Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Science in Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Science in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
11,688 Bewertungen
2,724 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

AV

Jan 01, 2017

To be an introductory course I struggled a lot, is a very practical course, and the assignements encourage you to learn more. This is the best technical course I have taken. Lo recomiendo ampliamente

AU

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 2,659 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Science in Python

von Sourav S

Jun 04, 2019

The quality of the assignments is really good but the instructions for assignments is really poor.

I had to do read through the discussions to solve almost each and every problem. The assignments are really time consuming and challenging.

Also, I had to refer to stackoverflow for countless number of times to derive the logic.

The instructor has only touched upon the material but additional videos should be included by the TAs for the assignments.

Thanks,

Sourav

von Joseph G

Jun 14, 2019

incredible course

von Joaquín I V P

Jun 12, 2019

Muy buen curso, sumamente práctico.

von Paresh D

Jun 11, 2019

Fantastic course.I have learned a lot.I really enjoyed playing with various data frames in the assignment.Discussion Forums were very useful.Special Thanx to Yusuf,who used to help me in clearing my doubts.The only thing with which I am dissatisfied is the teaching instructor.He has enough knowledge and is a genius,but his teaching style is mundane.I wish this course was taught by Dr.Chuck.I really like the way Dr.Chuck taught Python for Everybody specialization

von sudheer n D

Jun 11, 2019

Amazing course. covers a lot in span of 4 weeks. So, you need to do some work on your own. Would have been great if some of the topics were explained elaborately rather than in a brief manner.

von Joshua T C X

Jun 11, 2019

This course is NOT for the those with zero experience in programming as it assumes some familiarity with concepts like object attributes, functions etc and requires you to spend some time reading up python/pandas documentation on your own. While I think that the professor could use simpler English to communicate more complicated concepts, overall it is a good course with good assignments that cover the key concepts required in data science.

von Anubhab D

Jun 13, 2019

A great course, really !

von Alex U

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

von Syed T I

Mar 16, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

von Georg S

Feb 20, 2017

This course was fast paced but the material was interesting and not to complex. I can only recommend this course to anyone interested in Data Science and who already has a basic knowledge of Python.

von Dirisala S

Jul 03, 2019

The course is good. There is lot of stuff to learn in python.

von Nicholas F

Jun 18, 2018

I thought this was course was good, and was fairly challenging for an online-only course. I thought the lectures could have been a little longer to ensure proper coverage of materials and functions.

von Sean C

Jul 29, 2019

This course is excellent if you're looking to learn how to use Pandas inside Jupyter Notebooks. Assignments are autograded and feedback can be received immediately. Course is a few years old and discussion forums contain answers to common questions

von Ofir R

Jul 25, 2019

Frankly, I did not watch the lessons at all, although they seem good.

The assignments were really great !

Challenging and very rewarding.

Really recommend the course !

von Kelam G

Jan 17, 2019

It was informative but i felt the assignment part needed more clarification. I faced the problem that even though my solutions were right the autograder gave me lesser marks. I figured out that we must not print to the console. If that was clearly mentioned life would be easier.

von Willber d S N

Mar 21, 2019

Great Course!! You learn alot about Python for data analytics. It is very hard for someone that is beginning to programming. But there are a lot of recourses on internet that can help you. I recomend this course for all that need learning data manipulation with python.

von Randy M

Aug 12, 2018

I have taken my Pandas skills to a new level as a result of this course.

von John R

Aug 14, 2018

It took me a while, but I finally figured out the problem with this class. The lectures provide some good information, but only rarely do they go into WHY a particular action/method/approach is used or WHY it will be important later. I had to do my own deep dives into available documentation to figure out how most of the functionality covered in lectures really works. This is not necessarily a flaw in the class, but it does mean the suggested time commitment for each week of class is significantly underestimated.

The assignments, while interesting, have the same issue as the lectures. Most of the time is spent using of Google to look up Pandas and Numpy functions or methods, or if we really get stuck, to see if someone on StackOverflow already addressed any questions you might have.

Put simply, the only different between this class and learning from a book is the class sets deadlines for the students to meet in the form of graded assignments.

Of course, the setting of deadlines is an excellent way to stimulate learning, and this is why I will continue on with the Data Science specialization.

von Nattawat B

Apr 02, 2019

This course is very tough. For those who have just learned how to code python will take up to 8 hours for each assignment. The auto-grader required an exactly solution for the answer and sometimes the answer is corrected but you it give you wrong and you have no idea why it is wring just because the type of return value are different!

Apart from those things, you will learned and accomplished alot from this course.

von vinod k

Apr 06, 2019

Assignment questions were not clear. I made lot of assumptions and went through forums to get clear picture. It would be good if the question is explained in more descriptive manner

von WASEEM A

May 05, 2019

The course is good but it gets challenging in doing assignments since you have to a lot of learning at your own , video lectures cover a limited domain of weekly projects. over all this course will help you learn new stuff.

von Mark P

Jun 14, 2019

challenging but reading forums and stack overflow really helps

von Pamela T

Feb 02, 2019

This is a great overview for python, but the materials/videos/slides are very elementary compared to the sophistication of the homework. Required many more hours than the estimates.

von Tom M

Dec 29, 2018

A lot of self directed learning, bordering on excessive. Sometimes it takes some investigation to figure out why the autograder did not pass you. Overall, I felt I learned a lot, much on my own.

von Benjamin L

Jan 03, 2019

Almost every course everyone complain about assignments being hard..... but this one is EXCEPTIONALLY hard. Last question of assignment 4 is compulsory to pass the course and trust me it will bring to you trauma and pain like you have never imagined before.

Otherwise the lecturer is actually pretty good, and the other assignments are great for learning!!! I really think they overkilled it with assignment 4 though