Chevron Left
Zurück zu Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Python Programming: A Concise Introduction von Wesleyan University

4.7
Sterne
5,014 Bewertungen
1,560 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks. SPECIAL NOTE: Python Programming: A Concise Introduction course will close for new learner enrollment on 2/16/22. In order to earn a Course Certificate, you will need to complete all graded assignments by 8/16/22. If you are interested in earning a Course Certificate for this course, please upgrade or apply for Financial Aid by 8/16/22. If you are a Coursera for Business learner, you can continue to use your sponsored credit through that date....

Top-Bewertungen

LR
3. Jan. 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

TS
28. Nov. 2021

This course was amazing as well as was an interesting course.I have learnt a lot of new concepts and things with the help of Respected Sir Bill Boyd and looking forward for more such type of courses.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 1,558 Bewertungen für Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

von Sarfuddin A T

12. Juni 2020

As a starter in programing/coding I have had an excellent experience while attending the course. Professor Bill Boyd's presentation is nice , concise and focused and the weekly performance assessment by the autograder allowed the learners to clarify his/her understanding of the desired level of the topics.

Thanks to courser and Wesleyan University for making this arrangement of online course in such a structured manner.

von Venu G K

25. Jan. 2018

I am not a programmer. This course gave me a good hands-on approach to understand whats explained in the class and try it out. Bill gave very simple good examples to follow and built upon the past examples very well. It was easy to follow and good for practice. This is a good introduction to python. I was apprehensive about learning a new topic but this was one of the good practical courses. I am glad I took this course.

von Juan M R

5. Sep. 2017

A wonderful course.

Reported by a person with a wonderful voice and much desire to share knowledge.

This course is fantastic for anyone with or without knowledge of programming.

As a student of Computer Science, this course has important implications for completing my understanding of the functioning of computer languages.

Exercises and tasks are wonderful, it was one of my best educational experiences in my life.

von Sally C

3. Juli 2020

I took this course as an absolute beginner and found it to be hard enough to keep me challenged and feeling like I was learning useful skills, while also manageable enough to figure out problems on my own when I got stuck. The discussion threads and lectures were sufficient for me to trouble shoot most problems and I never got so stuck I couldn't continue (which is a problem I've had with other courses).

von Aurora C K

4. Feb. 2018

It is really concise, no beating around the bush about why programming is needed bla bla, it provides you with the basic funtionalities & how to use them. In each lecture, you will be able to practice and compare your solution with the instructor's. In addition, there are graded assignments to ensure that you really learn something out of the course. Highly recommended. Easy to understand & to the point.

von Aaron N G

30. Mai 2020

Professor Bill Boyd provides a very concise primer into the world of Python programming. He does so in an easy-to-follow and exercise-based lessons. He even goes beyond his duty to make the exercise files conducive for independent learning. As both a learner and an educator, I highly recommend this course for anyone looking to dip their toes into Python. You'll be surprised where it leads you!

von Thiago I M

6. Aug. 2020

The course is really well suited for beginners. The exercises are great and cover what has been taught in the lessons. Bill Boyd really explains things in a very clear and simple way, and everything was put in a good progressions/learning curve. I really recommend this course if you are new to programming, it is a pretty good introduction. Thanks for sharing and making this available to us!

von Jeremiah D

13. Okt. 2017

I learned a lot, and am no longer overwhelmed by coding. My suggestions:

Getting started was challenging, as it took me a lot of errors submitting problems, in addition to downloading and updating Spyder.

I would like it if the search in forums refined the results more, so I am nto re-asking the same question.

The forum should have the 10 most frequently asked questions to save everyone time.

von Shahadat H

12. Dez. 2016

It was amazing and a wonderful learning experience! Throughout the course Instructor was really motivating, resources was comprehensive , and Instructor has done a great job remaining active almost in real time on discussion forum . I do really appreciate the Grading system. Bill, Thanks a lot for your hard effort ! Thanks also the participants who facilitated learning through discussion.

von Michael H

16. Okt. 2021

This was a great beginner course, covering all of the essentials to get started coding. Examples and assignments build a good foundation, and I would advise you to take this as a complimentary course to other beginner Python courses. I enjoyed this course very much, even though some assignments seemed a little too simplistic. Nonetheless, I learned a lot from this instructor. Well done!

von Sujay S

26. Okt. 2021

Bill is an amazing instructor. He walks through difficult concepts with a demo and builds the concept in depth. Indeed a concise course that helps you learn most of the basics of Python programming which one can confidently use to advance their knowledge. My favorite part was exercises and the graded problem. Those are worth the effort. A profound thanks to Coursera. Bill.. you rock :)

von Harry J

15. Okt. 2021

This was an excellent course on introduction to Python programming. Concepts were presented in a unique interactive way. The choice of material was carefully curated and creatively presented to encourage and challenge the student. I congratulate professor Bill Boyd for constructing this program. I think it represents the pinnacle of what a remote learning experience should be like.

von Cody K

26. Nov. 2018

It is indeed a concise introduction to python! The instructor is very clear and the assignments are directly related to the content that you learn in each module. This is probably the best introductory course I have run into. I would recommend this for those who are brand new to programming or those who have some background and are looking to learn the syntax of basic Python.

Bravo!

von odetayo a

19. Juni 2017

Using Spyder is a great way to get acquinted with Python. The Exercises, Videos and Transcripts are very nicely put together and are great ways to learn. The Problem at each week is not too difficult hence I didn't get discouraged. Each week takes about 4hours for lectures which is just right. The discussions and feedback are helpful. The pace of the course was just right for me. :-)

von Jingtian Z

26. Dez. 2020

Well, I have already learned some python before I started this course one year ago. I have forgotten something I learned so for week 1, it is picking up. But for week 2, I had gotten further than last time about data collection types, with lists, tuples, dictionaries, and strings, and how to work with them in programs, like sorting, adding, and so on. It was all kinds of stuff now.

von Alfred N

1. Juni 2020

The material was as hard as I imagine programming to be. I only have intermediate excel skills and I wanted to review Python for exposure to the material. The course was extremely challenging and took me a longtime to comprehend. Thank you professor , Bill Boyd, for teaching and explaining the basics of Python to me. My brain has changed forever. I am forever indebted to you.

von shivam t

27. Juni 2020

I have been trying to learn programming as a hobby for a long long time. I have tried various books and other online courses. This is the first time that I have been able to cross the first barrier of getting a beginners knowledge of programming. The course as well as the assignments are beautifully designed to help you get a tighter grip on the concepts that you have learned.

von Bob M

31. Dez. 2020

I learned a lot in this class. It is an excellent, accessible introduction to Python and interacting with an Integrated Development Environment. It also serves as a good introduction to data types, input, output, and programming concepts! The exercises were very illustrative of the material being covered. The assessment, though thought-provoking were very "do-able".

von Ishita P

28. Nov. 2020

I really enjoyed this course. As a beginner in the world of python, I was lost, until I found this course. It was an excellent introduction, during which I learned many basic skills. The videos were sometimes a bit confusing, and I needed some extra research, but the assignments were challenging and interesting. The course was informative and engaging through all four weeks.

von Gabriel N

1. Dez. 2019

A great introduction to Python language and the Spyder IDE. This course will allow to get a first idea of what programming is, also giving you a few useful tools for data analysis (reading .txt and .csv files, do some statistics, etc). Having some background on high level programming helps, buy I a beginner in programming could make its first steps following this course.

von Sujit B B

27. Mai 2020

The course was excellently structured. The instructor Prof. Bill Boyd was very good at explaining the codes . The hints provided in the excersice as well as the problemset were very useful. The auto grader was not a mess until you mess it out . Just felt that the content could have been more thorough, but still as a introductory course for a beginner it was quite good.

von James P

3. Nov. 2017

Excellent course both for beginners to Python and beginners to programming in general. If you have a fair amount of programming experience, this course won't be difficult, but it's a great introduction with lots of exercises to to give you hands-on experience. There are cheaper Python resources out there, but the structure this course provides is worth the investment.

von Anthony R

29. Nov. 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course with Professor Boyd. The way this class was structured of Prof. Boyd showing how each function works, an exercise to implement what was covered, and showing his code worked well with my way of learning. As an intro class, I think this might be a bit too much for someone that has no experience but I definitely enjoyed the class!

von Николай Б

18. Feb. 2019

Спасибо большое преподавателю за этот курс! Всё доходчиво, по делу, без излишних объяснений – очень ёмко. Чувствую, что я сделал значительный шаг в изучении Питона! Спасибо за комментарии к материалам – помогали решать задачи, и теперь у меня уникальный материалы остались, которые в дальнешем планирую использовать (конечно, пока наизусть не выучу). Рекомендую!

von Shi P W

3. Juli 2020

I learnt many basic python functions and syntax in this course. I specifically like that Bill gave us a lot of examples and exercises to practise on. Bill is also very fast in responding to questions. He sometimes showed some functions/methods without giving much explanation about how it works — this part could be better. Overall, this is an amazing course.