Chevron Left
Zurück zu Building Data Visualization Tools

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Building Data Visualization Tools von Johns Hopkins University

3.9
Sterne
151 Bewertungen
40 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The data science revolution has produced reams of new data from a wide variety of new sources. These new datasets are being used to answer new questions in way never before conceived. Visualization remains one of the most powerful ways draw conclusions from data, but the influx of new data types requires the development of new visualization techniques and building blocks. This course provides you with the skills for creating those new visualization building blocks. We focus on the ggplot2 framework and describe how to use and extend the system to suit the specific needs of your organization or team. Upon completing this course, learners will be able to build the tools needed to visualize a wide variety of data types and will have the fundamentals needed to address new data types as they come about....

Top-Bewertungen

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 39 Bewertungen für Building Data Visualization Tools

von Shawn M

28. Feb. 2019

I have been progressing through all the courses in this specialization and, overall, the courses have been of tremendous value to me. However, it's really not the courses themselves but the book that goes along with the courses that deserves the four and five star ratings I have previously given (these courses are really nothing more than "read the book" and "take the assignments"). Nevertheless, the knowledge gained is not easily available elsewhere. 80% of this visualization course (i.e. the book) was excellent and I give it top marks. The other 20%, starting with the grid system section to the end of the book, was terrible. These sections need a complete rewrite as they are barely comprehensible and certainly not comprehensive. The final assignment does not test you on how much you learned in the course, rather it tests you on how much time you spend on your own finding other relevant sources of information on the internet to figure it out. Also, I don't understand why creating a custom geom would be a more important software development skill than R Shiny for example, given that having the ability to develop interactive apps is critical to visualization. I will give this course 3 1/2 stars, rounded down to 3 since coursera won't allow a half star. I hope the authors take what I have to say as an opportunity for improvement since I have benefited tremendously from this specialization so far and I would like to see it improved in certain areas.

von Rebecca G

23. Juli 2017

This course was not good at all. Almost all of the information is a screen scrape from a book and peer-evaluated, so you may be better off just getting the book and going through it. Neither the mentors nor the authors ever participated. The assignments are poorly written and missing too much detail. Ending up bailing on the course and the final capstone as I'm simply not learning anything and the projects are too frustrating to work on.

von João G C

1. Juni 2020

The course is just a dump of the recommended reading book. There are zero videos, zero walkthroughs and zero interaction with the instructors. The final project is over-demanding for the level of the content provided. I don't recommend this course to anyone.

von Maurizio C

12. Okt. 2017

Great gap between teaching and what is required to pass the course. Unnecessarily difficult.

The didactic material is not compelling.

Not recommended.

von Conner M

21. Sep. 2017

I could plot in R before and many of the topics discussed in this course I already had a working grasp on. Still, the course helped me really gave me a whole new depth of knowledge on the packages that plotting is build around in R. Highly recommended!

von Susan M

19. Juni 2021

Great course - learned a lot. Excellent instruction

One downside.. Peer review can be a blocking issue to moving forward. If no one is around to peer review, you wait, and pay while you wait.

von José E L

18. Juni 2017

Good material. Thanks a lot for this course.

von Andreas P

28. Sep. 2019

Thank you very much for that lesson.

von Kunasekaran N

19. Mai 2017

Last assignment is hard but enjoyed.

von José A G R

5. März 2017

the last task is very challenging

von Gopal S

28. Mai 2017

Excellent course.

von Yaakov M

2. Mai 2017

good challenges

von Oswaldo N C

26. Juli 2017

A nice course

von JEEWESH K J

1. Nov. 2017

Great course

von Ganapathi N K

6. Juni 2018

Nice

von Prakhar P

5. Aug. 2019

This course introduced to me the advanced capabilities of data visualization in R, especially using GGPLOT. It was bit of a struggle in the course project as the examples in the Mastering Software development e-book were little simplistic in nature. Overall, very satisfied that I can create my own geom. The key learning was on creating visualization using spatial data.

von Daniel F

20. Apr. 2020

Like other courses in this mastering, it is a little bit outdated and the practical tests proposed are way harder than examples presented before, but still worth doing because of book, "getting hands dirty" and forum.

von Antonio G

17. Nov. 2018

Great course! You'll learn a lot about the graphic capabilities of R. However, I think there are some things that need to be explained before one goes on to complete the final project.

von Mridul M

23. Juni 2020

It is a good course. The only downside is that if you are a beginner level R programmer and want to upskill, you will need to do an extensive search to complete this course.

von Sandjaja B

1. Mai 2018

It is a very good course, but feels a bit more hands-off than the other 3 preceding courses in the Mastering Software Development in R certificate.

von Francesco D Z

1. Aug. 2017

very useful, especially the final practical exam.

not 5 score because I think more time should have been spent in more modern interactive charts

von Ruoding W

18. Sep. 2017

the course content is just copy from the book

von Kevin A

10. Juli 2017

nice course

von Sam H

27. Aug. 2021

I​ will put it like this, you will learn the ggplot2 package to a decent extent if you go all out reading the materials and learning the in betweens for the inner workings of the package (without cheating). You will learn a thing or two about the ggproto classes used to build all of the little geometries used to make those cool plots you've read about and how to use the stats, geometries, and grid layers to make your own graphics. This part of the R ecosystem (ggplot2 and grid) has a lot of missing parts that should be documented. For example, you'd think you could add ggproto classes together since that's how the ggplot2 syntax works, right? Wrong. Dead wrong. And this is just one of many little edge cases you learn through trial and error. You will lose your head trying to understand how ggplot2::layer and ggplot2::ggproto behave in the edge cases, but you'll learn a lot in the process.

I learned ggplot2 more than I think I ever wanted to. The book does a decent introduction to the graphics ecosystem for ggplot2, but it's not enough. Use browseVignettes("ggplot2") to assist you because the book is simply not enough to finish the last assignment. You'll get proficient at this graphics language, but this has less use than the other courses in this specialization. And grading is peer based, just to warn you, post your shareable link in the forums if you want a timely response for your certificate.

von Zdenek K

9. Jan. 2017

So first of all, the material for this course in the bookdown document are very good - well structured, with good sources. My concern is that the Coursera course does not go a lot beyond, basically just referring to the document and adding quizzes + graded assignment in the last week. The assignment, however, is nice and challenging and requires people to understand the materials.

Also, the course covers other great packages than ggplot2, e.g. plotly and leaflet and methods for handling spatial data. I think it would be very nice if the students were challenged in these topics as well and evaluate them in a better way than just a quiz (programming assignment for instance).

I liked the course though and I believe it can be prepared even better.