Chevron Left
Zurück zu Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Using Python to Interact with the Operating System von Google

4.7
Sterne
4,187 Bewertungen
993 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

By the end of this course, you’ll be able to manipulate files and processes on your computer’s operating system. You’ll also have learned about regular expressions -- a very powerful tool for processing text files -- and you’ll get practice using the Linux command line on a virtual machine. And, this might feel like a stretch right now, but you’ll also write a program that processes a bunch of errors in an actual log file and then generates a summary file. That’s a super useful skill for IT Specialists to know. We’ll kick off by exploring how to execute Python locally, and organize and use code across different Python files. We'll then learn how to read and write different types of files, and use subprocesses and input streams. We'll also dive into Bash scripting and regular expressions -- both very powerful tools for anyone working with systems. We'll even touch on automatic testing, which allow us to automate how we check if our code is correct. To finish, we’ll put all this together by using the tools that we’ve acquired to process data and generate automatic reports. We’ll also explain how to set up your own developer environment in your machine. This is a key step in being able to write and deploy powerful automation tools....

Top-Bewertungen

AD
15. Juni 2020

In starting five weeks , all answers were directly provided and week 6 and 7 were very tough. So i suggest to equalize the toughness level in all weeks ,ie, no direct spoon feed nor abrupt toughness

MI
19. Nov. 2020

Great course! I had some previous knowledge, but this was perfect to fill in the gaps. Also, unit testing was completely new to me and will be very useful in future projects. Thanks for making this!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 1,005 Bewertungen für Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

von Swarnim A (

28. Aug. 2021

Bit tough but still good for engineers

von Syed A J

12. Juli 2020

Overall course was pretty good. A lot of learning came out of it. But a lot of wandering around and hours spent on the different forums and documentation trying to solve the problems in the course. Some of the instructions were often unclear as to what was expected for that problem's solution. The labs specially.

Time was spent developing solutions for the problems presented in the course outside the labs but when that code was executed on the linux labs, it gave problems while. For e.g. some of the modules had to be installed manually while some had to be replaced in the code since the syntax would not run on the old python version available on the qwiklabs machines.

von Ouy T J

12. Feb. 2020

Had a lot of things to learn in the module. wish labs and tests used out brains a bit more. it was mostly reading and cut and paste. Only learnt that you could cut and paste in Putty at the end when I got frustrated typing in things manually. (googled putty copy and paste).

there also alot of short cut code and tricks used that we havent learnt before. these werent explained very well and I still dont understand some of it, others took a me a bit of research.

von 林聖智

16. Okt. 2020

The whole course is based on LINUX and is operated on the terminal. It does not mention how to convert the LINUX instructions to be executed smoothly on WINDOWS, which is the deficiency of the course.

I am still very happy to get the information about participating in this course. There are 4 courses later, which is a long way. I will continue the course while reviewing here. I believe I can become an IT expert at the end of the course.

von Lim B T

27. Dez. 2020

Bash scripting is explained insufficiently and I feel that the final project is too difficult for most people who are not familiar with python libraries such as sys, operator and re. Would be great if there could be more detailed explanation on all the topics and more guidance for the final project. Overall, still a great course.

von nathan i

30. Jan. 2020

The course is pretty good overall. The week 6 lab has a misleading "expected output" jpg for oldFiles.txt in it. This causes the first half "checkpoint" to fail. The issue is that the jpg shows that oldFiles.txt should only have filenames in it when in fact the "grader" expects each file to also have a fully qualified path with it. The lab write-up also doesn't say oldFiles.txt should have the filenames with the fully qualified path in it. I would give this course five stars if the errant week6 lab documentation gets fixed and if the students are explicitly told that each step in the labs needs to be explicitly execute in the VM environment being provided. I made the mistake of reading some of the lab exercises for content and not actually executing them in shell --- and I think the grader checks for that even if you get the correct final outputs for your script.

von Denis R

19. Jan. 2020

There are errors in links and descriptions of the tasks (formatting is wrong, names of files are different though according to the content it is the same file, etc). Inconsistency in tasks - first tasks are completely done for the student, one only need to copy-paste and final one is all of the sudden 'do-it-yourself' task. Though for me it was not a problem, but beginners will struggle a lot with this errors.

von QING C

16. Mai 2020

The first few weeks of the course was well paced but in the second last week, the introduction to bash was very rushed and I feel like the tutorials of bash could have been elaborated on more.

von Damian B

1. Jan. 2021

I wasted to much time for research, I want to spend time learning right now, not researching by myself

von Peter V L

23. Juni 2020

Not pleased with the challenge of using my own machine, and having to be kept to the arbitrary 1.5 hours of the Qwiklabs. Some of us need more time to work through stuff and to try different approaches. That "nano" IDE is horrendous - I can't figure out how to copy and paste, and moving that damned cursor is crazy. We need the option of working all this stuff out on our own machine, and then copying it into the Qwiklabs.

von Vaibhav m

17. Aug. 2020

topics are rushed when it is supposed to be slowed and topics are slowed or spent much time when it could be rushed. demos are not show for enough time. have to pause videos in order to watch what commands are typed in terminal to make sense what is taught. tutor may have immense knowledge of the subject but is very bad at explaining stuff

von Chris G

5. Aug. 2020

Most labs were just copy and paste exercises. Final project didn't have enough feedback from Qwiklabs to troubleshoot -- there was one checkpoint that basically said "Something is wrong". Finishing required copy/pasting data into a .csv file that is used nowhere else in the rest of the project.

von Dario Č

17. Aug. 2020

Focused solely on Linux. The Lab grading system is terrible. Otherwise a great course :)

von Edward W

23. Mai 2020

Great Course - I especially enjoyed the final assignment. At times I needed to google search some concepts as a reminder, and the test environment was a slightly different version of python to my own machine, but after a few minutes of google searching managed to fix this. I guess this is good practice for the real word when not everything is spoon fed and goes to plan straight away. I disagree that the expected output of the final assignment was unclear. It was well spelt out in the instructions, even showing you a screenshot of the desired output.

von Iain W B

19. Jan. 2021

This course starts out "holding your hand" to guide you through the practical assignments. By the time you get to the end, you are on your own and expected to do your own research, to solve the final assignment problem.

Quite often in the real world, we encounter vague problem statements, so it's up to you to make sure you understand the final week problem before you take the assignment. You can practice this in your own setup at home or in the office, to save time submitting the final work. Expect a few surprises, just like in the real world.

von Luis M

1. Juli 2020

It was a great experience. All the material was new to me, i enjoy specially the linux commands: feel like had have superpowers! And i hae much to learn about unitest, bash scripting and read/write files, etc. But this was a perfect start to do that. Thanks Coursera Team!

An advice; there's an issue with Practice Quiz "Reading and Write csv files" on the week 2. A lot of student had has de same problem with the first question: it get an error, and the team support never could solve, so it will great if they can pay attention to this things.

von AYUSH R

30. Aug. 2020

Please improve the Quicklabs ..I was stuck for days..In the last quicklab assignment when i executed my code it show error i was like what because the same code was working my PC..then i researched a lot then i got to know that this is happening because u guys are using python 3.5 in quicklabs and the code i wrote was only working on python 3.6 and above .....literally somehow i came with some new solution so that it could work on python 3.5 and bang it worked...overall the instructor was amazing...Send love from me...

von Alexandru S

5. Juni 2020

Things that you get to learn while taking this course: CSV files manipulation, REGEXs (regular expressions), script testing, Linux commands and BASH programming. All of these are very interesting and, hopefully, very helpful in every Python developer toolkit (I have reservations with the Linux and BASH, but those are good for your "General IT Knowledge").

PS: If you did not take the course, be very careful with the QwikLabs. You must access them at most 5 times! (nobody mentioned this when I took it)

von Deleted A

29. Sep. 2020

The instructor was very very good in explaining every single detail. The puns were good too.

I learnt whole lot of things like about command line tools , python scripting , tests , test automation ,bash scripting and much about the basics of linux ( which was cherry on the top ).

Thank you so much Roger and the Google team for putting up this course and more like these ,so we students can learn and add the skills in our arsenal and in our resume for the various IT related jobs.

Thank You,

Yash Agarwal.

von Harim H R

27. Dez. 2020

The thing I found hardest to learn was how to interact with the Linux shell, that was completely new to me, but it also opened a new window of oportunity for learning and expanding my skills. For instance, I'll be able to apply my knowledge in my school projects and I'm also sure this tools I've learned will come in handy in my job too. I'm so grateful for the Coursera team for giving me the opportunity to take the course. Overall, the course exceeded my expectations by far.

von Tarit G

19. Sep. 2020

This was an excellent experience for me to learn from a very knowledgeable and intelligent instructor from Google. I have learnt a lot of new things in this course. I am very thankful to the instructor especially, and also to the team whose hard work made it possible to bring the course to us. The last two assignments(labs) were little hard, I enjoyed those if you are a beginner in Python then brush up a little to perform well in this pace.

von jose j

29. Juli 2021

G​ood course, lots of subjects covered. I wish there were more exercises to really consolidate all the information presented. Some videos I had to watch several times because the subject was difficult to grasp. The qwiklabs are good references for real world tasks. I've learned a lot , but I am also forgetting a lot of things due to the lack of reinforcement practice. In general, I would recommend this course and the instructor.

von Leslie Q

13. Apr. 2020

This course was very educational and helped me really understand some python fundamentals as well as interactions with the OS! The final lab was a challenging lab. This lab really helped me understand the different ways lists, tuples and dictionaries can be manipulated. Glad to rise up to the challenge although nano really is a pain especially when scripts written in atom runs well but then copy paste into nano comes with issues.

von Rohith K

6. Mai 2020

This is truly a wonderful course, which will help you to improve your skills in the field of Automation. It teaches you to write scripts in both Python and Bash. It introduces you to various new modules in Python and the basics of scripting in the Bash, which was very useful for performing relatively smaller tasks. Python can be used when the automation of the tasks gets a bit complex.

von Karsten S

21. Apr. 2020

The course gives a great start in tools like Python, Bash, Unix commands, Regular Expressions, ... With the qwiklab assignments one can test the learning practically. Lovely teachers, easy to listen to.

The course takes some time, when you practise and really try to do your own mini projects in parallel. But isn't that the whole idea? To learn new skills and not just finish the course.