Chevron Left
Zurück zu Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Using Python to Interact with the Operating System von Google

4.7
Sterne
3,904 Bewertungen
936 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

By the end of this course, you’ll be able to manipulate files and processes on your computer’s operating system. You’ll also have learned about regular expressions -- a very powerful tool for processing text files -- and you’ll get practice using the Linux command line on a virtual machine. And, this might feel like a stretch right now, but you’ll also write a program that processes a bunch of errors in an actual log file and then generates a summary file. That’s a super useful skill for IT Specialists to know. We’ll kick off by exploring how to execute Python locally, and organize and use code across different Python files. We'll then learn how to read and write different types of files, and use subprocesses and input streams. We'll also dive into Bash scripting and regular expressions -- both very powerful tools for anyone working with systems. We'll even touch on automatic testing, which allow us to automate how we check if our code is correct. To finish, we’ll put all this together by using the tools that we’ve acquired to process data and generate automatic reports. We’ll also explain how to set up your own developer environment in your machine. This is a key step in being able to write and deploy powerful automation tools....

Top-Bewertungen

AD
15. Juni 2020

In starting five weeks , all answers were directly provided and week 6 and 7 were very tough. So i suggest to equalize the toughness level in all weeks ,ie, no direct spoon feed nor abrupt toughness

MI
19. Nov. 2020

Great course! I had some previous knowledge, but this was perfect to fill in the gaps. Also, unit testing was completely new to me and will be very useful in future projects. Thanks for making this!

Filtern nach:

901 - 925 von 947 Bewertungen für Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

von Канцедал Г О

7. Sep. 2020

Достаточно начальный уровень.

von Bagath S

20. Apr. 2020

need some advance concepts

von António P N

5. Juni 2021

No autonomous work

von Roopa L

22. Mai 2020

Little difficult

von Shiv S

24. Juni 2020

Scattered a bit

von Weerachai Y

22. Juli 2020

thanks

von Yasuko E

18. Apr. 2020

tough

von Federico L

28. Feb. 2020

Good

von clinton c

22. Sep. 2021

I found that I spent a lot of time watching videos and not much time doing practical work, there was very little info to copy down other than screenshots. I had to stop after chapter 5 as I felt I wasn't learning much and go and do Dr. Chuck's Python for Everybody course then come back. He was much better at explaining how Python works (especially lists, dictionaries and tuples) and has great examples.

This course's Chapter 7 final Wiki took a long time as it wasn't explained that you shouldn't use the csv.DictWriter tool for one of one of the files despite it being suggested. I ended up going over my Wiki quota while trying to figure out the solution.

von Nancy J

16. Okt. 2020

I learn a lot in this class about how to write regex, convert a Python file to csv, With blocks, loops, dictionaries. The labs done using Qwiklabs were a headache. Not only the wording made a challenge to follow, but the poor explanation made t worse. On top of that, the fact that throughout the whole class you were just told to type some code on Qwiklabs to and then being told to write your code from zero during the last assignment made it a huge challenge. Don't take me wrong, I learned a lot! But if you are going to be hands off during the class, do it little by little not at once.

von Jay J

12. Nov. 2020

While some of the contents are good for students new to the subject. There are tons of inconsistencies. The subtitles have alot of errors, in every video, you have to refer to transcript text in order to get the correct details.

codes from lecture are not available in transcription , this is just unacceptable for a programming class.

So called "cheat notes" are just web links in this module.

the final project, the python interpreter is out of date, hours was wasted troubleshooting capturing groups.

von Олег Ш

22. Nov. 2020

Weeks 1-5: copy-past, cheat-sheet = cheat-shit.

Weeks 6-7: omg wtf + python 3.5 instead of 3.6 or later.

If your regex groups like smth[1] aren't working, replace it with smth.group(1).

Also, exercise 3 in week 7 is necessary (not obvious).

von Tony M

23. Juni 2021

You need have other knowledge for example Linux command, Bash code and know some python module how to use... but this course not more detail to tell student how to use it. And the quiz or lab will use it...

von Quenita D

19. Mai 2021

Good class but I have a lot of problems to finish my assigments and tests. How I can finish this course if the automatic review does not allowme to pass even though my answer were correct

von Zachary B

7. Aug. 2020

This course was super slow paced until the last two chapters. The final project is way too hard compared to the other projects.

von Jonathan W

15. Juli 2021

Some of the test were just cut-and-paste to fill in the code.

The final test was challenging and good to write actual code.

von cintya l

26. Feb. 2021

I wish the instructor would explain some concepts instead of just reading them.

von Kenneth M

16. Sep. 2020

I felt this course jumped around to too many topics and was not focused enough.

von Olajide A

31. Dez. 2020

Not info help struggled to finish

von Maria G T F C

5. März 2021

always got rejected by qwiklabs

von Huai-An H

7. März 2021

Difficult

von Eduardo S

27. Okt. 2020

Sure. From the moment the course started I felt I made a mistake since your google instructors are more interested in their appearance and how they read their script than the content of what they are "teaching."

You sent us many times to "read other resources" rather than going deep and EXPLAIN the concepts yourself, not just let the students assume the responsibility to go deeper which I can guarantee you they will not.

Then, I found very well explained Python courses in youtube where the instructor was sincere, knowledgeable and you didn't have to see his face all the time like yours. He spent 100% of the videos showing a screen with CODE and HOW TO DO THINGS one concept after another non-stop, rather than a stupid face with makeup. I mean, seriously, this is not a class about philosophy where you need more talk than action but the opposite.

Yes, it was your course in general that made me quit and continue on my own. Google meant something when it wasn't evil 20 years ago, but now not so much. Besides, getting a badly explained "certificate" from google is like getting a certificate from Oreo Cookies, Inc. Just embarrassing. Don't you think?

Can I get a refund?

Thanks!

von Rameses

26. Aug. 2020

I would have given this course a higher rating if it were not for the terrible labs being offered by Qwiklabs using an arhaic test editor. This is no fault of the instructor who presented the material vocally ok but was a bit too trigger happy in not displaying the demo code on the screen long enough for us to see it. Had to keep rewinding to see the code

In the last module(Week 7) we are supposed to write a program from scratch. This involves substantial programming effort since it uses nested dictionaries. The program needs as input a textfile containing logs and named syslog.log It would have helped us tremendously if this file was made available either in the code window or with the option of downloading. Everything else could be copied from the instructions and pasted into our local editor but this one important file is not available.

Add to this typos in the instructions and a lousy editor and you have a nightmare of a time doing this last important lab

Get your act together, Qwiklabs and Google

von Forrest C

10. Juni 2020

The content the module intends to teach is great. The execution of the module is a dumpster fire especially when arriving at the final lab and final assessment (Beware Python veterans). Those are the points where the module goes from holding your hand too much to forcing you to guess what results the "Progress Checks" are looking for. You are expected to turn their guided pseudo code to functional scripts and even when you achieve the desired result, the content of your script can prevent you from progressing; then it becomes guess work to give it what it wants due to lack of direction from the instructor and lack of feedback from Qwiklabs. Some of the videos were okay but overall, I can't believe Google is okay with putting there name anywhere near this infuriating module. So happy I got it over with.

von Карнаух Т

16. Aug. 2020

I don't recommend this course. As for novices in Python programming, it has a lot of almost not discussed in lectures things. As for other, it is simply time wasting. Seeing some samples, you realize that not all of them are samples of good code. I am not eager of PEP8, but some things about comparisons with True/False are very reasonable.

In labs is using Python3.5 but not declared in the very begging of the course Python3.7. Maybe this is not so important, but some things from re (discussed in the course, by the way) from Python3.7 is unsupported in Python3.5. Also, labs with only dully typing text from one window to another are time wasting. There are some technical issues in labs with home directory accessing. There are no typed scripts from lecture provided. ...