Chevron Left
Zurück zu Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Using Python to Interact with the Operating System von Google

4.7
Sterne
3,904 Bewertungen
936 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

By the end of this course, you’ll be able to manipulate files and processes on your computer’s operating system. You’ll also have learned about regular expressions -- a very powerful tool for processing text files -- and you’ll get practice using the Linux command line on a virtual machine. And, this might feel like a stretch right now, but you’ll also write a program that processes a bunch of errors in an actual log file and then generates a summary file. That’s a super useful skill for IT Specialists to know. We’ll kick off by exploring how to execute Python locally, and organize and use code across different Python files. We'll then learn how to read and write different types of files, and use subprocesses and input streams. We'll also dive into Bash scripting and regular expressions -- both very powerful tools for anyone working with systems. We'll even touch on automatic testing, which allow us to automate how we check if our code is correct. To finish, we’ll put all this together by using the tools that we’ve acquired to process data and generate automatic reports. We’ll also explain how to set up your own developer environment in your machine. This is a key step in being able to write and deploy powerful automation tools....

Top-Bewertungen

AD
15. Juni 2020

In starting five weeks , all answers were directly provided and week 6 and 7 were very tough. So i suggest to equalize the toughness level in all weeks ,ie, no direct spoon feed nor abrupt toughness

MI
19. Nov. 2020

Great course! I had some previous knowledge, but this was perfect to fill in the gaps. Also, unit testing was completely new to me and will be very useful in future projects. Thanks for making this!

Filtern nach:

726 - 750 von 947 Bewertungen für Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

von Sai N K K

2. Apr. 2021

This Course takes a very hands-on approach to make students learn and gain knowledge of the concepts. It may even become very difficult for the beginners who are just starting on python or computer programming. The Videos covers all the basic details and concepts but as a student you have to do a lot of work by going through the cheatsheets and links they have provided to external sources to actually gain indepth knowledge. You have to put a lot of effort into studying the concepts if you want to complete the course exercises. It may not be ideal for most of the beginners. But if you are willing to learn and work your way through all the error and difficulties you face then it's a good way to learn the concepts and it's gonna take a lot of your time. This way of learning may not be to everyones liking.

von Stanislav S

12. Dez. 2020

The course is super useful. Instructor is professional and engaging. Bash scripting and testing parts were extremely pleasant surprise.

Qwiklabs labs are fun and exciting.

Two issues with the Qwiklabs tasks though:

(1) Some tasks have literally all code there. You would be able to just copy-paste it.

(2) The tasks that don't have all code are super fun, but the way they are graded is sometimes not 100% great. In my last lab I got everything working as expected, and system still graded me incorrectly. Thankfully, I was able to talk to Customer Support (very useful feature), and they checked me manually, and agreed my task is done.

von udayabhaskar m

19. Sep. 2020

It's been wonderful journey learning interacting with OS using Python. I learned many new concepts like Bash scripting, How Python helps in providing the modules to test the scripts, Regular Expressions to process the text. Everyday I am adding a new tool into my IT skills bag.

The most appreciable part of the course is assignments and grading tests, which allowed me to explore different ways to solve a problem.

Sometimes, I felt like the explanation is bit fast. As it is an online course and I have the option to repeat playing the videos, it didn't bother me much.

Nevertheless, it's been a wonderful journey.

Thanks and Regards.

von Peter W

29. März 2020

The transition out of Qwiklabs felt clunky. Likewise, up until the final qwiklabs tests, it was mostly copy and paste. Finally, the qwuiklabs "check my progess" button, could have provided a bit better error messages. An example would be "Missing files checked" or "Error in Files Checked". Just something where I don't have to blindy go back through all the steps and my code to find the error, rather than spending my time figuring out how to correct it.

von Michael E

2. Okt. 2020

This is a great initiative. But in terms of how to set up online learning to make it frustration free for users you have ways to go. The road to here was bumpy because you did not adhere to the most basic rules of transitioning from repeating to autonomous usage of acquired skills. Please do a better job in setting up these courses because what you are doing is so important and will help a lot of people if done right

von Solokhin M D

10. Aug. 2020

Firstly, this course has given me an intermidiate knowledge on using python to interact with the operating system. Nevertheless, this course is Linux-oriented (so be ready to spend some time trying these concepts on your own Windows/MacOS machine). Plus, final assignments in Qwiklabs were a little bit tricky...

Anyway, I'm happy for taking this course and eager to continue my journey in the IT world:)

von Abhay S P

12. Juli 2020

This course was really nice, and definitely cleared some of the major key concepts of automation. It was very exciting to solve the questions given here and instructor was also very clear and and the concepts were clear too. Now, they could have added a few more topics for which they shared cheat-sheet for and also qwiklabs sometimes gets really laggy. Other than that, this course is awesom

von Yash A C

17. Juli 2020

I learnt a lot of concepts through this course right from operating system concepts to bash scripting. It was challenging, but fun overall. The first couple of weeks were tough and I had to review the videos several times. The only thing I didn't like was that the cheat sheet as the end of the topics were of no use and could have been better. Other than that, great course!

von Chamath R B M

24. Nov. 2020

In order to follow this course I needed to use the Linux terminal. Since I was using windows, I installed the Oracle VM VirtualBox and ran Ubuntu virtually. I think it will help you to follow the course easily with the instructor. The forums were helpful. The instructor explained everything clearly. The short and concise videos were good. The forum was really helpful.

von Joseph A L

21. Feb. 2021

This course is challenging but more realistic than most people recognize. Expect to spend at least double the time on the assigments. Use the forums for help. There are some really talented people taking these classes. I learned how to install a vm machine in the class! Recommend getting a Linux laptop if you can.

von sivathmika v

11. Juli 2020

Wow this would a super excited course for beginners who would like to learn some keen topics like regular expressions , bash scripting and some other cool stuff like this and the course is quite knowledgeable and goes on a low base so it is easy to understand . Thanks for keeping up with such awesome courses .

von Andrew S

9. Feb. 2020

Last lab required a lot of typing to do the initial bash and python commands. You also had to type a 20 member list of names and emails. The Putty terminal won't allow you to cut and paste, so you have to do this work each time, then type and debug a 60 line piece of code. Long, ambiguous, lots of typing.

von Grigoriy S

10. Juli 2021

​Very good course, I definitely learned a lot of new things going through the course. Some of the examples were way too basic, but a lot of things really made you research topics further to figure things out, especially the Regex sections. Can't wait to continue the path to see the rest of these courses!

von A.J. O

24. Mai 2020

The only issue I had with this course was the final. I was put in a lab that was running Python 3.5 instead of what is being taught throughout the course, python 3.7. This wouldn't have been a big deal had it been explicitly stated but it made accessing my regex groups impossible by using the 3.7 syntax.

von Linda C

22. Mai 2020

Great material, clearly presented. Ran into some dumb problems with the labs, like the autograder wouldn't accept whitespace in the code but the Chat agents tried hard to help. They even followed up and emailed me that the autograder would be fixed to look at output instead of script code. Nice!

von Jane O W

26. Juni 2020

The course material is valuable. Some of the quizzes and graded labs have flaws that need to be corrected. The tech support people thru chat at Qwiklabs are excellent. They are very responsive and fix problems with labs quickly. They are the go to people from problems with graded assignments.

von Chirag I P

19. Juni 2020

I have learnt what the course indented to, but the assessment was smooth. I had problems with two assessment's and wasted way too much time on it. The worst part about that was that the problem was with the mode of assessment and not the code itself. So please change it!

von Michael D

8. Apr. 2020

Informative and smoothly-presented course! The subject matter can be a little dry and dense, but it keeps moving along and covers a wide base of important information. The Qwiklabs, however, need to be cleaned up a bit as they have a few errors and can be cumbersome.

von Graeme A

3. Apr. 2020

Much of the early part of the course seemed to be very simply following instructions without knowing whether we were necessarily understanding much, but the final two modules really tested what we've learned and gave a real sense of accomplishment once it all worked!

von Spiffykat 4

9. Aug. 2021

G​reat class and solid work. If there was room for more I would recommend a few more examples with classes and to bring more PEP-8 to light instead of its subtle mentions through other resources.

H​owever, you will achieve the basics as it was designed.

von Angela Y

22. Apr. 2020

i would like to say thank you for providing this opportunity to learn things in a convenient and pleasant way. There are tons of information to digest. With hands-on practice through lab and quiz, the journey becomes very awarding and encourage.

von Claudio B

18. Apr. 2020

Course is covering many interesting subjects. I am happy to finished this course, even if to pass the final test I had to fight against the Python version of the real test (3.5.3) and the one I use to practice (it was a little newer).

von Shawn W

27. Apr. 2020

Too quirky and bash seemed like a bit of a distraction when taking a Python course. The final was a bit quirky and the description wasn't really well-defined.

But overall I learned a bunch of stuff, so ... OK.

von Mark Q

10. Sep. 2020

I do like the challenging topics of this course. Though it will take some time for me to really master it until it becomes 2nd nature, however; this was overall a good course. I would certainly recommend it.

von Angelo K

23. Feb. 2021

This course was very challenging and I think the labs could use some TLC, but covered good topics and I feel like I have learned about operating systems and how to make my code more functional.