Chevron Left
Zurück zu Python for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.3
660 Bewertungen
104 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This class provides an introduction to the Python programming language and the iPython notebook. This is the third course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top-Bewertungen

KR

Jul 17, 2018

A very good course for its length and the amount of time it requires. It improved my python skills and knowledge of Genomics. I'm more engaged in my pursuits than before taking the course.

JD

Oct 07, 2017

Easy to understand and very powerful examples. Not just it made me familiar with python, it also made it easy for me to teach to my students and inspire them to pursue python further.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 104 Reviews for Python for Genomic Data Science

von Brandon W

Jul 23, 2018

This course started out very good but spiraled out of control quickly. There was no detail in the later materials (Weeks 3 and 4) in uses/applications which made it virtually impossible to finish the course without spending an incredible amount of time outside of the class attempting to learn material. The early quizzes were not bioinformatics focused and required a fairly sophisticated level of machine learning to answer some of the questions. In regards to the later material, there should be much more detail. For example on learning how to create dictionaries. That was AWESOME! But nothing beyond how to create them and how to use them. This is NOT a beginner course. Also, the female instructor was awful, she read from a que so much that it was easier to just download the PDF and read it myself.

von Stephanie T E

Jan 06, 2019

A really good class for a complete beginner. The first three weeks was great for anyone that has is a beginner in Python. Although the last week took giant steps and was a little bit unclear, especially with the introduction to Biopython. If you are new with Python, this it is a great course, but be aware of the last week being very difficult! I also hope that there can be another course that could go more in depth and explore the functions of Biopython. But besides the difficulty of the last week, this course was really great.

von Sachin K

Jul 20, 2019

This course is really a great help for students like me, but it has many small problem which are. The lectures and the questions asked in quiz are very much like two shore of river did not have practically sounds. the lecture are much more focused towards genomics but really problem of data and how to handle that data need to incorporate in the course.

von Diti D

Jul 19, 2019

Compared to the lectures, the final exam was very difficult. It would be great if the professors provide more practical examples in the lectures similar to exam questions.

von Robert D

Jun 18, 2019

Class videos provide good information for a beginning programmer, but quizzes are certainly beyond beginner level and cover material not covered in lectures. Potential for a great set of courses, but needs work.

von Inderpal S

Jun 18, 2019

very good introductory course for beginners, gives confidence to the biologists to better understand the script

von samarth K

Jun 15, 2019

A fantastic course for the beginners. More of biopython modules training will be appreciated.

Thanks

von Yuqi Z

May 11, 2019

A great introduction course about essential python programming skills for bioinformatics works. As someone who has experience with other programming language but is experiencing python for the first time, I found that the difficulty of the course is at just the right level. I hope that there can be more stuff about biopython.

von Hamza I

Apr 14, 2019

It helped me connecting between biology and python but i had to learn the basics of python programming from other beginner tutorials.

von Animesh U

Mar 25, 2019

This was an in-depth course about python. Being a doctor, it was tough grasping all the content. And considering the short amount of time I have, this course taught me a lot; however I needed lot of external help to finish it thoroughly. Thank you so much for this one, it will really help me in my future endeavors.

von Rafal W

Mar 22, 2019

Great Python refreshment course!

von Giovani B F

Mar 11, 2019

An excellent introductory course for Python!

von Lila M R P

Feb 08, 2019

Great course focused on python for genomic studies!!!!

von Nitin S

Jan 04, 2019

excellent course for the beginners in python

von Olga D

Dec 01, 2018

Great introduction to Python! The final exam was quite a challenge...

von MINQING I Y

Nov 30, 2018

In general the course is good. I can do some programing at the end of the course. Something I think can improve is the question in the quiz and final exam, particularly quiz 3 and the final exam. I spent quite some time to understand the definition of ORF in the exam question, e.g can I have multiple start codon before reaching a stop codon.

von Valery M

Nov 25, 2018

I took this course without a background in biology or genetics. The material sounds interesting but the lecturers rush through it so fast. They do not provide sufficient explanation of the biology to allow completion of the programming assignment. They ask to write a code for finding ORFs yet they don't even explain how ORFs are defined in case of multiple start codons and end codons.

von Andrey K

Nov 01, 2018

Thanks a lot. This course is very helpful for Python beginners.

von Geoffrey K

Oct 13, 2018

I learned a lot from this course, being new to coding. The content is tweaked towards bioinformatic problems and requires a good grasp of the topic to pass.

von Swati

Sep 27, 2018

Very well explained concepts and easy to follow.

von Leo U

Sep 11, 2018

Incomprehensible.

von Ziliang L

Aug 02, 2018

This is a very good course. I do learn some useful stuffs for biological analysis. But I want more from the Biopython section, that's the reason I register this course. It would be nice if they can provide the test data and expected result for us to test our code.

von Bryan G

Jul 21, 2018

It's a decent course, but do not expect them to explain much on how to code in Python. It would've been much more helpful had I taken an intro course on Python first.

von Keith R

Jul 17, 2018

A very good course for its length and the amount of time it requires. It improved my python skills and knowledge of Genomics. I'm more engaged in my pursuits than before taking the course.

von Albert C G

Jun 28, 2018

Well Done