Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) von University of Michigan

4.8
Sterne
172,879 Bewertungen
41,335 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality instructor
(1484 Bewertungen)
Introductory course
(4203 Bewertungen)

Top-Bewertungen

RT
25. Mai 2020

well i am thankful for such platform for providing and me to develop my programming skill, and also for respected sir Charles Russell Severance , the way he teaches i understand from basics of python.

AK
28. März 2018

Very good introduction to basic programming. Very easy for beginners in python who have already some programming background - but still extremely useful to quickly and efficiently learn python basics.

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 10,000 Bewertungen für Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

von Swarupa I

17. Juli 2020

I had done a project using python language before this class , but had not learnt it very well. Through the 'Python for Everybody 'course on Coursers by Professor Chuck ,i have learnt basics of python and really enjoyed coding. Being a Mechanical engineer i was difficult to start coding but the course helped me build interest and work upon the assignments with lots of motivation and willingness .I am very much interested to continue learning through the next course on 'Python data structures'I want to thank Professor Chuck , Coursera team and University of Michigan for making such a wonderful course available.Best Regards

von Vivian L

3. Apr. 2020

I felt the way Dr. Chuck structured his teaching videos allowed me to keep focus and not get bored. Dr. Chuck explained the concepts very well! I'm really glad I took this course! I felt doing the assignments really cemented the concepts. The video interviews with the experts were really interesting to watch and how Python grew over the years. The quizzes were not hard. I had taken a C++ course 20 years ago and was not so great at it, now I feel I more confident in programming. It's all very interesting as I can use what I learned in my work place. I've told my coworkers to take this course, definitely worth it.

von jiarong s

10. Nov. 2017

Love the way Professor is teaching. I am a beginner in programming, so basically I know nothing in this field. But the way professor explains things and the way he introduces programming and python just makes me even more interested in programming. Now, after finishing week 1 material, I am so excited to continue learning this stuff. I was very nervous and stressed about learning programming, but professor just makes me much more relaxed and confident to learn. Thank you so much! I am so grateful that I find this course! This is the perfect start for me. I appreciate all the efforts and time you have put in this class.

von Badal K S

2. Mai 2020

This course provides you the knowledge of Python from the very basics which is a great thing as I didn't have any coding background. It was amazing to have a great teacher as Charles Severance who made the pieces of stuff easier to understand and quite enjoyable especially while he was describing his hat. Really it was my pleasure to have this course, now I am able to relate to programming in Python and get to the basics of the different terminologies in Python. Overall, I enjoy and learnt different stuff around in this course and had a great time on this course Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python).

von varunendra m

8. Sep. 2017

It was a very nice course, Dr chuck Engages you in class very well.I am not from CS background I was an Aircraft mechanic but still i will say : This course teaches you not only very basics of Python But you will know many other programming stuffs as well, Say it as good practices of programming .I completed this course from Coursera And l was planing go to the site py4e.com to get a advanced knowledge of python.But I found other related courses as well so I will stick back to CourseraOnce again Thanks Dr. Chuck,Its hard for me to pay now for the whole Specialization Yee I will love to get a free certificate ;-)

von Suryatapa S

27. Sep. 2020

It was an awesome course. It covered all concepts in python from basics. They provided assignments, quiz,and many more . I had some prior knowledge in Python but this course helped in a quite good revision of the topics before the placement and helped a lot. It provided all information about if ,if else, loops,def ,try except. There were some topics which i could easily gasp well as the teacher explained with some real life scenario and examples of real life people ,completely different from the books. Some bonus videos were also provided, they were fun to watch and refreshed for some time being...Thanks a lot.

von Adam B

22. Juni 2018

Great introductory course. Walks you through installing the software and using it, or you can use their browser based Python Playground if you don't want to deal with that.It's very basic. You won't be able to do much after this course, but you will have a good foundation and want to learn more.Time requirement is reasonable. I completed it in about 20 hours across two weeks, and that included getting Python set up on a PC and a Mac and learning how to Git and Github so I could keep my files updated across both of them.Definitely do use the recommended atom.io text editor. It's great, especially if you use Git.

von Ivan S

26. Apr. 2018

It's really wonderful course! This course gives a good start in Python. I really recomend you to take it. I enjoyed it, it wasn't boring. Dr. Chuck did a great job and I really thankful for this. I recommend it to people who don't know how to start with programming. The way it was explained it's really easy to understanding. Even if your English not really good (like mine), you can try it. Once you completed this course, you will have an eager to complete a specialization. Anyway you shouldn't stop only on fundamentals of programming but keep going to make something more complex and interesting. Thanks a lot!

von Aida M B

28. Juli 2020

Un curso excelente, fácil de seguir gracias a las explicaciones tan didácticas y cómodas (código de colores, orden...). Te hace ver desde un primer momento que la programación se basa en el razonamiento lógico, por lo que ha roto con el estereotipo que yo tenía de "ordenadores = aburrido" y el curso me ha interesado cada semana más. Lo recomiendo a todo el mundo!! Me parece que las explicaciones llevan el ritmo ideal para captar la atención de alumnos novatos en el ámbito. Personalmente me ha motivado mucho el contenido y la manera de evaluar, y voy a continuar los siguientes cursos de Python for Everybody.

von Rochelle M S

14. Juni 2020

Very nice lecture and helpful exercises. If you're new to Python, this is the best course to start with. The basics were properly discussed and Dr. Charles Severance was able to discussed the topic clearly and with enthusiasm. Even if you don’t have much background on programming, you can easily catch up with these lectures. The topics were also divided into several parts, so you can easily pause for a while and then continue whenever you want. But all in all, this is one of the best lectures I had. I'm glad I have taken this course. Will continue to enroll in the next class which is about data structures.

von Ashok R d

5. Aug. 2020

largest=None

i=0

smallest=None

while True:

num=input ("enter a num:")

if num=="done": break

else:

try:

if(i==0):

smallest=int(num)

i=i+1

if(largest<=int(num)):

largest=int(num)

if(smallest>=int(num)):

smallest=int(num)

except:

print ("Invalid input")

print ("Maximum is", largest)

print ("Minimum is", smallest)

von Sharon Z

18. Juli 2018

I like the way Dr. Severance teaches programming. His teaching is straight forward and very mistake free when you apply what he teaches as he's already talked about the possible mistakes the learners may make. I was a software engineer 15 years ago, and now I would like to learn some new skills and this is the first official time I am back to the programming world. I am very grateful that the first course I started was Dr. Severance's class. Thanks to Coursera as well for putting such quality courses online. I plan to finish the 5-course python specialization and this first course boosts my confidence!

von Regina C

17. Jan. 2019

If you are a complete noob, this is the place to start. The course is very informative about the basics of Python that is put in a highly simplified manner. The instructor is entertaining and pleasant to listen to.

I wish there were more graded projects than what is required. The projects are brain teasers, can be tough until you have the "aha moment". Don't expect to ever be given the answer. You must figure it out on your own.

I do not like Coursera's video player, it does not have good controls. There is some clunkiness to the GUI, but overall a good experience. Will continue throughout the courses.

von Eoghan D

3. Juli 2018

Having had little to no experience in coding (only a brief two week module using python in my second year of university) and online courses in general, I am so happy that I decided to sign up for this course. Charles Severance is a fantastic lecturer who does an excellent job of helping students to actually understand and apply the thought processes behind coding rather than simply memorising what others have done. The course is perfect for beginners with a slow pace that gives people time to digest what they have learned. I am now looking forward to taking part in more courses in this specialisation.

von Jose R

22. Dez. 2017

I took this course to learn the basics of python for my own personal use, and to develop these skills into data and file manipulation for future career use. I had a little HTML (like, very very little) experience and Visual Basic (.net) experience before taking this course. Having prior coding experience before, this course was very easy for my to get through. However, I am confident that even a non-techsavvy, no prior experience student would have no trouble getting through this course do to how well it was structured. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking into getting started with python.

von Afiqah A

4. Juli 2020

A lovely introduction for someone who has little to no knowledge of programming. I would attribute this to Dr Chuck's ability of teaching, e.g. language usage. Additionally, the way the lecture videos were broken down, had made things easy to understand, as it gave room for students to digest each segment. Before enrolling myself, I had gone through low rated reviews; the pattern I saw was that many had complained the course was too “easy”. Those who already had pre-existing Python knowledge left these reviews. If you are like me and had never attempted Python before, this is a good place to start.

von Amelia S

6. Juli 2020

The lectures are very well structured and the flow of each lectures flows great

reference support and reading material is very satisfying

Presentation support such as drawings, slides is very interesting

the way the lecturer teaches is very passionate and very interesting

the speed of the lecturer is suitable to my ability to listen and comprehend

the voice and pronunciation are clear and easy to understand

the material taught is very useful, interesting and up to date

this lecture will be very useful for my career in the future

this lecture will be very useful for real life in the future

von Meenakshi P

8. Jan. 2018

Excellent course, well taught. I don't have a computing background.

Weeks 1-4 felt easy, Week 5 I had to focus, and weeks 6&7 I was pausing a lot and trying to digest the material.

Next time this course is run it may be helpful to spread this material across 8 weeks, so that material in weeks 6 and 7 can be done over 3 weeks. instead of 2 weeks.

I would also like to see more exercises (even if not graded) in weeks 5 to 7. E.g. to try out the various new lessons/functions. Although, on relflection, there was nothing stopping a student trying this out in Atom or in the PY4E playground!

Many thanks.

von Muhammadiev S O

8. Okt. 2020

I haven't had a lot of other online courses, but this one seems to be a very good introduction to learning a new programming language. It's mostly for beginners who are new to programming in general. That's why I had to speed up the playback, because I've been doing development in other languages for quite a long time by now. And that's convenient, the fact that you can turn on captions for the video you're watching or see subtitles below is very nice. Also, excercises are probably the most important part. I liked the way they were organised.

Thank you Dr Chuck and many thanks to the Coursera Team

von Lemboye A

1. Juni 2019

Upon taking this course, I had zero knowledge of Python, Programming. I always wanted to learn but it always seemed complex.

Up stepped, Python for Everybody by the charismatic Dr Chuck Severance. It was different. The course is both easy to understand and very detailed. It is also quite compelling, meaning for someone like me with a relatively weak self-discipline, I did not have to conjure up this "amazing" will power to complete this course, it automatically drew me in like a magnet.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to any one looking to begin his journey in Python and Programming.

von Arslan A

1. Feb. 2019

Although the course 1 is just a beginner's start to the python programming language, but the way it is created will definitely inspire many students to start python programming language seriously and professionally. The worldwide office hours, meetings with other tech person and new technologies introduction etc all are created in a way that nobody can feel alone while taking this course and Its just the start, the other 4 courses in python specialization are must to enroll for professional start. Thank you Coursera, University of Michigan, HEC and Sir Charles Severance for such a amazing course.

von Akanksha K

1. Juni 2020

I am an in undergrad course so my review will be valid for all those beginners in programming out there. So first of all for a beginner this course sounds just parfait.For me it taught me how to think like a programmer. In this you have the assignments, regular quizzes for each chapter in the course which is like a revision or kinda tests of what you learnt you actually get introduced to the basics of Python.

This course also gives you bonus by introducing to the people who gave birth to Python, Piazza and some of the important people in the community of Programming

All in all

Thanks Dr.Chucks

von Khanh P T

26. Feb. 2016

Having struggled with Python for more than a year and tried different learning materials, I am so happy with the newbie-friendly teaching approach presented in this course. The first few lectures are very helpful as they demystify the conceptual challenges surrounding Python, programming and computers in general--effectively breaking down the psychological barrier common in many students new to programming. I like the textbook and the bonus videos very much, as they offer contextual information about Python and how people are using programming in the real world. I am a big fan of the professor!

von Jeffrey A

24. Jan. 2017

This was my first course to do with any type of computer programming I took. I had been interested in the past to learn python, learned some basic stuff but nothing like this. I know how a base understanding of what Python can do. The professor, Dr. Chuck was humorous which made the class fun, his lectures were on point and didn't give you too much information. The only negative, is I found myself getting stuck at assignments and having to look for help elsewhere to complete my programs. I hope with the more I continue to learn, I will be able to finish the assignments with my own knowledge.

von Berkeley B

6. Jan. 2016

I really enjoyed my time with this online experience. Though I managed to get thru most of the course without having to post a question, I did realize in the end how easy and responsive the course TA's are in follow up. And there is also the community of other students whom I was able to learn from in seeing their questions and answer sessions. You have no idea how important it was for me to be able to review the material in snippets in my day and then review it again and again so that I could comprehend the nuances of the lessons. Amazing, I wish I had this when I was in my undergrad days.