Chevron Left
Zurück zu Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv von University of Michigan

4.0
Sterne
1,699 Bewertungen
416 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will walk you through a hands-on project suitable for a portfolio. You will be introduced to third-party APIs and will be shown how to manipulate images using the Python imaging library (pillow), how to apply optical character recognition to images to recognize text (tesseract and py-tesseract), and how to identify faces in images using the popular opencv library. By the end of the course you will have worked with three different libraries available for Python 3 to create a real-world data-analysis project. The course is best-suited for learners who have taken the first four courses of the Python 3 Programming Specialization. Learners who already have Python programming skills but want to practice with a hands-on, real-world data-analysis project can also benefit from this course. This is the fifth and final course in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

PM

23. Juni 2020

This last course is much more challenging than the prior four, but provides a very good launch pad for taking what you've learned and getting you actually using the skills in building Python code.

RF

1. Apr. 2021

This course gave great insight in how to approach a new library which I believe is one of the most powerful skills a programmer can have. Keep up the great work that you guys have been doing.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 418 Bewertungen für Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

von Deleted A

29. Nov. 2020

This course sucked at first because I didn't know my a**e from my elbow, but it's the same as anything else, you're expected to be ausonomous, inquisitive, and open to research outside of the course. It entailed a lot of digging around the web (considering my program building skill - or lack thereof -) and learning 90% of the info I needed on my own, but it's definitely worhtwhile as this is par for the course in the real world. All-in-all, a good course & definitely the steep learning curve you'll / I need to kickstart the ability required to design, create and implement Python programs. I'd strongly suggest asking Stephen Catto for his LinkedIn handle as well :-D Cheers.

von Michael M A

25. März 2020

Subjective Rating: 4

Mediocre enough for the average person but I was looking for the real stuff, stuff you need to work on for day on end, guess you have to pay good buck to get that stuff (definitely not 50 bucks). How about going to (e-) college?

Objective Rating: 5

Big up to the people who created this though (esp. prof Brooks), there's all kinds of people in this world and not everyone is on the same level starting this course. I think, as an introduction, this is probably one of the best places to learn the basics of Python and most importantly, how you can apply it in real-life (course 4).

von Kyle D

30. Juni 2020

have you ever seen those videos of swimming instructors literally tossing babies into a pool? that's what this course feels like. there's a lot to learn and the first assignment is intimidating, but once you get the hang, it's not that bad. my only complaint is that the programs run very slow on jupyter for the final project. i recommend browsing the discussion board for tips, especially for the first assignment

von Scott S

31. Dez. 2019

This course is designed as a culminating experience. Whether it was intentional or not, the course has a few bugs, which each student must overcome. As a professor, I believe that this course succeeds at giving students the tools to overcome obstacles. Instead of spoon-feeding students answers, Prof. Brooks has succeeded at turning a MOOC into a flipped class where the student must come up with answers. Bravo!

von Arturo A

3. Juli 2020

You will see that this course is the least valued of the specialization, this is simply because it is the most difficult. Maybe some things could be improved so that some tasks would not be so complicated, as in all courses, but the only thing certain is that once you complete this course you will leave with a much greater skill in programming, and ability to solve problems. I highly recommend it.

von Yauheni P

23. Nov. 2020

Great course which requires attention, lots of research and hard work (in my case).

I wish instructor can provide more examples with explanation. I had to find out how to iterate over archive without unpacking it and how to save data in sequence, which I can open and process later.

Overall, I'm happy with practice and knowledge I got. Thanks!

von Aron K

24. Juni 2020

Fun and challenging course. I think the only negative thing is that they really leave a lot up to you research wise and don't cover it in the courses. This is more realistic to what you will face in a professional setting but it is a substantial difficulty jump from course 4 to 5 that may be difficult for new programmers.

von Roger S

13. Mai 2020

After reading so many bad comments I was alerted but I must say that the course teaches you just important abilities - how to get on with Python and it's plethora of libraries in real life. When you watch the videos and the provided notebooks carefully you should not have problems to finish the projects.

von Paul G

13. Juni 2020

I started the final project in the specialisation with some trepidation after reading a few of the reviews. I think most if not all the criticism is unwarranted. The coursework prepares the student very well for the project and it ended up being a lot of fun and very rewarding.

von Alberto S D N

21. Jan. 2020

This is the most challenging course of Python 3 Programming Specialization.

I cannot say it is easy, but I am sure it is well designed to make sure that you are confident enough to learn more by yourself.

I am glad that I had the luck to attend this course.

von Rupert F

2. Apr. 2021

This course gave great insight in how to approach a new library which I believe is one of the most powerful skills a programmer can have. Keep up the great work that you guys have been doing.

von Bart H

22. Mai 2020

Although comments from previous participants put me a bit off, I found this course the most challenging of the Python specialisation. And it was great fun to do as well!

von Jaied A S

6. Juni 2020

The best course to learn about Pillow, tesseract, and OpenCV. I have learned how to apply them to real-life projects by completing the final project.

von Ufuk T

20. Sep. 2019

I recommend the course that improves your skills using Tesseract, Opencv, and Pillow libraries. I liked the assignments and challenges.

von Paúl A A V

1. März 2021

Good course to train your ability to resolve problems.

von yjmaxpayne

1. Aug. 2019

Great exercises, love jupyter notebook!

von Anastasios P

18. Jan. 2020

Firstly, the Coursera submission system for the final project is a disgrace, and that's why I removed one star.

Other than that, the course is amazing. By far the best in the series, and I don't understand the complaining. At this level, the instructor does what he needs to. Go through the needed functions and explain their use and inputs.

The final assignment is also great and gives very good knowledge, and more or less all that is needed is already in the lectures. You just need to copy/paste, out them in order and go through the documentation a bit to correct mistakes and understand what's missing.

I think the issue is the first 2.5 courses that are ridiculously easy and offered more or less everything already solved, without challenging students to start learning and thinking properly. You cannot expect people to learn by answering all practice questions in the previous video and the graded assignments can be passed by c/p the same code and changing a single variable...

Great course, at the correct level. Really glad the specialisation ended with it.

von Trish P

14. Mai 2019

The gist of the course is excellent, but challenging - the instructor doesn't hold your hand through every step this time. You're pointed at some relevant Python library modules and given an overview of the basics for them with examples, but you'll have to spend a lot of time reading documentation and figuring out what to do with them. That's okay, because as Professor Brooks points out throughout the course, the idea is for you to get a taste of how you'd need to work going forward.

This is a new course, so there are still a few rough spots, but it's being actively corrected as problems surface, and I am confident in saying that if you follow the course and do all the work, you'll have developed some hands-on experience!

von Markus Z

3. Juli 2020

To be honest the test of week1 was really frustrating. This course is totally different then the 4 previous courses. Course 1-4 with Steve and Paul was more like riding a bike with training wheels.

Then on course 5 Christopher came along and kicked them away :-) Felt quite frustrating. But at the end this is more like in real live, where you have to find the solutions on your own.

The lectures are ok. The video when you just watch someone reading the text didn't help much.

von Anushreya G

26. Juli 2020

Even though i had some difficulties getting through the assignments, as they were not very clear with the objectives, i still learned a great deal and i can say i became better at python. Learning new libraries was a great experience and getting to know the extent of python was an experience in itself.

von moinul h

30. Juni 2020

i would have rated it 5 star if not for very poor submission system.

this course is very challenging and if you are not up for challenges think twice before enrolling.

von Vaani B

30. Mai 2020

The pier grading system is quite slow and working on the notebook with opencv was a bit hard because the kernel kept crashing.

von Michael S

18. Juli 2020

I think the course projects are really good. The projects require you to learn new modules with minimal help, which is excellent for those who want to become a real programmer. The ability to learn individually is invaluable to any programmer, and this course did provide good training on self-learning.

The problems with this course are also obvious. For example, there are quite a few errors in the jupyter notebook setup video for MacOS. Those errors might not be a big problem, but for people who did not have previous experience in setting up a virtual environment, the typos in captions could cause problems. That particular video did tell us what we need to do, but it just missed some details, and that made things a bit confusing.

The next problem is with Coursera's peer review system. In the final project, we are instructed to paste our code to the Coursera textbox. However, the textbox is not code-friendly at all (it messes up all the indentation and spaces), and Coursera won't let us copy the codes other people submitted. These problems made it very hard to review other people's work. I am disappointed about it because I think the peer review session is, in fact, a good chance for us to learn from other students. The Coursera system is not making it easy for us to read and copy codes from others, and the instructor did not give us a proper workaround instruction in the submitting page. All these problems could actually be avoided if the instructor suggested a better submit option.

Last but not least, I hope the instructor could make the videos more engaging than it is right now. Honestly, he did not add much value with those videos. He was reading the text on the jupyter notebook most of the time...I don't need someone to read the text out loud, I can read the notebook all by myself.

All in all, I believe the people who designed this course need to put more focus on the details. It is a shame that a capstone course is unnecessarily made more difficult than it should be.

von Big M

30. Aug. 2020

I really liked the content and its presentation. The knowledge conveyed in this course is useful, the teaching staff does a good job, and the final project is legitimately interesting. If you aim only for knowledge and don't care about the certification, go aheas, you will not regret it.

The reason this is not 5 stars is the very, very end - the submission procedure for the final project. It involves pasting Python source code into a Coursera text field. This kills the Python formatting, and thus the code becomes unrunnable. Workarounds have been suggested, but did not work for me (and at least a few others).

It is completely beyond me why this method of submission was chosen. The course creators themselves use a way better method earlier in the course (html export of Jupyter notebook).

Why is this worth a 2 star deduction? Because it means that people may pay for this and aim for a certification, and could fail at the very end for reasons they have zero control over.

von Felipe B

26. Feb. 2021

There is a big gap within previous courses from this specialization and this one, even though the videos are clear, the pace is really fast. Practically they just show some libraries with a few examples and then they just leave you alone with the final project. Thanks to Google I was able to finish the project, I learn a lot doing it. One thing that is horrible is the Jupyter notebook on Coursera, very s....l....o....w, and they don't facilitate to download the project on a easy way, again using google you can get to something like this: https://www.reddit.com/r/learnmachinelearning/comments/7er5ps/coursera_downloading_all_the_assignments_jupyter/ on my case I had to split the file on 90 MB and then download all the parts On my machine was really fast to complete the project, I spent more time train to complete the project directly on Coursera and then searching solution to the speed issue than actually writing the final project