Chevron Left
Zurück zu Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python von University of Michigan

4.6
Sterne
6,757 Bewertungen
891 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Informative course
(132 Bewertungen)
Relevant project
(132 Bewertungen)

Top-Bewertungen

BC

Apr 29, 2020

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

NS

Apr 10, 2016

Python for everyone is One of the Best Course on MOOC platform .\n\nDr. Chuck made it interesting and Knowledgeable. Way back 3 Months ,I can't even thing of the stuff that I leaned and implemented .

Filtern nach:

626 - 650 von 874 Bewertungen für Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

von Nicolas P

May 04, 2020

I wanted to mention that this last course in the specialization, despite being as great as the other four, has a huge number of typos. I took screenshots of some of them which I can share at nicolas.posunko@gmail.com. I'll try to list those I noticed since I can't paste the screenshots here:

— Week 7 > Visualizing new Data Sources - Introduction: This week you will discuss the analysis of your data *to the class*.

— Final test: Which of the following lines will never print out regardless *fo* the value of "x"?

— Final test: To *insure* that all Python reserved words are properly spelled.

— Week 4 > Loading and Modeling Mail Data: *This assignment you will start* the spidering of …

— Week 4 > Mailing List Data - Part I: … and it *make* take a few days to get graded.

— Week 5 > README: Analyzing an EMAIL Archive from gmane and *vizualizing* the data …

— Week 6 > Visualizing Email Data: … we must *be* remember that not all …

— Week 6 > Visualizing Email Data: This is also a good time *to remember to remind* those with slow …

von AMIT G

Jun 16, 2017

The capstone project should be more involving in terms of coding in python. Mostly I do is to run the same files in the same order to parse the same information which Dr. Chuck has already extracted in the videos and doing all the steps same. It is lagging the novelty from the student part. There should a section where we got to write some part of the code to perform certain steps, may be code correction, may be changing some steps to bring out a different output. Although the teaching style of Dr. Chuck is commendable and so is the course material.

von Yaroslav K

May 08, 2020

Sorry to say, but this should be the best part of the specialization, but a lot of things are really covered very fast. I didn't like the scheme where you could earn your certificate from the first week just by answering the questions from the previous parts. A lot of people have this certificate as a motivation to make something extra and move forward. Of course, there is a lot of useful materials on this course, but as I said earlier the level of their coverage is not a level of Dr. Chuck.

von Marinus C H

Sep 09, 2017

If you have done the exercise from the book in Chapter 16 you pretty much have done the capstone, apart from the additional optional ones. It would have been better if this would have been new exercises as this really would create some focus on all the previous materials. Still I feel it is worth doing as this is the final piece in the Python for Everybody course. Overall it has been a fun and great experience, so thank you Dr Chuck!

von Sungyun K

Oct 24, 2019

Course materials were ok for me, just giving a working program and executing. But grading needs to be improved. I think all automatic grading or all peer grading are better. It looked like that there are too many students compared to the grader and the grader could not grade on time. Maybe the grader should grade only seriously flawed ones reported by peers. I had to pay another 49$ due to the late grading.

von Martynas Š

Jan 08, 2018

While the information provided in the course is great, I think it lacks exercises from the student side. It is hard to truly understand the material (and understand what you do not understand) until you actually have to solve the problem yourself (in this case, write the code).

Also, Charles Severance is a great teacher. I hope that he will introduce more advanced courses about programming into the coursera.

von Molly S

Mar 27, 2018

I LOVED the content of this class, this is absolutely what I enjoy about Python and what I want to use it for. I wish, however, that there was more actual coding to do, instead of just running pre-written programs. The assignments were fairly fast and easy to gloss over - I think a bit more hands on and required assignments would help give a better working knowledge of the content.

von Luis W D M

Oct 29, 2019

This course is for everyone put into practice what it has been learned during the four previous courses in the Specialization. It is really necessary to have a background on python in order to acomplish it, even though the tasks are not really complicated. However, previous knowledge is necessary for understanding what is taught.

Thanks to all the staff for the support.

von Tam H

Feb 23, 2017

I still think that there is a lot to learn. the fact that I have limited time to complete the tasks made me hurry and not dig deeper into things I would like to.

If I could use the forum and ask questions after the course ended it would be better.

generally the course is very good for beginners. The instructor is very good and encouraged me to continue learning.

von Stephanie M

Aug 24, 2017

Good for beginners to get a feel of how data retrieval, processing, and visualization can be accomplished with Python. Difficult for beginners to really do data analysis on their own. Advanced courses with more coding assignments (where you have to write the code, not just execute it) would be more helpful in actually turning understanding into usable skills.

von Ramacandra W

Jul 15, 2018

Not up to the excellent level of the previous four modules of this Specialization. While the hands-on practice of this course are very interesting, the speed and depth at which the code is explained are not satisfactory. Too much is just to be taken 'as is'. Good as an appetizer for other Specializations, definitely not adding much knowledge in itself.

von kun

Jul 27, 2019

I somehow feel a little bit disappointed on this course. I gave 4 star only because the instructor is awesome and I like Dr. Chuck and his previous courses. The course is more like a code review, and the assignment is not well designed - you just push the button and run the code. It is not that helpful to develop your coding skills.

von Matt B

Dec 06, 2017

I would have given 5 stars, but I finished the course a few hours before my 7-day free trial for the specialization ran out and I wound up having to pay $49 for the next month for a specialization that I am now done with, simply because I was sitting around waiting on peer review for my two gmane assignments.

von Josep R

Mar 22, 2018

It was interesting, but away from my expertise and interest. It provides valuable insights on the capabilites of python on retrieving data from the internet, organizing it in a database and visualizing in java. It provides clears insights on the potential of python and all the available libraries.

von Bjorn C

Jul 31, 2017

My only recommendation would be for there to be a little send-off message. Even just a two-minute video of Dr. Chuck sending us off into our pursuits on the 'net would be a nice final touch to the specialization. Similar to the "graduation" video that ended Class 3 (I think it was class 3?)

von Rahul U

Dec 09, 2016

This is an excellent introductory course to computer programming. It gives you all the opportunities to learn at your own pace.

It is not too difficult to clear the capstone itself, but the course gives you the opportunity to chose your own project which makes it all the more interesting.

von Yiannis A

Apr 05, 2018

A very intuitive brief capstone, for understanding how to set up a data mining structure. It helps the student to determine how to implement on a practical level all the previous courses. In overall, it consists the ideal way to wrap up all the previews knowledge from the specialization.

von Jason G

Aug 29, 2017

Good course and great for its intended purpose but I wish the required assignments were more in-depth than running the instructor's code and taking screenshots. I'm moving on the the Python Data Analysis course where I hope to get into more advanced data visualization.

von Tymoteusz T

Apr 10, 2018

Very good as usual, yet too easy in my opinion. Additional tasks of type "find how to get different output or modify part of the program" would make it much better.

Anyway THANK YOU DR CHUCK! :D i know MUCH MUCH more about programming after the whole specialisation.

von Jaya P

May 20, 2016

Coursework was quite easy. Used a lot of the techniques learned in the other courses. You'll get the most out of this course if you have a data analysis project that you want to do. For us this wasn't required. But doing my own project was the most fun part :)

von Lee S

Jun 07, 2018

A good course, though not as involved as the past 4. Perhaps the tasks should be modified to make it harder than just running pre-written code in a specific order. I don't like the peer-grading, it's a shame the auto-grader or a file verifier cannot be used

von Damian C

Dec 06, 2019

Great this is a real live example. I am glad I took this specialization as my first committed online experience. I want to change my career at this point of my life. This is a big step for me and my family. I hope this course will help me to reach my goal.

von Ahmad H Y A

Dec 05, 2016

This course is made so that you create something on your own if you just want to pass the assignments then the course won't be a challenge but if the projects are interesting to you and you want to do something creative then you have the right course .

von BOYU K

Jan 05, 2019

Python is a really powerful tool for future programming, during this course, it briefly introduce data mining system, which provide the essential flavor for us. I think it's a quite nice python course as a basic level for Python engineer.

von Dirk A

Jul 17, 2017

I was hoping for a climax in building my own set of scripts that would cover the whole specialization. That is a possibillity, but not required. I will try so anyway.

Despite of that I have learned a lot from this capstone project.