Chevron Left
Zurück zu Qualitative Research Methods

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Qualitative Research Methods von Universität von Amsterdam

4.5
634 Bewertungen
200 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will be introduced to the basic ideas behind the qualitative research in social science. You will learn about data collection, description, analysis and interpretation in qualitative research. Qualitative research often involves an iterative process. We will focus on the ingredients required for this process: data collection and analysis. You won't learn how to use qualitative methods by just watching video's, so we put much stress on collecting data through observation and interviewing and on analysing and interpreting the collected data in other assignments. Obviously, the most important concepts in qualitative research will be discussed, just as we will discuss quality criteria, good practices, ethics, writing some methods of analysis, and mixing methods. We hope to take away some prejudice, and enthuse many students for qualitative research....

Top-Bewertungen

KF

Dec 21, 2018

I found this a very useful way of getting a basic introduction to qualitative research methods, without just sitting down with some text books. The content was engaging and at the right level for me.

AW

Aug 31, 2019

Really enjoyed this course. The lectures were engaging, the assignments applicable. I really enjoyed being able to review other classmates' assignments from around the world. Very cool concept.

Filtern nach:

176 - 196 von 196 Bewertungen für Qualitative Research Methods

von Carol C

May 17, 2017

The readings were helpful but I would have liked to see more accessible articles. It's not possible to complete all the references during the 8 week course. BUT I will use them to further assist me with diving into my interview data. Thanks for the direction.

von Fabian G

Dec 05, 2015

Very convoluted; examples not so clear; still interesting and well produced.

von PHUONG T

Oct 13, 2016

I found this course very useful and would recommend it to friends if they are interested

von Bartosz K

Dec 10, 2015

Good, but it lacks proper materials to come back to - slides are very heavy and not clear and transcript is missing connections to slides.

von Matthew B

Jul 11, 2019

The subject matter was interesting and useful to me. The reason I didn't rate the course higher is that I found a lot of the lectures hard to follow because the lecturer often wandered off on tangents or ended thoughts with non sequiturs. This made it hard to understand precisely what he wanted to say, which was a shame when we're dealing with nuanced concepts. My notes are full of question marks because, at times, I truly wasn't sure what information he was trying to tell us. I also found some of the assignments similarly confusing in their instructions and structure. I think this could be helped by working with someone outside the field to polish up the murkier parts of the lectures and assignments.

von Naohi I

Jul 10, 2017

The course materials and assignments were excellent, but it would be better if the faculty give me some kind of personal comments on our works.

von Jessica N

Feb 27, 2017

I found the video lectures less helpful with this course (than the quantitative course) and resorted to reading the transcripts in order to learn the important information. I did enjoy the assignments ( observation and interview processes) and found the application helped better understand the theory.

von Karina Z

May 22, 2016

I had done ALL the tasks in February-March - I don't remember exactly when, but I received my certificate in May. The course was interesting, but I needed the certificate for my application to university. Now I'm so dissapointed.

von Abigail B

Feb 14, 2016

Video's were great but some of the assignments were unpractical and the tests were based on minuscule details.

von Mark C

Mar 13, 2016

Dr Moerman is passionate about qualitative research and does use some interesting examples to illustrate his ideas, some of which are drawn from his own research experiences. Do note that if you were to take this course, you need time because the assignments are time consuming and the videos are (I think) a little longer than they really need to be. Also, some of the assignments are designed in a pretty strange way (e.g. one week's assignment requires a shocking 10 peer reviews to pass but when I took the course, there were only a few submissions). This probably means I can't get my cert until the next session starts - if I'm lucky!

von N_ens

Aug 10, 2017

While the lecturer obviously has enthusiasm for the subject he is hard to follow during the lectures. It is not always clear where the concepts fit and the slides don't help as their graphic format is hard to read and annoying. There is a lot of screaming and excitement during the lectures and a lack of summarising and condensing. While this might work in a classroom it makes it difficult in an online environment. Additionally I do not think it is clear what the intended level for this course is. It seems to imply that it is introductory but then glosses over things without explaining the foundations implying a higher level, however then is quite simplistic for that level. All in all I think the course could be improved by focusing more on the core messages and reducing the noise.

von Lucy B

Jan 02, 2017

A very enthusiastic teacher, but the information was difficult to follow and some of the assessments took over 4 hours to complete. This made it hard to get the work done.

von Jeanson-Jian W G L

Jan 08, 2018

Content of the lesson marred by extremely poor presentation. This is particularly egregious in regards to the assignments, and Quizzes, as a lack of fluency from the content writers makes the experience of knowing what precisely is being asked an unnecessarily frustrating process.

von Mateja K

Mar 13, 2016

The instructor's presentations are so irritating due to him acting in a jumpy, nervous, and hyper-excited manner that I could not stand watching the lectures. If you don't mind that, it's probably not a bad course.

von Raju G

Nov 14, 2016

Very vague, abstract ideas in the lectures. Would be much better if more real-life examples and scenarios were used in the lectures to convey those abstract ideas.

von Rachael W

Apr 13, 2017

This course is not free. You must pay to access assignments and quizzes.

I am really annoyed with the direction Coursera is moving in regard to premium content. If they keep up this trend, I'll move to Class Central or other MOOCs.

von David C

Dec 11, 2016

Too theoretical and completely disliked it. Even too basic for an introductory course. I paid it and got unitl week 4 and just couldn't find the motivation to continue.

von Leung H

Jun 19, 2016

content is not good, too scattered content, cannot find focus.

assignments are meaningless.

von Anthony J M

Jun 28, 2016

Scattered lectures that are hard to follow and choppy

von Susie P

Oct 02, 2016

Not recommended.

von Arun P A

Dec 05, 2015

Too abstract and unroganized