Chevron Left
Zurück zu Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv von University of Michigan

4.0
Sterne
1,710 Bewertungen
420 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will walk you through a hands-on project suitable for a portfolio. You will be introduced to third-party APIs and will be shown how to manipulate images using the Python imaging library (pillow), how to apply optical character recognition to images to recognize text (tesseract and py-tesseract), and how to identify faces in images using the popular opencv library. By the end of the course you will have worked with three different libraries available for Python 3 to create a real-world data-analysis project. The course is best-suited for learners who have taken the first four courses of the Python 3 Programming Specialization. Learners who already have Python programming skills but want to practice with a hands-on, real-world data-analysis project can also benefit from this course. This is the fifth and final course in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

PM

23. Juni 2020

This last course is much more challenging than the prior four, but provides a very good launch pad for taking what you've learned and getting you actually using the skills in building Python code.

RF

1. Apr. 2021

This course gave great insight in how to approach a new library which I believe is one of the most powerful skills a programmer can have. Keep up the great work that you guys have been doing.

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 422 Bewertungen für Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

von Mohinder S

7. Sep. 2020

Challenging for beginners need to take more time to explain things.

von Bohdan K

19. Aug. 2020

The last assignment is hard, because of Jupiter Notebook

von Luis v

20. Apr. 2021

Didnt like it so much, Sometimes i felt lost

von Robert G

5. Dez. 2019

Please make some automatic submission tool.

von Michael L

25. Apr. 2020

The process for submitting should be fixed

von SAPTARSHI D

17. Juli 2020

Thanks for the Course Umich and Coursera.

von Mark W

25. Juni 2021

Very good course. Challenging and fun.

von Deepanshu N

14. Juni 2020

now courses are becoming challenging

von Marina P

22. Feb. 2020

Huge difference with previous parts

von Amin O

22. Aug. 2019

Interesting Course! Thanks Brook.

von M a

9. Mai 2022

use full improve the skills

von Steven S

24. Dez. 2019

Difficult but effective

von Rajesh K Y

11. März 2020

need more explanation

von Yash Z

3. Sep. 2020

Great experience

von Riya s

16. Juli 2020

fabulous

von Sandesh T

21. Aug. 2020

good

von Techno T a T

18. Juli 2020

nice

von Igor F

23. Juni 2019

I was one of those who completed four previous courses in the Specialization in February 2019 and was forced to wait this last course to finish this Specialization. It took a long time, so I’m already forgot a lot from what I learned to the date when I started this course.

Other courses in the Specialization were guiding you almost step-by-step. This course makes you to do a lot of things by yourself. Of course, there are lecture videos, but they show you some examples, not explain thoroughly every step of your future assignment. For some of learners it presents a huge gap in the learning process. Also, it raises such questions like “For what reason there are lectures if you need to solve a lot for yourself?”. Well, I think that they give you some direction to go in; give some insight how to deal with tasks that you encounter in this course. At the same time, this creates for each learner some kind of creative freedom. Those assignments of others that I saw during my reviews were unique. I also learned a lot from them.

The sad part is I needed to spent more time to figure out how to put everything together, so due to my busy life I spent 5 weeks instead of proposed 3. Also, the video about installation of Jupyter Notebooks on your computer is broken. It clearly shows you that suggested command to activate a programming environment doesn’t work and gives an error. Should also figure out everything by yourself with googling.

Nevertheless, my overall opinion is: if you want to be able to fully express yourself in the code and be able to use everything that you learned and know in Python, go for this course.

von Ian M

24. Sep. 2020

This course was not designed well from a pedagogical standpoint. I learned a ton, which was the main goal, but it was brutal and so tedious that it kind of tainted the Specialization for me. It wasn't because it was difficult -- I appreciated that. It was the fact the instructor literally reads (without inflection or emotion) the lectures to you, as the text scrolls across the screen. It would be better without him reading. I like reading. I hate being read to. (Apologies to my daughter.)

Also, some of the lessons are neat but redundant and don't really build on each other. The two assignments are difficult and challenging, and I LOVED that! The problem was, it took me forever to get through the content, because of the annoying being read to.

If possible, I recommend recreating this. Get rid of the videos. Have brief introduction videos at the start of the modules, and then just let students read through the module Jupyter Notebooks. The reading is horrible!!! It's not necessarily the instructor's fault. I'm not bashing him. It's just bad pedagogy.

Thanks, though, for challenging me. If this had been a cakewalk, I would have given it 1 Star. This course had the most challenging assignments in all of the specialization. That was great.

von Ahmed A

27. Sep. 2020

Now here is the thing, this last course is basically: Here are these third party libraries and their documentations, use them to do this make this program.

On one hand, yes. This is meant to be one last hard test for your Python knowledge. On the Other hand, you do not really learn anything from here. You will find yourself surfing stackoverflow and github.

I mean, I guess this is kind of the point ?...

But It is kind of frustrating and annoying, and after searching the web you end up cutting and pasting most of the code and not writing much, if any, yourself anyways. I can see the point of this course, I really do, But I believe it is in a grave need of redesign.

Please bare in mind that most people end up here mainly for the specialization certificate and kind of expect some sort of reward for their hard work in the previous courses. And there is not enough info here for most people to try and brute-force it on their on, which ends in the inevitable dreaded search -copy - paste Algorithm.

von Kuan-Chih W

28. Mai 2020

This course is challenging, though the specialization is labeled as beginning level. This last course, comparing to the previous four courses in this specialization, is somehow poorly structured and less systematically. The instructor is trying to show students how the real programming world is. But just reading the script from the screen with super fast pace and keeping telling students to read documentation or to look up online on their own is a little irresponsible.

And the submitting / grading mechanism for last project is really poor. I do not know how good I did after receiving the reviewing grades.

However, this course did force me to learn a lot more by exploring the docs and webs.

von RICARDO H R

24. Nov. 2020

The content of the exercises and labs is nice, labs are challenging enough and they force you to start getting into reading documentation and building your understanding on how to approach programming problems but the videos are usuless, 90% of the videos are the instructor reading exactly what is in the Jupyter Notebbok and nothing elses, feels like a waste of time.

Also to note is that the person in charge of the Discussion Forum only replies to tell people what to or not to ask on the forums instead of helping the students, 90% of his answers tell people to stop asking the same question and he uses his time to tell them that instead of just helping them which I find useless.

von Wayne K

23. Juni 2021

I think 3 stars may have been a bit generous. I've now earned 12 certificates in Coursera and this has been my least favourite so far. The instructor was clearly very knowledgable but very little explanation of concepts, or alternative approaches was offered. While final assignment, which covered OCR and Face detection, was very interesting to me personally, it didn't seem to have much to do with the rest of the specialisation and should probably be a standalone course for those interested in digital photography etc.

A big anti-climax to finish off an otherwise excellent specialisation.

von Rich T

19. Nov. 2020

Much harder course than the other four in the specialization because there isn't really teaching. They tell you how to utilize new libraries and encourage (force) you to find documentation to support your own project/assignment. Prepare to spend much more time than the other classes. Trust me, it's normal to feel helpless at the beginning. I don't know that I am better at Python because of this class, but I can see how some individuals would thrive in this environment.

von Pham M Q

1. Juni 2022

The content is not really relevant to the previous 4 courses. Also there is no practice problem like Runestone as they have provided before, and you jump right to the lab assignment which brings a lot of confusion. The tutor is not good as Paul Resnick and Steve Oney, and the assistant staff in the forum just not friendly to support students. Overall still good content and interesting topic on image library, but need a more updated way of delivering knowledge.