Chevron Left
Zurück zu Using Databases with Python

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Using Databases with Python von University of Michigan

4.8
Sterne
20,498 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material

(143 Bewertungen)

Top rated instructor

(176 Bewertungen)

Top-Bewertungen

MM

12. März 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JG

16. Juni 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 3,070 Bewertungen für Using Databases with Python

von Yash J

4. Mai 2020

Nice course...!!

I really loved the course structure designed and the coding standards/approaches used.Teaching style of the Instructor is really Nice.

I just want to suggest that week 5 videos are not up to mark and should be updated as per new Google API and the Instructor must explain how we can add our own desired location from Google maps and See it on the Map of where.html File used in the Assignment because I spent too much time in Week 5 assignment but still was not able to understand the code.

I think Some more explanation can be included on Normalization as how we can create relational tables more precisely as it was used in code example and also on how to use Primary and Foreign key in Databases table with Working example and demonstration.

von Adam M

14. Nov. 2019

TA was EXTREMELY rude when asked a question about command line vs IDE. Refused to back down on the point, even though it was pointed out that the class allowed for it as per a reading in an earlier course in the specialization. This treatment was inappropriate and frankly disrespectful, and it soured the entire course experience.

von Patrik K

19. Jan. 2021

I'd give this course 5 stars but explanations were quite vague, I'd like to learn more how to code than just from pre-written codes. But in general, Dr Chuck is a great teacher and I like his teaching skills and there are many things what can be improved. Also more exercises would be useful, especially from 3rd and 4th course.

von Sunshine a W

24. Juni 2022

I've completed the first four courses in this Specialization and I've decided against doing the Capstone. Most of the "most helpful" reviews confirmed what I feared by following this 4th module to the end.

I was really wary, having finished the third module pretty quickly, that the concepts in the lectures were simply become too broad and more about conceptual stuff and less about Python and learning to code. By the end of the Third module, you're basically just cutting and pasting pre-written code and making small tweaks to it. Not very helpful.

The fourth module "Using Databases" starts out with a GREAT lecture about classes and Object-Oriented Programming, which IMO should have been the focus of the whole module. The lecture left me with the feeling that there was so much more to learn about OOP and got me excited to start doing coding again.

However, it quickly segues into SQL and databases, which, OK, the SQL was interesting but the assignments once again started to be mostly cutting and pasting pre-written code. The first lecture on SQL was great, but I'm in the module to learn Python, not SQL. So you learn how to write SQL statements but the assignments are pre-written python programs where you tweak the SQL a bit... didn't really feel like I was learning anything new. I would have much rather done the SQL, then do a whole week on the conn.cursor and cur.execute stuff, learning how to actually write the python code. But there was a LOT of handwaving about this stuff.

The last assignment is literally running prewritten code and taking a screenshot of the result. Not even tweaking it! I mean-- how is that useful at all???

All in all I am glad I took the first four courses of the Specialization. It gave me a great overview of Python, and showed me I have a little knack for it and want to pursue it further. But I was very disappointed in how the course wrapped up. And hearing the Capstone was more of the same stuff I was worried about, I'm bowing out of it.

Anyway Dr. Chuck is great as a lecturer. I just wish the back half of the Specialization had been a little more focused.

von Matthew B

25. Apr. 2016

The course was informative and some of the material regarding databases will be useful towards my current job. However, I felt that in classes 3 and 4, Python was really an after thought. I believe I could have completed this course without ever taking the first two classes because the assignments only required slight modifications to existing code. I was more analyzing patterns rather then truly understanding the code. I would rather see the course continue to expand upon basic programing knowledge so that I can write the code by myself instead of seeking examples to cut/paste all the time.

von Trevor H

31. Dez. 2015

This course is not challenging at all.

von Katrin K

31. März 2016

Very basic, rather simple

von Matthew B

2. März 2016

No teaching. Just a guy talking. Do the problem sets for practice. If you need help, pause the videos and try the code out yourself.

Seriously though, a programming course where the teacher is not actively type out the code but just scribbling around it. He doesn't work through code but talks around the concepts.

von YACHA V R

24. Juni 2020

I didn't copy anything but if they think that I have copied then they should reset my assignment again and give me one chance so that I could update my work.

Waiting for the assignment to be reset.

von Tabish A

19. Aug. 2020

My Assignment 5 got stuck, and I am unable to change my answer again. I was doing this course for a week, And now I am unable to get my certificate

von Eslam A

9. Mai 2021

I wrongly submitted the wrong files and they sent me a plagiarism note without even understanding or discussing the case with me.

von Laurent M

7. Apr. 2019

excercices were not challenging, just few lines to add or adapt, should be a bit more difficult

von Karl K

4. März 2016

Verbose, wandering. Instructor takes too long to do too little. No value add over a textbook.

von Boris B

5. März 2019

The home tasks do not teach you anything

von Emma A

10. Jan. 2022

No help in terms of Technical Support

von Hui C H J

31. März 2021

I have enjoyed this course as much as the other 3 courses before it. I had fun learning how useful Python can be in gathering data into a database then analyzing it with SQLite. The examples provided during the lectures showed me how versatile Python can be. I'm looking forward to the last course for this Python specialization.

I would recommend this 4th course in the Python specialization if you finished the other 3 courses and still enjoy it so far. Dr. Chuck continues to do a great job explaining the material so I didn't feel overwhelmed. Learning python has been a very enjoyable process.

von Mario C

30. Mai 2021

The course does a great job at introducing relatively complex concepts in a simplified yet accurate manner. It is exactly what one would expect from a "beginners" course that's meant to be "for everyone".

However, one should also note that the topics of visualizations and using databases are very broad. In this context, this course serves as a great first introductory step into the world of databases. You would definitely need to take additional courses later on to gain a more in-depth understanding of such topics.

von Cristóbal H J

22. Mai 2021

Great course, I learned a whole deal about Databases and how and why we would store some data in the disk. I learned how to use the sqlite browser to access my data and also run SQL code in it, as well as to do it using a Python program. I liked how everything came together at the end, on using Python to retrieve some data from an API, save it to a DB, then use Python again to retrieve said data, work on it and generate a JS file that is later used in the HTML to visualize the data. Full circle, thanks Dr. Chuck!

von Anjali w d

1. Aug. 2021

This is really good course. Each and every concept was explained really nicely. I have never learned concepts related to databases and data manipulation before taking this course. I completed the course successfully without any problem due well organized structure and the way of representing the course. Thank you very much Dr. Chuck for guiding me throughout the course. And also, Thank you very much for creating such a valuable course!

von Priya S

5. Apr. 2022

This Course is very easy and it's fun to do all the stuff using databases. Having no prior knowledge of Databases, I completed this course with ease. The lectures are pretty good and Dr. Chuck explains every concept in layman's terms. Overall, it is the best course in this specialization, as it is fun to create and visualize the data! I would highly recommend this course to everyone! Definitely go for it!! All the best! 👍🏻

von 祝晚秋

6. Sep. 2016

It's my honor to complete this course and its followings. Thank you,Professor Severance, for your detailed explanation and hilarious touch. And above all, thank you, Coursera, for providing such a great chance for all the students around the world, including me, a college student from China,which the access to the top courses of top universities.

von xushengqi

11. Juli 2022

S​uch a great course, i really enjoy every single course within the specification. If you wanna get a python skills for both educational purpose and future career usge purpose, u definately gotta try this one. Nice course, nice professor, thanks Dr.Chuck for your teaching, and its such an honour to be one of your virtual online course students.

von Harald M

11. Jan. 2021

The course is excellent in delivering good teaching to enable the student to quickly and effectively grasp all the concepts and become proficient in their application in short time. Highly effective in becoming competent in using Python quickly and also provides applicable knowledge on how to use SQL. The essential commands are getting covered.

von Michael G

22. Aug. 2020

I took this course after having taken courses 1 and 2 of this specialization.

I enjoyed seeing in the end how Python integrates with SQL and JSON and JavaScript.

We had already made code which we just had to run at the end and provide screenshots. Maybe a sixth week with a little bit more challenge involving actual coding would have been useful.

von Artem M

25. Juli 2019

The course learns how to do really big stuff (SQL databases) with Python and in relatively simple way.

What I really love about this course and the entire specialisation is that taking Python courses, in addition, you learn basics of 3 other programming languages along with Python! (XML, JSON, SQL)

Thank you a lot, Dr. Chuck and the course team!