Chevron Left
Zurück zu Python Programming Essentials

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Python Programming Essentials von Rice University

4.8
stars
1,277 Bewertungen
316 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce you to the wonderful world of Python programming! We'll learn about the essential elements of programming and how to construct basic Python programs. We will cover expressions, variables, functions, logic, and conditionals, which are foundational concepts in computer programming. We will also teach you how to use Python modules, which enable you to benefit from the vast array of functionality that is already a part of the Python language. These concepts and skills will help you to begin to think like a computer programmer and to understand how to go about writing Python programs. By the end of the course, you will be able to write short Python programs that are able to accomplish real, practical tasks. This course is the foundation for building expertise in Python programming. As the first course in a specialization, it provides the necessary building blocks for you to succeed at learning to write more complex Python programs. This course uses Python 3. While many Python programs continue to use Python 2, Python 3 is the future of the Python programming language. This first course will use a Python 3 version of the CodeSkulptor development environment, which is specifically designed to help beginning programmers learn quickly. CodeSkulptor runs within any modern web browser and does not require you to install any software, allowing you to start writing and running small programs immediately. In the later courses in this specialization, we will help you to move to more sophisticated desktop development environments....

Top-Bewertungen

JW

Apr 26, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, but I would highly recommend taking something along the lines of Codecademy prior to this one. It will help to get you versed in some of the more basic things in Python.

DV

Jan 17, 2019

Awesome teaching especially the course was designed in such a way that after the completion of the course the student can definitely feel confident about the particular course he learned .

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 314 Bewertungen für Python Programming Essentials

von John W

Apr 26, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, but I would highly recommend taking something along the lines of Codecademy prior to this one. It will help to get you versed in some of the more basic things in Python.

von Deleted A

Nov 25, 2018

This was a very helpful introduction into Python programming. I have been working with Stata and R for a while, but I think this course helped review basic good practices while scripting.

von Catalin R C

Sep 11, 2018

I liked this course very much. The lessons were easy to follow and the teachers engaging. Will also try their other complementary Python specialisation, Fundamentals of Computing.

von Ross M

Dec 09, 2017

Frustrating due to lack of help on final project. The teachers want other students to be the help which is fine but when that help is lacking you can get stuck with no recourse, which is what I'm currently facing. I understand what is required (coding 4 datetime functions) and I believe have coded them correctly except for one line, that for the life of me can't figure out why it doesn't work. That one line of code is causing the function to not work correctly and because the subsequent functions rely on that function I'm dead in the water. I know that it's something small I need to change so minimal help is needed but unfortunately not available. Also, I did ask about it in the forum but no teacher replied and the two student replies didn't help...on to other training options.

von Ketyeth

Nov 11, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, and the best part is I passed! The videos are shot with high quality, sound is clear. Both professors are excellent presenters, very experienced, and they always look so positive and encouraging. Lectures are organized very logically, I don't see any jumps or gaps in concepts. Practice problems in every module are at the right level (or suggest to make it a bit more challenging in the future ) and really relate to the modules. The final project really enhances my understanding of all those coding techniques learned throughout the course. I would highly recommend this course for beginners who want to start learning Python.

von João D P O S

Feb 12, 2018

Curso básico, mas bastante didático com ênfase na subdivisão de um problema para tentar resolvê-lo de forma mais fácil. Senti falta de explicação sobre como usar o datetime para gerar a data atual de acordo com o horário local. Penso que seria interessante acrescentar como um tópico adicional. Foi muito bom conhecer todas as ferramentas como o Codeskulptor e principalmente o debug no pythontutor. Poupou e poupará muito tempo. Nunca tinha sido apresentado a um problema real de matemática sem solução. Ouvia apenas comentários na TV. Há dicas do curso que são muito úteis na vida cotidiana. Isso também é de grande ajuda. Obrigado.

von Rajat P

Aug 17, 2018

I was trying to learn how to code by reading a book on Java but to be honest it felt like I am forcing myself to do something boring and felt like maybe if this is how programming feels, it is not for me but then I stumbled upon this course and just thought of giving this course a try and wow just wow, the way both the instructor's taught the concept and in the manner they gave tips and tricks is so incredible. I would definitely recommend anyone if they ask me how to start learning how to code.

von Karen Y

May 08, 2018

I love to learn from "the masters" that give challenging, yet doable, exercises. A great review of python essentials for programming and a better understanding of coding, testing and applying style guidelines. The OwlTest gave good feedback that enabled me to fix my bugs. Test cases were great. I like learning the details of python and aspire to be a good programmer. I'll always try to improve my programming skills. I love Coursera. Keep the good times rolling!

von Humberto O

Jun 13, 2018

I have taken the first class in the Fundamentals of Computing Specialization for Rice University, and this class is definitely much more suited for sysadmins or people simply trying to develop scripting skills. Either way, even if you will be taking the FoC classes, this class will prepare you for it, but if you only want to learn to script, this class will definitely start you off in the right track. The professors are pros, and guide you, but challenge you.

von Iker E G D T

Apr 30, 2018

I was new at coding. This course was an excellent choice for my first introduction to coding, in the first modules you will learn the most basic frameworks and tools to it. As the course progresses, you will learn more complicated functions in Python. The final project was challenging but ir really put into practice all the lessons learned in previous weeks. If you are thinking of learning the essentials of coding in Python I definitely recommend this course.

von Syed K S

Mar 12, 2018

The course is designed very well: covering the basics of Python 3, providing all the basic scripting knowledge - required for the project at the end - in videos and other course materials. I highly value that at the same time they also encourage use of (and point to) non-course materials to help students get ready to use those as they graduate into the real world. This is only the first course in the 4 course series - looking to finish all of them soon.

von Kwai K H

Dec 12, 2018

super amazing and experienced teachers who know where students usually make errors from and offered valuable advice (such as correct as you go instead of delayed perfection) which I used to work on the datetime project at the end, without which I would get stuck and not know what to do. I really liked the python tutor and it helped me understand the part about function, return and print which I would not have understood. thank you so much!

von Adrian B

Nov 15, 2019

As someone who has past programming experience in different languages, I felt like I needed a good refresher on the basics because I don't code for a living. This course was just challenging enough for my first time attempt at learning Python but not so challenging that I got frustrated. The pace was good and not super intense. I could work full time, have a life outside of work and still finish the work without feeling rushed.

von Gleb S

Sep 08, 2018

My thanks to Scott and Joe for a great introduction to the world of coding. The lectures are entertaining, short and informative. The practice exercises are on point (great for beginners, the difficulty increase is gradual, the applications are common and interesting to program). Many links to useful external sources and relevant readings are given.

I strongly recommend this course to anyone willing to learn how to code!

von Max B

Apr 10, 2019

If you are new to Python and wants a flying start, this course (and specialization) is for you! Comprise lectures, good material and fun exercises. Sure, there are plenty of other providers for introductory courses in Python but here you will get it all in one place. Even as a semi-seasoned programmer in Python, I found this course to answer some questions that have popped up over the years. Highly recommended!

von Hao-Wen S

Dec 28, 2017

This is an excellent introduction to Python for beginners, taught by Joe Warren and Scott Rixner who are expert teachers.

The material overlaps with the older Introduction to Interactive Programming Python I course, also taught by Joe Warren and Scott Rixner, but has been refreshed and updated for Python 3. The final course project is new. A commendable job - I will be recommending this new course from now on.

von Michael J M

Jun 15, 2018

The latest in a series of really good courses from Rice University Computer Science / Prof Warren & Rixner. The two presenters are very competent both as programmers and as tutors.This is the third course from them I've done and I doubt it will be the last.As a (now) professional programmer in Python I can state that they aren't teaching academic 'fluffy' but 'really useful stuff'.

von Dudley I L

Jun 14, 2018

I have been trying to learn programming for 5 months now and I never had a better course than this one. the explanations are great. I didn't had to install any program on my PC to learn the language.The instructors are very good in giving explanations about python language. And they give good tips for self learning which.You will make progress fast with this course, well I did.

von David M

Jul 17, 2019

This course is really well done. My only critique is that at one point, one of the teacher seems to suggest that you will be turning in a programmed game for an actual grade in the course, but this never happened - it was just an exercise, and that left me feeling like I missed something. As for the final project that was turned in for a grade, all of those steps were clear.

von N S M

Mar 26, 2018

The best Python course to learn Python rudiments which are very much essential in order to become a Python programmer. The most interesting feature of the course is the Owl Test and Code Skulptor, which are fun to use.

I highly recommend this course to all, who are in the pursuit of learning to program in Python, in turn being able to make complex programs in Data Analysis.

von Mark J S

Jan 13, 2019

Helpful course for learning the basics. Instructors challenge you to think beyond instilling you with coding knowledge. The instructors complement each other's contributions, and both have good (if nerdy, but what do you expect?!) senses of humor. The assessments are challenging and require you to apply what you have learned. If I could give this six stars, I surely would!

von ADYA S

Mar 03, 2018

Very good course. Thorough and detailed explanation of all concepts. Course takes you smoothly from beginner level to the very end. Amazing how much can be learned in this course. The learning curve is gradual so make sure you follow instructions and complete all the practice assignments in order. Definitely worth the time.

von SANTUNU N C

Aug 19, 2019

This course is very essentials for python beginner. Python coding, syntax, error detection, equation, etc i learn from this course and special thanks to my dear instructor and heartful thanks to the RICE University and Coursera. It will help us in the future career and help to learn Advanced level programming of python.

von Anjela M

Jan 08, 2020

I had tried many other online courses, but never continued and completed them. To my good surprise I was able to follow through this course and complete it. It's a good start for the beginners who get easily demotivated. Here I was able to get required help via templates, hints and forums to complete the assignment.

von Anjali

Nov 30, 2017

I've fallen in love with these courses from Rice University. Joe and Scott are extraordinary mentors. They make all their lessons simple and enjoyable, besides giving some really useful insights into the subject. The teaching style makes me eagerly look forward to going to class everyday!