Chevron Left
Zurück zu Using Python to Access Web Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Using Python to Access Web Data von University of Michigan

4.8
Sterne
28,619 Bewertungen
5,149 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Bewertungen)
Practical assignments
(217 Bewertungen)

Top-Bewertungen

DA

Apr 24, 2020

Great course. The lectures are clear and thorough. The assignments are challenging yet doable. The only thing I would like is to see more assignments to get more practice with the techniques learned.

AB

Jun 07, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 5,037 Bewertungen für Using Python to Access Web Data

von Avisek G

Sep 13, 2017

The course teaches the basics of how to interact with the internet using Python. The course is simple, well explained, has great interviews with people who were part of the creation of the internet.

von Monirul H

Apr 12, 2020

It's not that easy like previous two courses. But I'm glad that I had a little bit idea about regular expressions, networking, xml and REST before starting this course.

von Alexander C

Nov 19, 2015

Compared to other Python Courses I have taken this is course has no meat on them bones and is NOT worth $80 at all even for a certificate. However for FREE? ok. Worth the introduction to some useful tools. Spend your time and money on a more valuable course like Fundamentals of Computing Specialization, which is awesome, and is about the same price as of this writing.

This course offers no challenge, little content, and the assignments let me down. Assignments are basically handed to you where you only need to alter one line of text to get the right answer on what is supposed to take an hour.

Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python thru Rice U has content and weekly mini projects that really push your learning ability and after taking the courses, I felt like I really got something out of it.

This course barely scratches the surface of "Accessing Web Data" and does nothing to challenge your coding skills. The positive side, it introduces you to Web API's, the basics of Beautiful Soup, and other BUZZWORDS. At least structure assignments to combine all of the efforts learned in previous chapters onto one another.

Side note... what is the professor doing filming lectures on vacation or at lunch? This does nothing to add to the content of the course and is distracting and unprofesh.

The meaningless assignments let me down.

von Alexandre n M p

Nov 07, 2019

After finishing this last part of this Specialisation I fell completely frustrated and agree with other feedbacks in this list. The first part of this Specialisation was really inspiring and I feel that learned a lot. In parallel to those courses, I was able to apply the knowledge acquired in the Py4e to learn Matplotlib, Pandas and Numpy and I was very excited applying that learning in my own research.However, this last course, ‘Using Python to Access Web Data’ was ridicule difficult. The exercises were impossible to my knowledge and understanding. There must be something wrong, since I was able to complete the first courses. The exercises were always challenging, but I was able to accomplish them. While the first courses I was able to understand and find the sources on the readings; this last one was awfully dispersed. I simply didn’t understand the codes, the structures and how to parse the information.While I was exciting discussing and suggesting those first courses to my colleagues. Sorry, this last one I cannot recommend, since I did not understand the codes. I am really sorry for this feedback; but I know that I gave my best and I was unable to enjoy this course. Now I feel that I need to search for another course to learn how to access the web with Python.

von Arafatur R

May 19, 2020

Well being a graduate of CSE course 1 & 2 of this specialization were fairly easy to me and fun to learn. But, this one in the last 2 weeks kept me scratching my head about what's going on here. The assignments were too hard or too easy at the same time. Why hard?? Because, too much was covered in the week 5 and week 6 and clear explanations weren't given. I found most assignments too hard at the beginning and then too easy afterwards because I ended up copying the supplied source codes and tweaking them to get the job done. I didn't write most parts of the codes like in the first two courses. I completed the course quite easily but I doubt how much I've actually learned. Most parts of the source codes I've submitted is still a mystery to me. I don't understand each line of code I've submitted which I think I should when I've completed the course.

von Wilson W

May 04, 2020

Previous courses seem better constructed and maintained. A glaring error was that the Week 6 quiz asked several questions about REST, but this was not covered in the material at all. Many other students have pointed this out on the forum several months ago. It looks like REST was removed from the syllabus, but not from the quiz. It would be good if they corrected this, as I went through all the course material again trying to figure out what I had missed.

von Nicolas C

May 18, 2019

I think that the average user will be overexerted by the complexity of this course after week 4. You have to consider that most participants barely have experience in programming at all and I am pretty sure that some will get lost, lose interest and definitely will not be able to reproduce this kind of web scraping for their own projects.

The step from scraping through simple HTML to using libraries and APIs was too much in my opinion.

von Yixin W

May 30, 2018

This course is really really challenging if you only took the first two courses before this. The tests are quite hard to get. there are many moving pieces and it is hard to know where to begin with. I tried very hard to understand the lectures but i would say it just doesn't help with the tests.

I wouldn't recommend to beginners like me. but if you know python for a while maybe that's another story.

von Sehan N P

Jun 12, 2018

Course is not organized properly. Enough detail is not discussed for some parts. Especially for the parts on Beautifulsoup. Some information is just provided in the links in slide with no reference to whether it is optional to check or not. This course would be good for someone with prior knowledge about JSON, XML and HTML.

von Hosam M

May 18, 2020

need more clarification, the instructor suppoised that we have a solid background in this area (access web data).

I am very disappointed from this course.

von Deleted A

Apr 28, 2018

Average at best. The quiz for networking may be the worst I have ever seen.

I was expecting them to ask me if you could be an animal what would you be?

von Hanaa A K

Sep 06, 2019

I'm not confident I know how to write the code alone without copying and pasting from an existing code. I am also not sure I understand what REST is.

von Kristin C

Aug 20, 2018

The reading materials and lectures were straight-forward and easy to understand, but the assignments were very difficult and caused me to dislike

von Shilpa S T

May 29, 2018

Not enough relevant material was covered for completing the assignments

von Rohit Y

May 25, 2020

REST APIs and week 6 lectures are extremely hard to comprehend.

von 刘嘉禧

Feb 27, 2020

too hard

von Stephen I

Nov 28, 2016

I thought the content layout for Courses 1 and 2 were okay. However, when I got to Course 3: Using Python to Access Web Data, I was extremely disappointed. This specialization is advertised as one does not require programming experience. Course 3, however, introduces a variety of computer science topics that I believe cause information overload for a beginner. A student is bombarded with information about regular expressions, the HTTP protocol, web sockets, URLs, HTML, XML, JSON, and APIs. In fact, the video lectures spend the majority of the time explaining these concepts, while spending very little time explaining how to use Python to access web data. The corresponding book, Python for Informatics, was of little help understanding the assignments. Like the videos, the book lacks sufficient numbers of examples. The few examples that are given lack adequate explanations of the code they contain. I found myself on many occasions asking, "What exactly does this line or block of code do?", and could not locate the answer. If not for the forum, I would not have been able to complete th

von Smit P

Nov 23, 2019

Not as good as the previous courses in this specialization. There are many aspects that one needs to know before applying for the course.

1. If this is the first course you are taking before taking any of the previous courses in this spealization then you should probably think and might take the previous ones. Since this course consists of some topics that are discussed in the previous course.

2. The explanation Is too short and I felt it is rushed and not proper explanation is given in some of the topics.

3. There are some good assignments , I was able to do some of them on my own without taking any help based on the explanation and videos . While most of the assignments are difficult since proper explanation is not given .

4. In most of the examples of solved programs instructor does not show the full detailed solution and explanation since the topics is been covered in the previous course. (The typical "You have learnt this in your school " so I m not repeating types)

At the end I felt that I have not gained much knowledge from this course and just completed the assignments.

von Kevin P

Mar 19, 2016

The pedagogy of this course is disappointing because of a lack of sequential instruction. Large gaps exist: explanations of syntax and conceptualization of how the data flows seem incomplete. I have looked at all kinds of documentation as well as the book, but I cannot find what I need to know, and this a barrier to completing the assignments. The instructor's videos have shown me very little of what I need to understand the concepts. The examples show at most 20% (that is just a guess, it is probably less) of the knowledge that I need to complete the assignments. When I ask questions on the forums, the first word I think when I read mentors' explanations is "cryptic."

von Rick M

Jan 29, 2017

This course is garbage. The instruction videos are fine, but the assignments are imprecise in their language at times, and there are certain key points needed to complete them that aren't covered in the videos. The mentor in the forums is lousy, and his responses are worded as if he's talking with a peer and not a beginner/student.

I may or may not try another coursera course after this. But if this experience is any indication, Coursera isn't very good. The same UofM course appears over on Udemy, and I wonder if it is just being repurposed on as many platforms as possible without the care needed to make sure it works.

von Matthew B

Mar 03, 2016

No teaching. Just a guy talking and sometimes complaining about imaginary students' hypothetical thoughts. Do the problem sets for practice. If you need help, pause the videos and try the code out yourself.

Seriously though, a programming course where the teacher is not actively type out the code but just scribbling around it. He doesn't work through code but talks around the concepts.

von Tyrel B

Jun 29, 2017

Course started out with python 2.7 and then moved to python 3.x after the second week. Felt like I was paying for a Beta course. Assignment samples didn't match up for the xml parsing section... json code was provided.... spend hours getting beautiful soup to work then figured out they had switched the python version on me.... course forum was worthless

von Matt M

Mar 04, 2016

Took the first two courses which were fine but this one started off poorly and just got worse, unfortunately. I'm wondering if I can get my money back.

von Chandrasekhar G

May 19, 2020

Very hard course all of a sudden. I have completed many specializations and I can say that this has too steep a learning curve.

von Deleted A

Apr 03, 2019

What comes in the videos has pretty much no correlation to the elements of each assignment