Chevron Left
Zurück zu Python for Genomic Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Python for Genomic Data Science von Johns Hopkins University

4.3
771 Bewertungen
118 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This class provides an introduction to the Python programming language and the iPython notebook. This is the third course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top-Bewertungen

KR

Jul 17, 2018

A very good course for its length and the amount of time it requires. It improved my python skills and knowledge of Genomics. I'm more engaged in my pursuits than before taking the course.

JD

Oct 07, 2017

Easy to understand and very powerful examples. Not just it made me familiar with python, it also made it easy for me to teach to my students and inspire them to pursue python further.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 113 Bewertungen für Python for Genomic Data Science

von Ibrahim Z

Sep 14, 2019

Thanks for the course, Really useful and nicely organized. Prefer if more Biopython applications is added

von Danielle K

Jan 21, 2018

part "sys" of week 4 is really unclear

von Chen J

Jan 16, 2017

I learned a great many Python knowledge from this course. It would be better if the quiz and course material can be connected more closely.

von Lucrezia F

Dec 13, 2017

You should give more instruments to take the final exam, I had to study mostly on my own because the material was not sufficient (at least for me, who has just started programming). Anyway, I really enjoyed the course and the topic!

von Yu-Chi L

Oct 14, 2019

I learn a lot here! Thanks!

von Nicholas B

May 12, 2016

Good for what it is, but I was hoping for something more advanced (on the algorithm/programming side).

von Roy L

May 17, 2018

The content of the course is quite good, but it would have been nice if they addressed more how to make code run efficiently in Python (e.g. which structures are fast and which should be avoided). Especially during the final exam the way you approach the questions can result in a running time from seconds to hours. As in practice the datasets you will work with tend to be quite large, I think this would be a valuable addition to the course.

von Alejandro L

Jun 07, 2016

For a person with absolutely not knowledge of programing its a very nice course to take. Its could be more widely explote the Biopython part, but reading the Biopython cookbook and the baisis presented here its just perfect

von Konstantinos K

Apr 17, 2017

Good but need more practise problems in order to understand what you are learning

von Ian P

May 23, 2018

The final lecture on Biopython, and the exam exercise are good. The quiz questions are annoying because the indentation is messed up.

von sally s

May 07, 2016

I enjoyed the lectures, but I felt they didnt go into enough details on analysis of sequence data. The final project was considerably harder than the material taught in the class and problems with the course (e.g. the final exam file not being available) had obviously not been fixed since the last version of the course. A fell I now have a good basic understanding of python but not enough to do any real analysis. Fantastic course mentor/TA.

von Benson N M

Jun 17, 2016

I think someone who has never coded before can approach this course. However, further reading of the resources presented will augment what has been taught and to better handle the quizzes.

von Ming L

Dec 07, 2017

one pretty lecturer, the other with relative faster speak speed, some small error in slides

von Priscilla C

Apr 13, 2017

I didn't know anything about programming and needed a lot of help with this course. I would have like more help in getting python and its complements install. Thanks.

von Stefanie M

Jun 20, 2017

Course content is ok, but didn't prepare well enough for the final exam

von Inmaculada M

May 19, 2017

Dfficult to follow, at least for people without a background in programming.

von Michael G

Feb 25, 2018

Could use more focus on Biopython, less on fundamentals

von sonali

Feb 15, 2018

could have included some practical sessions

von Lily Z Z

Jun 19, 2018

Great leaps of difficulty seem unavoidable in this kind of courses. It felt rather easy at the beginning of the course but the level of difficulty just increased exponentially. Programming actually takes a much longer time than simply 4 weeks to learn and practice to be skillful. So please add some sort of warning stating"decent background knowledge required" to the course introduction or it will be a torture taking the course as a completely beginner. The course design could have been done better.

von Felipe B

Aug 01, 2019

This course is advanced and fast-paced. I found it difficult for those with minimal programming experience.

von Alex G

Mar 30, 2016

Can't easily understand one of the instructors. Dislike how it chops and changes instructors in the same course.

von Antoon L

Jan 11, 2017

A good introduction to Python, but the course is a rather short & I think more could have been said about genomics-specific functions, modules, etc. and how to use them.

von Marcel V N

Nov 25, 2018

I took this course without a background in biology or genetics. The material sounds interesting but the lecturers rush through it so fast. They do not provide sufficient explanation of the biology to allow completion of the programming assignment. They ask to write a code for finding ORFs yet they don't even explain how ORFs are defined in case of multiple start codons and end codons.

von Leo U

Sep 11, 2018

Incomprehensible.

von Kagning T E

Dec 12, 2017

The instructors explain well, but it is difficult for beginners to implement the codes using python. Therefore, video tutorials describing how to implement the codes in python would have been better to further make this course beginners friendly.