Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Science in Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Science in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
12,499 Bewertungen
2,884 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

AV

Jan 01, 2017

To be an introductory course I struggled a lot, is a very practical course, and the assignements encourage you to learn more. This is the best technical course I have taken. Lo recomiendo ampliamente

AU

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 2,824 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Science in Python

von julee R

Oct 21, 2017

Not really an introduction course. The lectures are moving very fast, without really explaining the material. The assignments are much more complicated than the material learned during the lecture. Almost not related at all. I had to learn everything from google. Not for beginners!!! This course will take all your free time and will to live...

von Yiming L

Oct 14, 2017

course too fast, they don't explain anything, just run through example. The worst course I have taken on coursera.

von Alexander B

Oct 10, 2017

Lectures are brief, shallow and too compressed

Grader is buggy

Generally course is bad. I spent more time in Stackoverflow than here to find answers

I can read books and surf pandas docs by my own, what is the sence.

Just a waste of time

von Paul

Dec 09, 2016

Terrible course. Assignments are extremely buggy and often touches on things not even explained in the lectures. Mentors are not active. Explanations are sketchy and not well paced. Do this course only for the examples in the Jupyter notebook.

von Lulu L

Nov 22, 2016

The lectures are insufficient, the homework instructions are incorrect, the autograder is terrible.

von Vikram A

Aug 08, 2017

This course is poorly done, and I'm sorry but in no way close to an intermediate level. Even knowing a fair amount of python, I struggled with learning from this course. I find it ironic that the teacher specializes in education and mostly sits in a chair and speaks code at you. There are very few visual aids to help.

Furthermore, individual topics are not broken down well, showing you how to develop a mastery over the fundamental data objects like a data frame before moving on to the next. Code that is demonstrated is typed out unreasonably fast, and very few examples are done on how to properly access the elements in different ways. The video where the grad student/post doc spits out code 3 lines a minutes made me laugh at how ridiculous it was as if it were an explanation.

I ended up very frustrated with this course, and I'm not convinced it's all me or my inability to learn. I suggest learning data science in python from another site, I'm already finding a different class much better and more understandable. Your mileage will obviously vary.

von Jialie ( Y

Jul 09, 2017

Bad tutorial video, scattered teaching content, not corresponding homework, lack of material to review the lecture

von Christel V

Jun 30, 2017

Horrible course. The instructor is reading the course from a prompter. '95% of the time, you see the instructor reading from the prompter, and two people working in the background. When they actually show the code the instructor is talking about, it goes so fast that it's impossible to read the screen. The instructor provides no motivation or background to what he says. He just rattles off the words in a uni

von Marcos P

Nov 01, 2017

Waste of time. If you know python, you'll probably learn nothing new here. If you don't, the professor goes into WAY too high a level, and quickly, for you to actually learn anything. Moreover, he barely touches on why any of this is important, does not go over scikitlearn or numpy, both very important in data science / machine learning.

von Stephen B

Apr 11, 2017

Unorganized and not very useful. The main goal of the course is for you to use Stack Overflow.....SAVE YOURSELF $

von Sourav S

Jun 26, 2018

Horrible. Explains nothingJohns Hopkins data science is FAR superior

von Joseph G

Mar 03, 2018

Not sure whether this course is trying to reach data science or Python, but it does a poor job at both.

The class is a light-speed tour through NumPy and Pandas, definitely not for the neophyte Python developer (which I am not). There's 30-40 mins of lecture each week that's basically lightly narrated typing into a Jupyter notebook with only the slightest bit of additional explanation about what the instructor is doing, although the material covered is substantial. There's lot of important details that are glossed over -- forcing the student to pause the lecture and do offline research to understand what just happened.

Similarly, the assignments address and cover beyond the material covered, but the instruction is scarcely sufficient to understand the concepts required to complete them, so lots of Stack Overview and other research is required. And the automated grader, as expected, is completely literal so for complex problems, not much help in validating whether you're on the right track. Assignments take many multiples of the estimated time.

And because even for paying students (such as myself), you never get access to an answer key even after the assignment is due, you have no idea how closely your solution conformed to best practices, even if you arrived at the right answer. For coding, this makes all of the difference, particularly with large datasets that could consume considerable computing resources if not done correctly. I'm told this is because of potential cheating by learners.

How would I change this course? Simple: 3x more lecture material to actually explain what's going on, or down-scope the class so that the existing lecture time becomes adequate for the material.

von Angelo C

Feb 16, 2019

Lecturer just regurgitates code out loud (completely worthless). You can't get answers back without paying for the course (fine but it would have been nice to mention that up front in the audit) so you get little feedback as you might want it.

Many of the questions/code is impossible using only the python described in the course. I wanted to take this as a python refresher and it was a complete waste of time. The subject matter is perfect! But execution is abysmal.

von Brendan M

Jul 10, 2018

My opinion of this course has already been stated here: https://medium.com/@masseybr/university-of-michigan-introduction-to-data-science-in-python-course-review-50eb37f5ff0d

von Justin.Sun

Nov 02, 2018

Worst class ever! The instructor sucks!

von james c

May 01, 2019

Disconnected, too broad, could have been great.

von RAMAN R

Nov 18, 2018

Good content and learning

von Lee S

Nov 19, 2018

good

von Jakob B

Nov 19, 2018

Very valuable course for the fearless and stress-resistant. The scope and challenge level of the assignments is excellent. When you finally get the code right, you feel like you can solve any puzzle, because you can only get it right, when you completely understood why it's not giving the correct answer and you get those "Ohhh, that's what's wrong" moments all the time. So there is zero chance, that you will come out of this course having no idea what you actually learned. (Sadly a prevalent feeling at universities nowadays)

Apart from that, there is zero handholding and you MUST understand basic programming concepts. When even the course masters specifically tell you, that you will have to "google around" for that one vital code snippet, they mean it. This irritated me at first, because I expected a course on something to be self-contained (except the pre-conditional knowledge of stats and programming). But after completing it, I realized, that a big part of the professional programmer's workflow indeed does consist of googling for an answer on stackoverflow, since one and the same problem can be solved using a myriad of ways.

Big props to the creators of the assignments. Those were fire!

Best regards from Germany.

von Davis V

Nov 18, 2018

Amazing first course on Pandas. I can confidently say i feel more confident with Pandas, and basic Python for data science programming after taking this first course.

von Ranjeet k

Nov 18, 2018

Excellent Course for Python Beginners

von Jędrzej

Nov 18, 2018

Great course, challenging - but not too hard.

Good introduction to Data Science. Basic knowledge of Python is needed.

von Jeremy H

Dec 02, 2018

it's a good one

von Binon T

Dec 03, 2018

Super Happy to learn new things

von Varga I K

Dec 03, 2018

It was absolutely awesome and challenging.

I liked the in-video questions as well as the assignments, because they give a good foundation of knowledge, but encourage self-research.