

Very comprehensive introduction to Pandas. However, assignments could have been more clear and there are certain questions on the coding assignments that are problematic. For example, one question on Assignment 3 is (according to the discussion forums) subject to a bug that causes the autograder to incorrectly dock points.