Chevron Left
Zurück zu Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv von University of Michigan

4.0
Sterne
1,697 Bewertungen
416 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will walk you through a hands-on project suitable for a portfolio. You will be introduced to third-party APIs and will be shown how to manipulate images using the Python imaging library (pillow), how to apply optical character recognition to images to recognize text (tesseract and py-tesseract), and how to identify faces in images using the popular opencv library. By the end of the course you will have worked with three different libraries available for Python 3 to create a real-world data-analysis project. The course is best-suited for learners who have taken the first four courses of the Python 3 Programming Specialization. Learners who already have Python programming skills but want to practice with a hands-on, real-world data-analysis project can also benefit from this course. This is the fifth and final course in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

PM

23. Juni 2020

This last course is much more challenging than the prior four, but provides a very good launch pad for taking what you've learned and getting you actually using the skills in building Python code.

RF

1. Apr. 2021

This course gave great insight in how to approach a new library which I believe is one of the most powerful skills a programmer can have. Keep up the great work that you guys have been doing.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 418 Bewertungen für Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

von Alexander A

30. Apr. 2020

Abysmal. Total abomination. Zero instruction. Extremely frustrating and major let down if you've been through courses 1-4 of the specialization. If getting the Specialization Certificate is very important to you, there are resources online that you can leverage to complete the project but that is done largely at the expense of any real learning, so I really hope UofM comes up with an alternative final project that is more consistent with the level of expertise attained in courses 1-5 (maybe something on implementing classic algorithms?).

von Alex E

30. Apr. 2020

With all due respect this is the worst course I have taken in any online learning platforms. The "teaching" was abysmal if it could even be described as teaching. It's so disappointing considering the other four courses in the specialization were amazing and enjoyable. The only motivation I had for completing this course was for the certificate, whereas the motivation I had for the other courses was to learn.

von JavierS

10. Feb. 2021

About the course:

The material is great and the topics are very interesting. But it has less to do with the rest of the "Python 3" specialization program. Courses 1-4 have the objective to teach you about Python language, how to solve software problems with Python, and to understand programming concepts like classes & objects.

For someone who is starting with Python and never had learned concepts about image processing, this course could be somewhat overkilling. Image processing is usually more geared towards developers who want to get started with artificial intelligence or data science. There is another Michigan specialization in Coursera to accomplish that.

I also think is somewhat difficult that a novice student could complete and understand the topics in this course in three weeks. This course requires, at least, five weeks and more homework, questionaries & examples.The lectures/videos mention a LOT of things (like Kraken) that are not required for the last project.

I will repeat the first statement: the concepts are great, I loved the contents at some point, but this is not for everyone who is starting with Python.

I think the University of Michigan is able to improve this course a lot. The Python 3 Michigan specialization is great overall. The firsts four courses are awesome, well structured, with an interactive tool as Runestone which helped me a lot to understand the problems to pass the assessments. This last course, the 5th one, has the main defect of lacking exercises. The Jupiter Notebook is not very useful to practice with Python, as Runestone was in the previous ones. I am sure all of this could be improved for this last course and obtain a better specialization program.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that the teaching assistant in the Discussion Forums talks in a very rude way without any proper reason, as other students mentioned. This is a pity since many students have difficulty in accomplishing things that are not well explained in the lectures.

von Mauricio G

27. Juli 2019

Not enough practices, instead of many lectures and a quite difficult assignment at the end. It gives the impression that Coursera sets challenges that are quite difficult so you are forced to pay another moth in order to finish.

Additionally not enough support on the installation of the libraries, so far nobody helped me to install de library Kraken in Ubuntu. In practical terms, you need to be hooked to Coursera server in order to code.

von 晴空

27. Feb. 2021

I don't think it's suitable for beginners. Have to get the project done before understanding the coding logic. Lack of step by step explanation. I just learned which module in Python to use to process images.

von Daniela R L

23. Feb. 2021

I agree with everyone else, this course is not related to the others on this specialization. The instructions and the material are not very clear and I read a lot comments of students asking questions and the instructors were replying in a 'annoyed' way and deleting parts of code of desperate students trying to finish the class...

von Colm D

20. Mai 2020

A poor finish to an excellent specialisation. The first four modules were very helpful, this seemed fine till I got to the first assignment. The "hints" are woeful in terms of usefulness. I do not have time to decdicate to additional research for what feels like an arbitrary add on to a specialisation I would love to have completed. Nothing undermines the condfidence built up in the previous modules than making you feel like you know nothing in the last module.

von Katarina P

22. Mai 2020

If you value your time, don't take this course. The course platform is online Jupyter Notebook which doesn't work most of the time. Also most of the examples are seriously outdated, there are more modern and smarter ways of doing them. The assignments are really frustrating because of the shitty platform and also from lack of good instructions due to the poor educational value of the lectures.

von Garima M

1. Nov. 2020

Not satisfied with this this course at all. It does not seem like any effort was made to make enough material for the students to understand the concepts, I will not recommend this to anyone, more can be learned just be googling about the topics, how does this course benefit the students who sign up for it is the question.

von Nakisha R B W

6. Okt. 2020

The course is horrible. I got all the way to this course and couldn't complete it due to awful videos on installations and the project itsef is dumb. This class should be optional and anyone who completed the first 4 courses should get the specialization certificate.

von Tobias S

2. März 2021

very poor to non existent didactic methods

von Praveen K

21. Juni 2020

I felt the previous four courses lack programming opportunities. Gladly, this course tries to make up for this shortcoming. I think this course is a little bit challenging than the previous courses but not that difficult. If you have really grasped the concepts then the assignments will not be that hard. Please be a learner who loves to explore things. There will be a few Python libraries introduced in this course and those libraries do magic. It was great fun to use them and see their real-life usages. don't just stop exploring those libraries after the completion of the keystone project assignment. Thanks to all the instructors for this brilliant course and my special heartfelt thanks to the indefatigable teaching staff who always replied to queries in the discussion forums.

von Steven C S

5. Juli 2020

I thought it was a great course. It takes what you learn in the first 4 courses and forces you to dig for API information and how to use it. It was quite difficult and frustrating, just like learning how to learn/apply new concepts. It forces you to think as you discover what you don't know. There is no spoon feeding bits of information or code samples that you just tweak to make work. It is like being thrown in the deep end of a pool full of piranhas. When you finish you realize that you really learned something. Highly recommend the class.

von Nadim F

3. Juni 2019

A better way to submit the code for the last project is needed.

von Chris P

7. März 2021

Didn't seem to match the style of the rest of the specialization

von Jon N

15. März 2021

I've taken something like a dozen U of M courses before (I highly recommend parts of this specialization and all of Dr. Chuck's Python for Everyone courses). However, this one was a massive disappointment. It's really just a project. That's fine. But the tools are horrible. The assignment is set up in such a way that most of your time isn't spent coding, it's spent waiting for Jupyter to process images. Even doing the fastest possible operations take 10-15 minutes as you're building your project. Coding is (for those of us that aren't expert( is a lot of testing and re-running. To have to wait so long from one to the next just destroys any flow or creative inspiration. It's impossible to get any momentum and the process is frustrating. On top of that, you might think the forum would be a great resource. The forum for this class is just littered with questions of people with problems and a particular TA who is incredibly rude and even when he's answering questions he's so obtuse that often his answer is lost in the smugness and judgement. I'd rate this course even lower, but there are some good parts... however the lows are REALLY low.

von Liam A

14. März 2020

Not a good course. The lectures are not well organized and don't give sufficient information or a structured understanding of the material (PIL, PyTesseract and OpenCV). The course is also too short for the amount of material it needs to cover. The assignment and capstone project give very poor guidance for the solution, and a lot of trial and error is needed (which is not instructive or educational).

von Pablo T P

26. Juni 2020

Very disappointed with this course. They assume you can spend a lot of time learning image manipulation libraries. Personally I have limited time and no interest in image processing.

After going through the previous courses in the specialization I'm not going to complete it.

I think they should offer other options for the final project.

von Chilakala V

19. Dez. 2019

I understand that the course aims to force the learners to take a more real-world approach. However, this gets quite cumbersome and I saw myself lost at many places without any clue. At least offer a final go-to place when everything seems confusing. This will also ensure that no one will give up halfway.

von James M S

2. Apr. 2020

Unfortunately, the assignment is too hard to work on with the Coursera notebook and the submission of the project is very hard to peer review. Most of us have to copy paste then add the newline (as if we are coding other person's work)

von Bart M

13. Apr. 2020

Great specialization, but the final course project was poorly constructed and tedious.

von Yin L H

23. Juni 2020

The lecture time for this course is too short. You have to learn a lot by yourself.

von Paul B

26. Mai 2020

Awful instruction and project planning leaves a bad taste in my mouth after 4 great courses in this specialization.

von Shikhar S

16. Jan. 2021

If You want to learn OpenCV go with youtube tutorials

von Shane N

25. Juni 2021

This course is actually not too bad, except that it can be quite strenuous to debug the code for the final project when it is slow to run certain third party library functions.

I​t is certainly challenging, given that the first four courses in this specialization might have spoiled you with detailed instruction and easy assessment tasks. But don't forget that this course is flagged as 'intermediate level' instead for 'beginner's level' (frankly, the fourth course, which is also flagged as 'intermediate', is not up to the mark in comparison with other 'intermediate' courses on Coursera -- it should have been flagged as 'beginner'). That being said, if I were the instructor, I might want to smooth the learning curve though. I found a lot of negative comments in the comment section before I actually took the course, so I was a little bit worried. But in general, I did learn a lot from this course and enjoy the process of tackling the challenging final project. Therefore, I reckon it is a useful and inspiring course if you do actually invest time in it. Good luck!