Chevron Left
Zurück zu Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python von University of Michigan

4.6
4,701 Bewertungen
650 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Informative course
(132 Bewertungen)
Relevant project
(132 Bewertungen)

Top-Bewertungen

JC

May 26, 2017

I found this course a little bit easier that some of the previous courses, however, it allowed me to gain experience managing a larger projects that encompass several languages and multiple programs.

NS

Apr 10, 2016

Python for everyone is One of the Best Course on MOOC platform .\n\nDr. Chuck made it interesting and Knowledgeable. Way back 3 Months ,I can't even thing of the stuff that I leaned and implemented .

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 627 Bewertungen für Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

von Morgan S

Apr 06, 2016

If this entire specialization were a bag of potato chips, the Capstone would be that bland chip that didn't get any salt.

The introduction to the Capstone promises that we'll "build applications" utilizing what we've learned so far with optional assignments for delving deeper. However, none of the required assignments involve even the most primitive of problem solving skills or code writing abilities. If you can download a file and take a screenshot then you've got what it takes to pass this class.

The optional assignments are far too focused around a new piece of video sharing technology that the instructor and associates have developed. Unfortunately, the technology adds almost nothing beneficial to the class and is probably to blame for the sheer lack of quality in the rest of the class.

In fact, the entire Capstone feels like it was so haphazardly put together that it can only be described as the most contrived beta-test I've ever been a part of. Such a disappointing ending to what was otherwise an enjoyable specialization.

von ali s

Aug 04, 2018

This should not be called a capstone. It is way too complicated to understand which is why the assignments have been kept to simplistic (this is reasonable). A bunch of small programs testing smooth amalgamation and application of the learnt concepts would have been more fruitful.

von Ayush B

Feb 14, 2019

peer grading for mentors very slow.

von Hanyani A M

Nov 15, 2018

Didn't learn as much as the previous chapters. Markers are slow to mark, my subscription actually expired before they marked, not

von Jeffrey B

May 29, 2016

I thought this was poor. It was basically a re-hash of the previous module with slightly different tasks. Given that I had to wait three months for the capstone to be ready, I found it a bit rich that my deadline to finish it was a couple of weeks! Don't waste your money/time on this particular module.

von Christopher H

Mar 15, 2019

Great to see how Python can be used for data visualization; however, in my opinion, most of the code is way above the heads of students at this level.

von Alex S

Jul 20, 2018

No code writing required to complete the course.

von Brendan C

May 02, 2019

Very poor quality course, both from a content perspective as well as from an implementation perspective.

This final class in the specialization is not a programming course. You are instructed to run someone else's code and screenshot the various stages of running these scripts. You don't modify their code and it really takes a step back from the previous courses in this specialization as the instructions and the course staff's direction are significantly misaligned.

I was evaluating this course for use in my organization, but cannot suggest taking the capstone as it provides no value and is simply a waste of time.

My suggestion to improve the course would be to align the staff direction with the instruction given in the course. Additionally if you read through the forums you can see them get frustrated like they are volunteer staff working for free in a hostile environment.

von PRANSHU P

Mar 19, 2019

I have completed the whole specialization successfully and Coursera and FFE and ofcourse, my guide, Dr. Chuck have been a constant source of motivation. I am really really thankful for this whole support of yours.

von Amit K

Oct 24, 2018

This course helped me a lot in understanding the web and the data retrieval from it.

von Abrar W

Jun 03, 2019

Beautiful Course. Worth your time . Dr. Chuck is amazing

von Diego N F

Jun 22, 2019

It's an excellent course!! Im glad to do it. Thaks to everyone who made it possible.

von Zhisheng Y

May 06, 2019

For some reason, I lost my motivation so I don't think I'm going complete the capstone. But it is a good course, and the instructor is good too. It might take you some time if you try to comprehend every line of codes. I don't think I would recommend you to enroll this one if you just want to skate through and get the certificate like me. If you are passionate about data science, please enroll. Cheers.

Update: I think I may want to finish the capstone. Good luck to everyone.

Update: I completed.

von Allen B V

May 31, 2019

one of the best python courses

von Nguyen N T A

Aug 30, 2019

It's a good course to summarize all topics learnt in the specialization.

Since the course relies on quite a bit of peer-graded as well as instructor-graded assignments, you need to leave ample time (up to a week while course is running) for grading completion. Some instructors may be unfriendly when asked to expedite. Do not attempt this course if you have some sort of deadline and are short on time.

Nevertheless, considering the quality of teaching materials, lectures and assignments, the course is very well-designed.

von Anthony S

Aug 03, 2018

This Capstone was okay....I went through it, I think it wasn't as thorough as the other classes.

von Spencer H

Jul 10, 2018

Honestly not a very good course. The first 3 courses in this specialization were great. We were really challenged to write our own logic and learned a lot of python. The last two courses, however, were disappointing. We essentially just ran pre-written code to "see how a complex app works." It would have been much more useful to have us write our own code.

von Ponrajadurai S

Feb 11, 2019

My expectation was I will do the coding (get my hands dirty) based on the suggestion or ideas from the instructor. I didn't expect to run the code that was written by the instructor and share the screenshots. It would had been good, if the course involved in working on a project.

Week 3, week 5 and week 7 of this course should be made compulsory - my opinion

von Grace

Feb 07, 2019

Bad experience with grades not get in on time. Have to had back and forth btw the instructor and support.

von Milap S

Dec 13, 2018

Not much to learn from project perspective. This course definitely needs improvement.

von daniel m

Aug 22, 2018

I enjoyed the specialization a lot, overall! Absolutely fantastic teaching by Dr. Chuck, I learned so much. Unfortunately, the capstone didn't have the right structure for me. The required assignments didn't really teach anything new, it was just run this code and take screenshots. The " can anyone review my assignment" forum spam was just sad, and I think a better solution must be found for the course conclusion. The optional data visualization assignment is great, but I don't feel I had the tools necessary to complete it yet. I do plan to come back to it after I learn a bit more.

von Dmitry E

May 09, 2019

It's not such interesting as previous courses. Mostly it contains some practical solutions which you have to execute (with some small changes).

Peer review assignment are very frustrating. Teacher assistant grades are very strange (i.e. bad screenshot, bad browser, etc. and you can't update them to improve your score).

I have to wait a week to have my assignments reviewed (not 1-2 days) - be sure to submit them more then week before month end or you will be charged for the next month due to subscription!

von Stuart O Y M

Feb 18, 2019

Instructions for assignments not clear. TA not helpful with providing clarity on completing the assignments.

von Marc A G

Oct 09, 2018

Should focus on data types and usage while allowing students do actual homework.

von Paras K

Jun 27, 2019

Need harder assignments which involve editing code and get the user thinking more about what is going on in the videos.This course is basically running premade code and taking screenshots. The optional element is a bit confusing as there is no focus given. I still haven't decided what data to use and what analysis to perform. All in all, Capstone is a waste of time, do first 4.